We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, basically a cheaper Residence Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10024 North Capital of TX Highway North, Austin, TX 78759 (Northwest Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #113 of 186 Hotels in Austin
Redmond, WA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Not bad, basically a cheaper Residence Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I’ve stayed at all types of Marriott hotels before but I have never stayed at Marriott TownePlace. For our Christmas break in Texas, I saw this place had a two bedroom suite available for the same points as a studio in Residence Inn, I gave this hotel a try. It is one of the older facilities, but it was very well maintained. Everything worked properly, staff was very nice. The breakfast room is too small for the size of the hotel and the food choices are lacking (even with the expectation properly set for a “free” breakfast).

The one bright spot was that the hotel was next to the restaurant/brewery North by Northwest, you could happily drink way past the legal alcohol limit and walk back home happy, food there was great, beer was awesome, and the Blackjack beer was out of the world.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
5
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This property is overall standard for this type of facility, but both the food and friendliness of the staff exceeded expectations. Breakfast included a nice assortment of yogurts and breads plus hot sausage and eggs--and a waffle station. On a few weeknights they offer a reception with drinks and hot food items as well. This stands out as superior to other food options I've had at a similar hotels. Internet is included--thank you! Room is comfortable. Bath/shower is "plastic," but vanity and kitchenette counters are granite. Bed was VERY comfortable. Good value all around. This hotel is close to restaurants and shopping areas.

Room Tip: There are separate buildings, so consider whether you want to stay in the building with the office a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Townplace Suites provides a little more room which is nice. This hotel was clean and comfortable but nothing out of the ordinary. I liked the fact that you could walk to a couple of restaurants. Whole Foods was also right down the street. I would probably stay here again if I had a meeting close by.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Service at the Towneplace Austin is outstanding but the property feels a little more like an '80s apartment complex than a hotel. The property is divided into two seperate buildings which is a little awkward considering you have to leave one building and cross the parking lot just to get ice. The lobby is very small, more like a lobby of a motor inn than a Marriott property. Breakfast was ok but very limited. The rooms are nice, roomy and clean. Location is great for shopping, eating, movies. Easy access to the freeways and only 10-15 minute drive to downtown.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This place is fantastic! The staff is friendly and very knowledgeable of the area and very willing to help in any way possible. They helped us find parking for the Texas football game and gave us information regarding shopping and sightseeing. They also have a full breakfast every morning that includes healthy options as well(outstanding!). The room was clean and very convenient. It had a little kitchen with a refrigerator, stove,microwave sink/garbage disposal etc. It also has free wifi, usb ports and everything you need for your electronics. They pretty much thought of everything and the housekeeping service was excellent as well. We were there for 5 days and it was a very comfortable/convenient experience. It may be one of the best experiences we have had and we travel a good bit.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the 1st floor right up from the front desk and breakfast area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have stayed here at least a dozen times and never been disappointed. I always book my room through their front desk and the staff has always been gracious. My arrival time is usually very late and never an issue. The recent updates to the hotel are very nice and the beds are great. As of recent they have added a hot breakfast a pleasant updated to cold rolls and cereal. I stay in plenty of hotel across the nation and you have sound noise in all of them, for the value and location this is a great find.

Room Tip: Stay away from the side doors and stairs the door slaming all night and people going up and down the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

In August, we took a four-day mini-vacation and stayed at this Northwest Austin property right off Mo-Pac. This was a great location for us as we were near the Domain shopping complex and not too far from K1 racing, MT Supermarket, and downtown museums. Compared to pricier, more centrally-located hotels, this property offers larger suites and complimentary wi-fi, parking, and a hot and cold breakfast buffet. When we checked in, we were greeted warmly by the professional front desk staff and throughout our stay were treated kindly by management and service personnel. In fact, we personally experienced management go above and beyond to assist us and other guests during busy check-in periods.

We enjoyed the two bedroom suite - it was comfortable, clean, spacious, and the finishes in the bathroom and full kitchen were updated and attractive. However, there are a few concerns about the property, which include: the sofa in the suite was stiff and uncomfortable, the elevator is dated and shabby, the lobby is small and can get crowded, and the pool and breakfast areas are tiny and the layouts are poorly designed. Having said that, we would definitely return and strongly recommend a top floor, corner room if you're staying in a two-bedroom suite in the main building. Also, currently you can check the hotel's website for promotions such as complimentary gift cards and gas cards for certain room accommodations/length of stays.

Room Tip: We strongly recommend a top floor, corner room if you're staying in a two-bedroom suite in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest

Address: 10024 North Capital of TX Highway North, Austin, TX 78759
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > Northwest Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 186 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residential style living with the comforts of a townhouse community - Northwest Austin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Austin Northwest Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites Austin Northwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.