We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barley Swine

Barley Swine
2024 South Lamar Blvd, Austin, TX (Zilker Park)
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 3,231 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Zilker Park
Cross street: Between Mary and Oltorf on Lamar
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This truly was one of the best meals I've ever had. We had a party of 4 and we ate everything on the short menu and even doubled up on a couple. The dishes are small plates and great to share with a small group. You'll get one or two bites for each plate, but they will be amazing bites. Each one is very unique and incredibly complex. Your taste buds will be in heaven. There are a few seafood dishes, vegetarian, non-vegetarian and a couple desserts that truly will amaze you. Their beer list and wine list are great too. The service is great and the staff knows their product well. We watched how every dish was brought to the head person (the owner) before going out to a table. This is an intimate, small restaurant with a lot of great food. Each dish ranged from $9 to $17 and you can order the whole menu for about $120 which feeds about 3-4 but doubling up on a few would be needed for 4 hungry people. Adding alcohol and dessert you'll be closer to $200 for an amazing meal with alcohol, that's a great deal. I'm definitely going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    29
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“GREAT, GREAT MEAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I don't know why this place is not rated in the top few restaurants in Austin. I went to Uchi and to Qui and this place is certainly in their league. Funny even though the name would make you think about big heavy meats the chef has a deft creative touch. The vegetable dishes were some of my favorites - carrot and eggplant were off the charts. Of course the rabbit and pig were stellar. You may have to wait to get a seat but trust me its so worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
2 reviews
“Best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

One of the best meals in Austin. You cannot beat the price for the quality. The attention to every detail was top notch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We booked a table on Open Table and are glad we did. All 41 seats were occupied shortly after the restaurant opened at 6 pm on a Tuesday. We opted to sit at the bar and watch the action in the kitchen. Everyone from the hostesses to the bartender and the servers were super friendly. We noticed however that the chefs were very intent and intense in the food prep and we didn't see a smile cracked by any of them during our visit. We got a thorough description of each dish as they were brought to us. We ordered two specials of the day, one being salmon, poblano, tomato, masa churro, and mescal ($15), and smoked lamb (a bit too salty) with watermelon, goat cheese custard, and pickled eggplant (undetectable)($11). We also ordered three menu items, soft shelled crab (actually about a half of a soft shelled crab) with zucchini, deviled egg, nori, basil, and peach ($13), pig, crispy trotter, refried lentils, yogurt, date, and celery ($15), and rabbit, pretzel, mustard, green tomato, and green bean slaw ($14). All dishes were works of art and were delicious. We were recommended to order three or four dishes per person, but the five we ordered between the two of us were plenty. An earlier reviewer mentioned a $15 BYO wine corkage fee. It's now $20. We also had a very nice Garnacha ($10 glass/$37 bottle). The wine list is eclectic and bottles range from $37 to $500. We have wanted to come here since it opened but have been put off by having to show up and wait outside in line. This time of year it's around 100 degrees at 5 pm. So it was nice to be able to book a table. We are certainly glad we came but with all the fantastic restaurants in Austin to try, we'll probably make this a one-time experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had a great dinner with several small plates. Each was unquie and prepared with precession. We sat at th bar and were able to watch the chefs in action. The service was great, well informed and professional.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barley Swine also viewed

 

Been to Barley Swine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barley Swine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.