We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Austin hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Austin South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Austin South to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Austin South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4501 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Pack All You Want Promo
Ranked #88 of 187 Hotels in Austin
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“South Austin hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

For traveling on business, this is a great hotel; not too expensive; staff is accommodating; breakfast offerings are good and hot dishes change every day. Easy access; rooms are comfortable, as are the beds, and they have feather pillows which is a plus for me. Coffee is very good too. Small kitchen area in the rooms and free Wi-Fi are also nice.

Green Features: appreciated the opportunity to "pass" on having sheets and towels changed every day.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina G, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for you great review! We are happy that you enjoyed our breakfast and rooms. We look forward to having you here again soon!

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    54
    29
    14
    9
See reviews for
43
27
8
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

One of the best hotels I've stayed at amenities-wise that is reasonable. The breakfast was loaded with scrambled eggs, sausage patties, oatmeal, cold cereals, waffles, coffee, and juice. Staff was awesome to boot! This place is a must stay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

My room (605) was exceptionally clean and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and restaurant information. The room had two queens and was spacious. There was a ceiling fan in the area with the desk and microwave/fridge which was a nice touch. The hotel was very quiet. The breakfast is great--they have a wafflemaker that makes waffles shaped like Texas, along with rotating items like eggs, sausage, etc. Also cold cheese and meats, plus all the usual cereal, yogurt, and oatmeal products. The location is not far from downtown Austin, yet also in the middle of an office park with not much within walking distance. I didn't have a car, so I took the bus to get where I needed to go, which worked great. There is also a shuttle shared with all the other Marriott hotels nearby but I never took it, so I can't speak to its efficiency. The Vietnamese restaurant next door is pretty affordable and tasty, if you want to stay nearby in the evening. I would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such great feedback on your breakfast and hotel experience. We are glad that our staff was helpful with directions and your other needs. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to having you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stittsville, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is grouped amongst 5 Marriott hotels, which can be a little confusing when you first arrive. Each hotel is clearly marked though! I was very impressed with the SpringHill; the hotel doesn't look dated, and the staff was very welcoming.

We were provided a "hot tub" room (which we never used), although it was placed right next to the elevator. At the same time I never heard it once - the bed is set back from the wall adjoining it. The room itself was very long, although still spacious, with a fridge and microwave provided. It was a very comfortable location, as well as clean - we arrived late and left early, so on this stay we didn't get to use the breakfast room or facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so pleased to see you enjoyed your room and found it comfortable. We hope to have you back soon when you can enjoy our breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel. Our room, 501, was in great shape and I felt the hotel was maintained very well. Staff was very helpful and pleasant. Friendly prompt service. Breakfast was quite good with everything we could want. As our granddaughter is beginning first year, we will likely stay here many times in the future. Room was clean and comfortable. A very good value in terms of comfort, cleanliness, attractiveness, location, and sense of being welcomed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Springhill Suites Austin South. We appreciate you taking time to write us a pleasant review on our staff and breakfast. The next time you come to Austin we would love have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

In all honesty this hotel needs a renovation or makeover but the staff kept things tidy with a few issues here or there like I only got conditioner every day housekeeping cleaned my room.
However, my favorite thing about this hotel was the African American lady (I can't remember her name but she told us she was a manager) in the lobby! She isn't actually the concierge but I kept calling her that because she had all of the information, directions, and just everything we needed and wanted in a small hotel. I loved her and I actually felt so bad because she seemed to know everyone's name. Bye Mr this and Hello Mrs that....!


I was there with some friends for a weekend trip to Texas and we had so much fun thanks to her and the other staff was quite nice as well but that lady really made our trip a great one!

Tell her thanks from Christine and friends!

Green Features: paper plates and plastic everything isn't green at all!
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Christine, Thank you so much for your time taken to review our hotel. We are so glad to hear that your stay was plesant. Im glad Tanya was able to give you information and directions around Austin. Im so sorry to hear that you had some issues with housekeeping. I will inform our housekeeping supervisor immediately. We hope the next time your in Austin you chose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Drum, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Location is great, 5 miles from downtown but also southern Austin to allow a quick drive south to attractions down the 35 such as Cabela's and Buck-ees. The hotel is clean and comfortable, but most noticeable is the quality of the staff. Due to work, I stayed here over 3 months and the staff took notable care to make my home away from home comfortable. Tonya Dillard often serves at the check-in counter and is the kind of person I would want representing my business to the world. She is pleasant, knowledgeable, knows the names of guests and is always ready to help with any question. I hope Marriott keeps her around, she represents them well.

Room Tip: As far as parking, be careful not to park under trees. Black birds, grackels, will place quite a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write such pleasant feedback about your stay. We are so excited to hear that your enjoyed your long term stay. Im glad our staff, especially Tanya, were able to go above and beyond for you. Thank you again for staying with the Springhill Suites and hope you come back the next time you are in Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Austin South

Address: 4501 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Austin South is located just off IH-35 and is convenient to the airport, Barton Creek Square Mall, and University of Texas, San Marcos Premium Outlets and much more. It is 4 miles from downtown Austin and its many restaurants and entertainment hot-spots. Guest rooms feature separate living/sitting areas, microwaves and mini-fridges, and Marriott luxury bedding. Guests will delight in the complimentary new breakfast buffet, complimentary WiFi and on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Marriott and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Austin South Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Austin South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.