We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms and good service for highway hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7400 I-35 North, Austin, TX 78752 (St. Johns)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #93 of 190 Hotels in Austin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean rooms and good service for highway hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The beds were really comfortable and the room clean. The pool was very clean as well as the spa and the polo area was tidy. The surrounding area is right along the highway, and a bit dodgy. The staff was friendly and helpful. WIFI was good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    38
    31
    20
    13
See reviews for
35
24
8
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We were disappointed by our stay at this hotel not up to Country Inns & Suites standards.

Room Tip: Not County Inns & Suites Standards
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_astn, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
I would like to apologize for the concerns you had during your stay. I would like to address yoru comment, "Not up to Country Inn & Suites Standards." Over the course of the past year, we have made numerous upgrades to our property and were able to do so thanks to guest reviews like yours. We have made the following upgrades to our hotel over the past year:

Brand new <b>42" LG LCD flat panel TVs in ALL guest rooms.<b/>
Brand new <b>LifeFitness commercial grade exercise equipment<b/> in our work out facility.
Brand new <b>Serta Elite 2000 plush Mattresses<b/> in ALL guest rooms.
Re-Plaster our exterior pool and hot tub surfaces.

We work hard to try and make all guest experiences enjoyable. Thanks again for your review of our hotel. We truly hope to see you again in your travels!!!

Cory Armer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Carlson's Country Inn and Suites has wonderful rooms and a great night clerk. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was hot and plenty of it. Parking area has lot of spaces but if a few large vehicles are there, it is very tight to maneuver around. They should have a place for larger vehicles.

The problem for business is their internet. They offer it free from Time Warner but it is so slow it's almost useless. To do any real work, I had to go to a coffee house.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_astn, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thanks for your great review of our hotel. I am happy that we were able to create an environment that allowed you to enjoy your stay. I would like to address your internet concerns. Thanks to reviews from guests like you, we have been able to address particular problems such as the internet. Since your review, I can say that we have had our internet provider, Time Warner, here numerous times to make sure our systems is sufficient for the business travelers as well as those here for leisure.

Again, Thank you for your review.. We hope to see you again in your travels!!

Cory Armer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, ZA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Personnel friendly and proffessional. Rooms clean and comfortable. Breakfast served our needs, enjoyable and sufficient. WiFi worked well. Location was convenient for our needs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Showed up at 1am without a reservation got a great room and when I asked for an additional day I got a discount on the weekend rate. Great breakfast. Close to north Travis and Williamson counties' sites.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Mb, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

We need a place for the three of us. We wanted easy access to the city and it had to be reputable. The staff was amazing from the first phone call until the checkout. The Manager obviously set the tone here because he was so friendly and Proffessional.

Super clean and room are awesome. The area behind is a bit ruff but was not an issue.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

Staff was friendly. Room was clean. Bed was comfortable. Location was convenient. Parking was ample and well lit. Breakfast was basic .. But a good variety and plentiful. WiFi worked well. We drove through the neighborhood behind the hotel. It is a typical lower working class neighborhood. We would stay there again .. And most likely will.

Warning -- Austin is a very transient college town. Don't leave valuables in a car overnight at ANY Austin hotel unless those items are locked up in the trunk. Things will disappear.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austin
Hyde Park
Ramada Austin Central
Ramada Austin Central
#106 of 190 in Austin
3.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
Clarion Inn Austin North
#114 of 190 in Austin
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. Johns
Hampton Inn Austin North at I-35 and Hwy 183
Sleep Inn & Suites
#28 of 190 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
St. Johns
Comfort Inn Austin
Comfort Inn Austin
#132 of 190 in Austin
3.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University

Address: 7400 I-35 North, Austin, TX 78752
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > St. Johns
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Austin-North Hotel Austin
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Austin-North
Country Inn Austin North
Austin Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Austin-University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.