We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay on my own” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heywood Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Heywood Hotel to your Saves list
Heywood Hotel
1609 E. Cesar Chavez St., Austin, TX 78702 (East Austin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 40 Austin B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bay Area, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay on my own”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

On my first visit to Austin, I found the Heywood via Trip Advisor. The glowing reviews are accurate. It's a small place on the east side of town. It's actually just about a mile to downtown, located in a residential neighborhood.

I stayed upstairs in room 3. The room was a good size and very quiet, not facing the street. Out the front of the room is a nice upper-level courtyard. Photos on their site are accurate.

The modern design of the place gave it a very clean, sleek look and made it clear that it wasn't very old. Bathroom had an open shower (and no tub). Bed and linens were comfortable.

Service was friendly and helpful and arrival and departure were simple. I stayed alone there for three nights and felt very comfortable. If headed back to Austin, I would gladly stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 3 is upstairs, quiet, away from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    8
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
62
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Heywood Hotel. My husband and I were new-comers to Austin and Kathy & her staff had great dinner/bar suggestions for us. We stayed in Room #2, the Queen Deluxe, and it was much bigger than the pictures online suggest. Very comfortable bed, big bathroom, and I loved the instant hot water faucet for tea. We were within walking distance to many good restaurants and bars, but it was still quiet at night and easy to park on-site. We couldn't have had a better experience at the Heywood!

Room Tip: Despite being right off the main lobby, Room #2 was super quiet and very comfortable. There's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

After a long drive, the Heywood was like Shangri-La. The room was large and comfortable and the details were amazing. The thought and design that went into the entire space is impressive. The location is great and we were able to borrow and ride bikes to the river one evening which was a treat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here in September and I think it's the best hotel I've ever stayed at. Not the fanciest, or most luxurious, but a place where they've put so much thought into every detail. It's small (a converted house with a cool modern addition), quiet, and friendly. Decor is modern but comfortable, with a great eye to local art and unique detail. Unbelievably comfortable bed, and great shower and bathroom amenities. They provide an excellent cup of coffee in the morning, which can be enjoyed on the central courtyard patio. The owner and her staff were unfailingly friendly, but low key and unobtrusive. I especially loved the neighbourhood, how it's holding on to a mix of cultures, and hasn't been totally gentrified. Excellent bars and restaurants to be found a few blocks away on East Sixth, and we were totally comfortable walking to downtown (a bit of a hike but not unreasonable), to the Rainey Street area, lake trails, and Congress Ave. Bridge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Heywood hotel is fantastic. We stayed in the queen balcony. It was recommended by the owner since the other balcony is for all the hotel guests. The king rooms have private patios, but they feed right out to the guest balcony, so they’re only semi private. The entire property is beautiful . You can tell that everything was well thought out, even down to the internet radio stations suggested in room - loved that radio paradise was programmed. The service was beyond fantastic. We were even given a printout with handwritten recommendations based on what we were looking for in Austin. The location is great. It's just around the corner from the best food and bars on the east side. There is coffee available in the lobby but they will also bring you a French press if you prefer. The bed was super comfy. There are several salons on the same block, which I utilized while I was there. It’s just up the road from Riverside, so heading out the front door for a jog is at your disposal as well. I have no complaints about our stay here and would recommend it to anyone visiting Austin! It has way more character than any of the chain hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Located at 1609 E. Cesar Chavez Street just east of downtown Austin, this is a former two bedroom bungalow that was recently converted and added on to create a small seven room boutique hotel with a sleek, contemporary design. The location is convenient to access the hot areas of downtown and to get to I-35 and to the airport. No breakfast is served but there is coffee and tea service, great bedding, large bathrooms, fresh fruit available, ample parking, attractive rooms, flat screen tvs and WiFi, plus very helpful and friendly owners and staff. All details were well-thought through including safes that fit a laptop!! Besides it is a very good value. I would definitely go back and hope you will check it out!!

Room Tip: I liked Room 3 with a queen bed. Larger rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago suburbs
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights in this hotel. It was beautiful! The bathroom was beautiful. The bed was comfy and the linens were luxurious. We enjoyed the private patio upstairs. My only complaint was that in our room, there was a window high up on the wall that faced the alley. At night there are security lights that shine in. There were no blinds on the window...so it was bright. If you like it dark, bring something to cover your eyes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Hotel

Address: 1609 E. Cesar Chavez St., Austin, TX 78702
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An artisanal boutique hotel and unique Austin experience. Half upcycled bungalow, half courtyard hotel, the Heywood embodies the intangible elements that define Austin: Creative. Easy going. Thoughtful. Cool. Located smack dab in the middle of the vibrant East Austin neighborhood and surrounded by local restaurants, lounges, and shops, this modern boutique hotel is an easy walk to downtown, Sixth Street, the Convention Center, and Lady Bird Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Heywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heywood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.