We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room rates go up at check in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Austin Central - North

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Austin Central - North to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 Austin Central - North
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   8010 N. Interstate 35, I-35 at Exits #240-A/241, Austin, TX 78753   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 182 hotels in Austin
austin, tx
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Room rates go up at check in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

When we checked in to the room, the rates were way higher than what we were originally quoted. Since we were tired from the long drive we decided that we would deal with it when the manager got in. (which was in two days) The next day security pounded on our door at 4 AM telling us we had to leave because there was no payment made. They tried barging in our room but thankfully we had the other lock on there. We told them that we would be talking to the manager in the morning and that the front desk was already aware of it. I talked to the manager Brandy whom was very rude and did nothing about them changing the price upon check-in or about security pounding on our doors at 4AM, she said this is when they ran their reports. Brandy also stated that the reason for the price change was because there was a city event. We had just booked the hotel two days prior to our check in date, so if they were going to change the prices for the event then they should have quoted us those prices. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone traveling in the Austin area!!!

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    10
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
3
10
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

There are several reviews about drug dealers and prostitutes, but I didn't see any of that. It's not the greatest area compared to the rest of Austin and many of the guests there looked low-class but that's expected for the price. As a single female, I felt safer knowing there was a security guard on duty after 10 p.m. The room was simple, yet surprisingly modern. Everything seemed very clean and neat. I slept well -- didn't have any issues with noise. The only negative was that the internet connection wasn't working. I paid $3 for it but got a refund.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

Found the rooms Cheap but was clean and non smoking.Good if you just want bed and bathroom.extremely easy to get to the city and back.Was woken on first morning at 0430 by hooker cold calling my room,hung up straight away and complained to staff in office later who knew of this happening but offered little other help apart from don't answer the phone. WiFi cheap and worked well.Welcome to real america on a budget

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

The rooms had been remodeled and it reminded my girlfriend and I of IKEA. There were yellow and orange pastel colours on the walls, sheets, etc. It made the room feel warm and cosy.

The bed was comfy and located right next to the heater/air-conditioner and the window.

A (faux?) leather booth-style corner seat with a table and separate chair was a nice touch. It was comfortable enough for two people to eat a meal.

There was a fairly large flat panel TV on the wall. Below it there were RCA plugs for composite video/audio (I.e., yellow, red, white), VGA, and HDMI. Thus, you have the option of plugging in your own device to the television. Very awesome!

The sink and large mirror were basically part of the room and the toilet and shower were separated by a door. The toilet is crammed right up against the shower/tub; a quite confined space.

They provide high-speed Wi-Fi for $3 per 24 hours. That's not bad considering some hotels charge $5 to $15 per day for the amenity. That said, Wi-Fi should really be free for all guests.

There's a pool available for anyone in the hotel to use. We were only there one night, so we didn't get a chance to see what the pool was like. Thus, I'm not sure if it was heated or not -- probably not.

They charge $6 for a second person to stay in the room. Weird.

From the outside of the hotel you wouldn't think that the rooms would be so awesome; it just looks like any old Motel 6 from the highway.

Speaking of highway, it's right off I-35 South -- which is convenient. The entrance to the parking lot is just over a hill, so exiting the Motel (in a car) can be tricky when fast drivers come screaming over the hill/crest.

This Motel 6 is only a couple miles from the Highland Mall, and there are many restaurants nearby too!

There are several Motel 6s along Interstate 35. The nightly rate goes up the closer you get to downtown Austin. At some of them the nightly rate even fluctuates day by day.

Also, Motel 6's website is awesome and has heaps of photos of the rooms, and even a video tour!

All in all a very good experience for the price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio, tx
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

i stayed here one night - it's a basic clean place to sleep buthnothing fancy - i would stayh ere again

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

My boyfriend and I were on a road trip and we stayed at Motel 6 Austin (UT) and on our way home, we stopped in Austin again and found this motel 6 for only $35. We decided to take a risk and booked here without looking at the reviews. The only thing I did not like was that the lady in the reception was flirting with him. The good thing about that is that when we got to the room, it was awesome. We got a totally hip and modern room. It looked like a room of the future. We had a flat plasma tv, a soft bed, super cool sink and an amazing table with trendy chairs. I was super suprised because from the outside it didnt look very nice. I did notice there were men working on the hotel. I am guessing they are newly remodeled.
This weekend, we are going back to Austin to sign an apartment lease and we are booking this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2007

We found the property easily. Was greeted by a friendly person. Room was clean. Unfortunately, the air conditioner smelled of urine when it was turned on. You have to wonder if people use these in the night for the wrong purpose...
Woke up to find no hot water. Tried to call the desk and the phone wasn't working. Walked down to the desk to find out that the boiler was not working. Front desk help did what she could, which was to give a 10 dollar refund until the manager arrived. Handy man seemed to know that this boiler had been having problems for a while. Manager arrived an hour and a half later but plumber had to be called. Manager did refund all our money after we asked for it. We moved to the Studio 6 northwest.

  • Liked — closeness to downtown and price
  • Disliked — no hot water
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Austin Central - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Austin Central - North

Address: 8010 N. Interstate 35, I-35 at Exits #240-A/241, Austin, TX 78753
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#160 Spa Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Austin Central - North 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Motel 6 Austin Central - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Austin Central - North Hotel Austin
Austin Motel Six
Austin Motel 6
Motel Six Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Austin Central - North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.