We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service way below par” 2 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Austin South

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Austin South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Austin South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4501 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #87 of 183 hotels in Austin
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Service way below par”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We recently stayed 5 nights. We also stayed there 3 days in March 2013.
--On 2 of the 5 days, maid service never came, even though we vacated room early in morning; delivery of clean towels took 45 min and 2 calls to the front desk -- maybe because they were understaffed??
--Sheets had numerous holes in them.
--Breakfast buffet description in elevators sounds scrumptious -- but not all the items listed are put out on any given day. Some foods are not replenished even with 45 minutes left in the breakfast period.
--Glad I checked our under-the-door bill - we were charged an extra $75 above what our reservation promised for the last 2 days. Clerk was pleasant and efficient to make correction (although commenting it was possible because I had brought a printed email of the reservation), but should NEVER have happened.
--Music in lobby is VERY LOUD at all times. Customers were going outside to listen to cell phones, but this was problematic because of the noise from nearby I35.

--I am unlikely to stay here again, even though its location is convenient.

Room Tip: Away from elevator, which is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina G, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. We take feedback very seriously and will do our best to address each item mentioned with our staff. I am very sorry for the inconvenience we caused with your bill. In very rare situations does this happen. I am happy the clerk was able to correct your statement. I am sorry that your breakfast experience was not up to our standards. We do try to have a variety of foods each week. I hope that what you did have was enjoyable. Thank you again for letting us know how we can improve. I am so sorry that our hotel was anything less than perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    48
    25
    14
    9
See reviews for
40
25
8
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is the hotel I stay everytime I visit Austin for either business or pleasure. The staff is amazing and so helpful!!! My room is always clean and very comfortable. The kitchen staff is exceptionally nice. Veronica is so helpful and always acknowleges you. Since I am a regular she always goes out of her way to say good morning and strike up a conversation. She makes you feel so welcomed and makes you feel like she's known you forever, it's nice when your away from home so often. Breakast selection is good as well. Location is good, close to some good restaurants and close to downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina G, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello Wendy,

Thank you so much for your awesome review. We are so happy our hotel can be a home away from home for you. We love Veronica too! She is a great member of our staff and we are so happy to have her. I will pass along your compliments to her! We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Nice stay for the price! There are several hotels in this area along I35, and this one proved to be a good choice for us. Nice breakfast included, free wi fi, no gimmicks, fridge, coffee maker and microwave in the room. Well laid out semi-suite (one large room with sitting area, desk, kitchen area next to and open to the bedroom)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina G, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you so much for you review! We appreciate the time it takes for you to let us know how we are doing. I am so happy that you enjoyed all of our amenities, breakfast, and our room layout. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Springhill Suites is a great hotel to stay at. The price was great for the stay. The customer service was very friendly. I would recommend anybody to stay here if they are looking for a room in Austin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina G, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello Claudia,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to have you back soon!

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Booked Hotel online and stayed Fri - Sun. The staff allowed us to do a early check in. The room was very clean. The entire Staff from the front desk, Cleaning Attendants to the Kitchen Staff was exceptional. My Family and I were very pleased overall and we will stay here again when we return to Austin. Thank you SpringHill Suites for the Awesome Job you did!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you and your family stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We have stayed at many Marriott Hotels and have a few years been Platinum Award members. Never have we stayed at a property with better customer service. We stay 3 day and with a second room with guest for 1. From the minute we checked it is was amazing. The food was great, the buffet was always full and the staff even cleared plate (on a buffet). the front desk would do anything to make you stay comfortable and ask questions (Amy) was amazing. During breakfast the manager Kim came around to table asking the guest what their plans were for the day and giving suggestions for Austin to improve their experience, she knew the area!! Which I might add she recommended we visited the State Capital on Sunday. I've seen a lot of State Capital but Texas really does win hand down on the best and greatest state history.
The SpringHill has a shuttle that runs downtown when scheduled so we didn't miss having a car. It also sits next door to a Marriott Courtyard, Residence Inn, Fairfield and a Marriott so you have the best of all. Your restaurant is there, the deli and the Starbucks!!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a refrigerator and microwave with slightly separated sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review. We are so happy that you enjoyed our hotel and staff. We look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great value! We stayed here Fri to Sat night! Front of the house was really accommodating, they saw we were checking in with young kids and let us check in early allowed us a late checkout even though they were fully booked! The Jacuzzi tub in our room was wonderful! The rooms were super clean, housekeeping was excellent, they even came to open our sofa bed and set up our crib in the evening! Breakfast was not bad at all! Overall excellent customer service, really comfortable bed and just really we'll run! Will definitely book again when I'm back in Austin!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Edlyn, thank you so much for your kind review. I am so happy that our staff was able to help you with everything you needed. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we are doing. Please come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Austin South

Address: 4501 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 183 hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Austin South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Austin South is located just off IH-35 and is convenient to the airport, Barton Creek Square Mall, and University of Texas, San Marcos Premium Outlets and much more. It is 4 miles from downtown Austin and its many restaurants and entertainment hot-spots. Guest rooms feature separate living/sitting areas, microwaves and mini-fridges, and Marriott luxury bedding. Guests will delight in the complimentary new breakfast buffet, complimentary WiFi and on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your SpringHill Suites Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Austin South Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Austin South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.