We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10024 North Capital of TX Highway North, Austin, TX 78759 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #113 of 184 Hotels in Austin
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We reserved a 2-bedroom "suite" for 3 nights and checked out after only 1 night. We had 4 adults (all family members) and the bedrooms were small, the 1 and only bathroom was small, and the beds were maybe a Queen but felt like a Full bed. Single thermostat for "suite" and 1 bedroom hot and other cold.
The free breakfast was good and the selection was more than we expected. The staff were very nice and the location is good but the quality of sleep was poor. We checked out and moved a block or 2 away to a Marriott Courtyard. I would only stay here again if money was the sole decision maker otherwise, pick another Marriott property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misty L, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear ShermanSUV,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! I would like to offer my apologies for your stay being uncomfortable for you and your family due to the room set up. I do appreciate the fact that our staff was helpful and that you were able to take advantage of our extensive complimentary breakfast, we do take pride a lot of pride in taking care of our guests! If I can be of any further assistance in the future, please do not hesitate to contact me. Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Misty Lack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
5
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

First, the good - this hotel has clean, spacious rooms (even the studio rooms are plenty spacious), clean (looks like fairly newly refurbed corridors) nice decor, bed very comfortable, grounds well-kept, most staff give good service, good housekeeping staff, enough parking, even when full.

However, we were staying here for a week, and arrived one eve around 9pm. We were given our room key, and then gutted to find out we'd been given an access room. We were tired and just wanted to move into the room we would have for a week, but in access rooms there is NO counter space in the bathroom to put your stuff, and in these rooms the kitchen bit was facing the bed (instead of round the corner and partitoned off from the bed by a wall, like in the other rooms) it felt like a bedsitter! And it wasn't even very clean.
I complained to the front desk straight away and she said it was the only room they had left, and we could move to a regular room in the morning. We were indeed moved the next morning to the kind of room we had booked (by the very helpful Trina), and all was good - the regular rooms are much nicer. (Of course I can see that the access rooms are far more practical if you need these, but this was not what we'd booked).
I just felt that the lady who gave us this room could have asked us up front if we wouldn't mind having an access room for a night, and moving the next day, instead of just palming us off with this without saying anything and just hoping it would be ok.

Also, don't expect to swim unless it's July or August, pool is unheated and doesn't get much sun during the day, and so is freezing.

I would love to stay here again, but I guess I'd have to make sure to get there early so I didn't get fobbed off with a room I hadn't booked.

Room Tip: From what I saw, all rooms were fine, just make sure not to get an access room unless you need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I was forced to stay here on a business trip as most stuff was sold downtown due to the South by Southwest music festival or was crazy expensive. I had a studio room at 169 which was not worth it. Hotel is more of an extended stay place and has the feel of an apartment complex.

I did not try the breakfast but the toiletries sucked and there was no lotion. TV was hanged on the wall but in a position where it could only be viewed from the sofa and not the bed. Hangers were cheap plastic.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Pros: Great location, clean rooms, plenty of breakfast-good variety

Cons: lack of insulation between walls and upper floor transmitted noise from neighboring guests during all hours of day and night, breakfast area too small, not enough parking spaces

Room Tip: request upper level floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I’ve stayed at all types of Marriott hotels before but I have never stayed at Marriott TownePlace. For our Christmas break in Texas, I saw this place had a two bedroom suite available for the same points as a studio in Residence Inn, I gave this hotel a try. It is one of the older facilities, but it was very well maintained. Everything worked properly, staff was very nice. The breakfast room is too small for the size of the hotel and the food choices are lacking (even with the expectation properly set for a “free” breakfast).

The one bright spot was that the hotel was next to the restaurant/brewery North by Northwest, you could happily drink way past the legal alcohol limit and walk back home happy, food there was great, beer was awesome, and the Blackjack beer was out of the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This property is overall standard for this type of facility, but both the food and friendliness of the staff exceeded expectations. Breakfast included a nice assortment of yogurts and breads plus hot sausage and eggs--and a waffle station. On a few weeknights they offer a reception with drinks and hot food items as well. This stands out as superior to other food options I've had at a similar hotels. Internet is included--thank you! Room is comfortable. Bath/shower is "plastic," but vanity and kitchenette counters are granite. Bed was VERY comfortable. Good value all around. This hotel is close to restaurants and shopping areas.

Room Tip: There are separate buildings, so consider whether you want to stay in the building with the office a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Townplace Suites provides a little more room which is nice. This hotel was clean and comfortable but nothing out of the ordinary. I liked the fact that you could walk to a couple of restaurants. Whole Foods was also right down the street. I would probably stay here again if I had a meeting close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest

Address: 10024 North Capital of TX Highway North, Austin, TX 78759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 184 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential style living with the comforts of a townhouse community - Northwest Austin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Austin Northwest Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.