We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost good...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7601 East Ben White Boulevard, Austin, TX 78747 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #114 of 182 hotels in Austin
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Almost good...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hey, its an airport hotel... and you get what you pay for. In this case the hotel is actually not all that bad... the service at check-in was fantastic. The rooms are large with separate sitting and sleeping areas -- the new bedding and TV can't make up for the poor bathroom and shower. It's beyond me why hotel's spend the money on the updates in the room but leave old bath fixtures and noisy fans and in-wall AC units.

There is a free shuttle to and from the airport and it looked like the breakfast selections were above average for a hotel in this class.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiola M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear fryfrye,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share about your experience stay at Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport. It is always a pleasure to make our guest have a great experience during their stay. We are going to start a full renovation of our hotel and we are going to make sure to take your suggestions to improve our bath fixtures and our A/C units. Our Goal is to have a great hotel that guest Love. Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Airport. We are looking forward to see you, on your next trip to Austin TX

Sincerely,
Fabiola Moyado
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    14
    9
    7
See reviews for
21
7
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This by far was the best hotel of our trip to Austin and San Antonio. We booked because of proximity to the airport for an early flight. The room was spacious, well laid out and contained all the necessities. Check in was smooth and easy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiola M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear lbaileyart,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share about your experience during your stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Airport. We happy to know that you had a great experience during your stay and that our Front desk agents made your stay better. We are looking forward to see you, on your next trip to Austin TX.

Sincerely,
Fabiola Moyado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights while on a business trip.

Good Things I Noticed:
1. My room was blissfully quiet, even being on the first floor. :)
2. The pillows on the bed are different firmnesses and the pillow cases are labeled. I usually spend an hour folding and stacking pillows at hotels to get them like they are at home. Not here!
3. There were some adorable birds living in the light fixture above the carport.

Not So Good Things
1. The breakfast buffet is not so welcoming for vegans...unless you really like bananas....and processed juice. The non vegans in my group seemed to enjoy it though.
2. The lights in the bedroom side of the room were too bright for my taste. If it were up to me, I would drop at least 20 watts from all of the bulbs.

Overall, it was a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiola M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Darcy137,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share about your experience stay at Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport. We are happy to know that you liked our pillows and that our pillows made you feel like home. I will take some of your great feedback to our corporate managers, to help us serve our guest needs. Our Goal is to have a great hotel that guest Love. Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Airport. We are looking forward to see you, on your next trip to Austin TX.

Sincerely,
Fabiola Moyado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

It looks decent from the outside, but don't let that fool you. The manager and staff are rude, the room smells bad, and the bathroom felt nasty. There are better hotels in the area. This is the worst Holiday Inn I've stayed at in 10 years of business travel.

Room Tip: Choose a room at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiola M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Dustin B.,

We are sorry for any inconvenience that you experienced during your stay, we value all and any feedback from our guest. With this valuable feedback that you have given we can make sure our staff is well trained in customer service and cleanliness. We hope you give us the opportunity to provide you the service that Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Airport is known for.

Sincerly,
Fabiola Moyado
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft L Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am a loyal member of the Holiday inn Express. I stay at one whenever I travel. They are always clean, friendly & have great breakfasts. As a Priority Club member, I am usually upgraded & treated to a goodie bag. The rooms are comfortable. I have never had a problem at any of these establishments

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiola M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear linedancer6,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share about your experience stay at Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport. It is always a pleasure to make our Priority club member top priority in our Hotel. Our Goal is to have a great hotel that guest Love. Holiday Inn Express & Suites Austin Airport. We are looking forward to see you, on your next trip to Austin TX

Sincerely,
Fabiola Moyado
Assistant General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Entrance signage could be better, we had to go a mile or so out of our way to U-turn to get to the hotel. If you are coming from Austin, driving east on Riverside Dr, you can cross Route 71 and then turn right on Metro Center Drive to enter from behind the hotel. Our room was a king suite with kitchenette and sofa bed. The bed felt and sounded like it had a waterproof mattress pad - but otherwise comfortable. We had wifi trouble the first day with our apple products, but it was solved the second day. All staff very friendly and accommodating. Lovely lobby, free newspapers, cocktail party. Starbucks across E Riverside Blvd. Denny's next door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiola M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Oakleafgal,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We appreciate you sharing an easier way to get to our Hotel. We are in the process of changing all the bedding in the rooms and the mattress pads will one of them.We will have our tech support to fix any issues Wifi connection so we do not experience that problem again. It is always our top priority to provide a great service to all of our guest. We hope to see you soon, When you come to Austin TX.


Sincerely,
Fabiola Moyado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I tried this hotel after staying next door at the La Quinta next door. It was much quieter, had a better breakfast, and also had a happy hour with some wine and snacks, while costing less than the La Quinta. There aren't many restaurants in this area, so unless you have a car, you won't get a chance to try some of Austin's great eateries, but if you just need some place to stay near the airport, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabiola M, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear PCO1025,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are about 2.3 miles west of the airport and unfortunately due to that fact that we are so close to the airport, there are not too many restaurant options around this area, but there are some good restaurants with in a walking distance. It is always our top priority to provide a great service to all of our guest. We hope to see you soon, When you come to Austin TX.

Sincerely,
Fabiola Moyado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport Hotel Austin
Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport Hotel
Holiday Inn Austin
Holiday Inn Express Austin
Austin Holiday Inn
Address: 7601 East Ben White Boulevard, Austin, TX 78747
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Romantic Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are in Austin for business or pleasure, the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport offers all the comforts and conveniences you expect from luxury airport hotels. We are centrally located near Austin-Bergstrom International Airport and our location gives easy access to downtown Austin, Austin Convention Center, and the University of Texas. Several shopping malls are available within a ten mile radius of our hotel. A few of the many companies located near us include Ercot, AMD, Palm Harbor, Freescale, Helio Volt, LCRA, and Del Valle ISD. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is perfect choice for the business traveler. This 4-story all suite hotel features 80 beautifully appointed guest rooms and free high-speed (wired & wireless) Internet service. Take advantage of our 'Park & Fly' program and eliminate worries of high airport parking rates. We offer daily complimentary airport shuttle service from 5am to 11pm. You will find yourself amazed with our award-winning service, convenient location, and spacious guest rooms featuring our Stay Smart bedding collection, microwaves, refrigerators, Direct-TV and expanded free HBO. Don't forget our complimentary freshly prepared breakfast buffet, including variety of hot items like bacon, sausage, omelets, scramble eggs, and biscuits & gravy. Visit Austin, Texas and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Austin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Austin Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.