We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The CONCIERGE!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Austin South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Austin South to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Austin South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4501 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #94 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“The CONCIERGE!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

In all honesty this hotel needs a renovation or makeover but the staff kept things tidy with a few issues here or there like I only got conditioner every day housekeeping cleaned my room.
However, my favorite thing about this hotel was the African American lady (I can't remember her name but she told us she was a manager) in the lobby! She isn't actually the concierge but I kept calling her that because she had all of the information, directions, and just everything we needed and wanted in a small hotel. I loved her and I actually felt so bad because she seemed to know everyone's name. Bye Mr this and Hello Mrs that....!


I was there with some friends for a weekend trip to Texas and we had so much fun thanks to her and the other staff was quite nice as well but that lady really made our trip a great one!

Tell her thanks from Christine and friends!

Green Features: paper plates and plastic everything isn't green at all!
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Christine, Thank you so much for your time taken to review our hotel. We are so glad to hear that your stay was plesant. Im glad Tanya was able to give you information and directions around Austin. Im so sorry to hear that you had some issues with housekeeping. I will inform our housekeeping supervisor immediately. We hope the next time your in Austin you chose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    58
    31
    17
    9
See reviews for
44
30
8
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ft. Drum, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Location is great, 5 miles from downtown but also southern Austin to allow a quick drive south to attractions down the 35 such as Cabela's and Buck-ees. The hotel is clean and comfortable, but most noticeable is the quality of the staff. Due to work, I stayed here over 3 months and the staff took notable care to make my home away from home comfortable. Tonya Dillard often serves at the check-in counter and is the kind of person I would want representing my business to the world. She is pleasant, knowledgeable, knows the names of guests and is always ready to help with any question. I hope Marriott keeps her around, she represents them well.

Room Tip: As far as parking, be careful not to park under trees. Black birds, grackels, will place quite a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write such pleasant feedback about your stay. We are so excited to hear that your enjoyed your long term stay. Im glad our staff, especially Tanya, were able to go above and beyond for you. Thank you again for staying with the Springhill Suites and hope you come back the next time you are in Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is in a good location in south Austin and the deal I got was great. The hotel is clean and the rooms are clean. A free continental breakfast is included and was very good. There is a lot of parking but it's all lined with trees which is usually a great thing, however these trees are for lack of a better word "infested" with birds. I had to wash my car every day to get all of the bird mess from messing up the paint. I tried parking in a clear area with no trees on either side of it for 20-30 ft and I still got hammered. The gym was also a little disappointing. It shares a glass wall with the itty bitty pool and the pool shares all of its humidity with the gym. So if you like running with a wet blanket covering your body in 85 degree weather this is the gym for you. Overall the hotel was a great deal for the price, staff was very courteous and even gave us a discount coupon for a neighboring restaurant.

Room Tip: avoid rooms ending in 21-24, they land smack between the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your time taken to let us know how your stay was. We are glad you had a plesant stay and found our breakfast and clean rooms up to your standards. We understand how frustrating the birds can be. Parking is available across the property with spots that are not near the trees. Also, we do offer car wash vouchers to guests who may have had issues with the birds. I apologize for the inconvenience again and hope that you will consider our hotel next time you visit Austin. Thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Sault, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have stayed at this property many times, including two weeks ago. The hotel is well kept and all of the staff are friendly and sincerely want to help. I friendly smile and hello when they see you is appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write such pleasant feedback about your stay. We are pleased that our staff was friendly and attentive. Thank you for choosing the Springhill Suites South during your travels to Austin. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night for a college tour, plenty of chain restaurants within a 5 min. drive off I35. Two elevators, which is nice and minimal wait time. Breakfast area is large, plenty of selections including fresh fruit. Very friendly staff.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so please to see you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back again very soon.
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed at this property on 7/30/13 for one evening and it's probably 20 years old and has never been updated. The bathroom has no ventilation, the rooms looks old and the beds made more sound when you moved then my children on a trampoline. The closet has no door and the holes look patched poorly. Furniture was old and certainly not what you would expect for this Marriott Brand. For what I paid the value to dollar was that of a 2 star motel. Only decent thing I can say was the staff is friendly, and breakfast was pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Although we are an outdated hotel I am very thankful you enjoyed our service and breakfast. We are hoping to receive a renovation in 2014 and would love to have you back to view the hotel post renovation.
Thank you again for your review and we hope you enjoyed your visit to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We only stayed one night but it was a good experience. Two of our three kids are adults, so the size of the room became smaller when the pullout sofa sleeper was out, but we managed. There is a bar area with a mini-fridge, microwave and desk. The microwave had 2 paper plates and some wrapped plastic place settings in it-- I thought that was thoughtful. Indoor pool and close to the Austin airport. Very friendly staff. The double beds are smaller-sized, BTW, but they were otherwise comfy. The only real drag was the water pressure in the shower in the morning. We must have had a neighbor showering at the same time because it was low around 9:30 am. when I showered, but none of my other family members said anything so maybe I got the worst of it. Breakfast was available but we were too late to enjoy it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Hello and thank you for your recent review of the Springhill Suites. We are so glad that your hotel stay meet your satisfaction. We strive to provide a wonderful experience for all guests and are delighted to know that our staff was friendly and attentive. We want to invite you to come visit us again the next time you are in Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Austin South

Address: 4501 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Austin South is located just off IH-35 and is convenient to the airport, Barton Creek Square Mall, and University of Texas, San Marcos Premium Outlets and much more. It is 4 miles from downtown Austin and its many restaurants and entertainment hot-spots. Guest rooms feature separate living/sitting areas, microwaves and mini-fridges, and Marriott luxury bedding. Guests will delight in the complimentary new breakfast buffet, complimentary WiFi and on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your SpringHill Suites Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Austin South Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Austin South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.