We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home in Austin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heywood Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Heywood Hotel to your Saves list
Heywood Hotel
1609 E. Cesar Chavez St., Austin, TX 78702 (East Austin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 39 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
“Our home away from home in Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We visit Austin frequently to see our grandchildren and have stayed in most of the nice boutique hotels. The Heywood stands out for comfort, style and warmth. It will now be our home away from home in Austin. Beautifully appointed with great attention to detail and much more comfortable than most of the other trendy hotels. The innkeepers are just delightful, too. Jane S and Bob K

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    9
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
69
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Celebrating my 1st Anniversary here on our "hometown vacation" was amazing. The staff all knew we were celebrating, and were more than accommodating and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming into Austin, skip the chains and downtown, skip the over-touristed and pricey other boutique hotels. The Heywood had it all.

Located East of downtown, you get the quiet of the neighborhood, the true local flare of Austin, and it's literally a 5 minute $1 bus ride to the central business district/6th street/4th street, whatever you're looking for.

The beds were amazing, the bath tub was big enough to float in (I'm 5'9), the product in the room were phenomenal, the whole place was gorgeously designed, well-appointed, comfortable, quiet....all the things you want in a hotel. Oh, and cool. So very very cool.

Room Tip: We chose room 6. LOVE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Heywood for a "staycation" before the birth of our daughter, and the entire experience far exceeded our expectations. From the modern and peaceful decor, to the outstanding service, to the lush bedding and spa-like bathroom, our stay could not have been better. And to top it off, it was reasonably priced. We HIGHLY recommend Heywood for a local staycation such as ours or for out-of-towners looking for a unique boutique hotel and gold old Austin hospitality!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We had a great stay and the Heywood Hotel. Very comfortable and reasonably priced, and everthing was done to make our stay enjoyable. Would definitely reccomend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Such a cute hotel! The owner, Kathy, was really helpful and accommodating during our stay. The rooms are cute and really comfortable. It felt like staying at home and was very close to downtown with out having to pay the downtown room rates and valet parking cost. The Heywood will definitely be my home away from home any time I am in Austin (which will be a lot since I am planning my wedding there!). Great place! Definitely check it out.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of the rooms! So cute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed at the Heywood on Dec 29th and 30th in one of the rooms with a private courtyard. We moved to Austin 6 month's ago and figured it would be the perfect excuse to get out and be tourist's in our new city. It was! The owner's have thought of everything and genuinely want to make their guests as happy as can be. The highlight of our stay was definitely the bed. I have never been so comfortable or slept so well. Eating our dinner from a local trailer park eatery (South Way Philly was awesome!) in our private courtyard under the stars was pretty nice too. We also had a great time on a bike ride to Town Lake (actually the Colorado River) on Heywood's (free!) custom bikes. It is pretty close and you can take all side streets to get there. Then we grabbed lunch at a taco trailer near the Heywood per the owner's recommendation. They were so good and cheap! Overall everything was perfect. The amenities, design, and the location, so close to the lake, downtown and the east side can't be beat for the price! It was really the best way possible to end 2011.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I live in Austin but recently I stayed at the Heywood for a stay-cation. Everything about this hotel has been so well thought out: all the amenities including the super soft linens, unique furniture, music players in the room and the great coffee ready each morning (just to name a few). This attention to detail about everything is evident throughout the hotel and the owner was super accommodating and beyond helpful in making recommendations for activities in the area. The room I was in had a sky light in the walk in shower so it literally felt as if you were showering in the trees. I took a few more showers than necessary just to be able to enjoy it! Also, the beds are so comfortable I didn’t want to get up in the mornings! The location in East Austin is perfect; within walking distance of so many great restaurant, bars and other destinations. This hotel is amazing and I can’t wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#9 of 191 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
W Austin
#16 of 191 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Driskill
#34 of 191 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heywood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heywood Hotel

Address: 1609 E. Cesar Chavez St., Austin, TX 78702
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > East Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An artisanal boutique hotel and unique Austin experience. Half upcycled bungalow, half courtyard hotel, the Heywood embodies the intangible elements that define Austin: Creative. Easy going. Thoughtful. Cool. Located smack dab in the middle of the vibrant East Austin neighborhood and surrounded by local restaurants, lounges, and shops, this modern boutique hotel is an easy walk to downtown, Sixth Street, the Convention Center, and Lady Bird Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Heywood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heywood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.