We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Austin South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Austin South to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Austin South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4501 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night's a Charm
Ranked #89 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Abilene, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“Very Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We spent one night here while passing through Austin on our way to San Antonio. We left scratching our heads about several recent negative reviews. Our stay was near perfect. Decent breakfast with lots of options, including fresh fruit. Very helpful and friendly front desk staff. Clean room with none of the problems others have experienced (worn linens, partially empty shampoo, etc).

A bit of a problem getting to the hotel off the freeway, but nothing major...just somewhat inconvenient to access the property. We found the hotel convenient to the South Congress area, though it is more a highway hotel than an in-town destination hotel.

We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We appriciate the time taken to review our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay while passing through Austin! Also, we are glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel which is only 4 miles from the downtown area. We hope the next time you are in Austin you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    54
    29
    14
    9
See reviews for
43
27
8
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

but it was way too expensive this time for some reason. The SpringHill Suites in the adjacent lot was much better but some of the recent Tripadvisor reviews had not been too good. SpringHill Suites have always been consistent when I have stayed there so I took a chance for one night.

The people at the front desk were very helpful and I never entered or left the building without one of them saying some sort of greeting.

The room looked like most of the SpringHill Suites I have been and did not look as "tired" as indicated in some reviews. I have seen Marriotts that need updating worse than this. My room was spotless and comfortable. Breakfast selection was varied and quite good compared to similar hotels in the Hilton chain.

Great Value. I would not have a problem staying here again.

Room Tip: Do not park under any of the trees. Hitchcock could have made a movie here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your time taken to review our hotel. Our goal is to be the friendliest and cleanest hotel. We are so glad that our front desk staff was so attentive during your stay and that your room was spotless. We are also glad that you enjoyed our large breakfast selection. We offer one of the largest breakfasts in the area, perfect to get your day started. We want to thank you again for your time and invite you to stay at the Springhill Suites Austin South during your next visit to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irvine, ca
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very small property. Does come with a decent breakfast, though nothing special. Indoor pool is tiny, can't imagine actually swimming. Workout room is also tiny, with just a small handful of equipment. Location wise, it is close to heart of Austin, but not that close. Suites feel more like a big room than an actual suite. Overall, I had a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your time taken to review your stay. Im so sorry to hear your stay was anything less than perfect. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel, we are only located four miles away from downtown. I wanted to touch on some points, our property is the largest in the area. Also, we provide our guests the largest full complimentary breakfast in the area. Our hotel will have a full renovation early 2014 and I hope you come back to stay with us! Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Front Staff is wonderful and sweet but the room cleanliness is not what they should be. Housekeeping half does their job most of the time. I wasn't expecting an over the moon experience but the cleanliness was inconsistent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we value your opinon highly. I am very glad that our staff was attentive to your during your stay. Our goal at the Springhill Suites is to be the friendliest and cleanest hotel. I am so sorry to hear that your experience was less than perfect. Cleanliness is one of our main goals, and I want to let you know that this issue will be brought up to the housekeeping staff immediately. Thank you again for your time, we hope you will consider us the next time you visit Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for South Austin activities, but it is sadly lacking in a variety of areas. Examples...our complimentary shampoo, etc. had been opened and used by a previous guest...there was no decaf coffee left after 5:00 pm...ran out of regular coffee at breakfast...only 2 salt and pepper shakers were available to be shared by over 40 guests at breakfast. The hotel was full while we were there, and there was only one breakfast worker. She really did a good job, but she needed help.
We have been impressed with other Springhill Suites, but will avoid this one in the future.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry to see that you did not enjoy your breakfast, however, I am glad to hear you enjoyed our location and city. We will definitely touch base with our housekeeping team on the shampoo to ensure this does not happen again. Regarding breakfast, we are the only hotel in the area that offers a hot continental breakfast, which is why our hotel stays busy. We make sure to have a manager on duty in the breakfast and lobby area each morning to assist wiht breakfast duties. Sometimes guests are not aware as our management team wears suites instead of the breakfast attendant polo. Lastly, coffee is always available hot in the lobby and breakfast area 24 hours a day. Our team makes it fresh and can always make decaf in about 5 minutes upon request, as it is rarely requested we do not make it in the afternoons. We also have an abundance of salt and pepper shakers on the buffet line for guests and can always bring more upon request.
I really hope that you will consider using us in the future and appreciate your feedback, we will address all concerns with our team to strive to provide the best service possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is dated and overall not very clean. I was disappointed as a Marriott Gold Member, I will NOT stay at this hotel again. The location was also a little difficult to get to.....it is a very congested area and traffic at any given time of the day in that area is bad. I was NOT impressed.

Room Tip: I would not stay here again
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to see your stay was anything less than perfect. Although we are an older hotel we do our best to exceed expectations in cleanliness and service. We are anticipating a renovation in 2014 and hope that you will give us another shot. We take our reviews seriously and would love athe opportunity to speak with you directly on specifics of your experience.
Thank you again for writing your review and we look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is within 5 miles of the Austin Airport but also located close to I-35 for access to other locations. The breakfast was quite good and the room clean and well appointed. We only stayed on night so did not use the kitchen space but it was quite convenient. Ask for a room away from the elevators which are noisy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Austin South

Address: 4501 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Austin South is located just off IH-35 and is convenient to the airport, Barton Creek Square Mall, and University of Texas, San Marcos Premium Outlets and much more. It is 4 miles from downtown Austin and its many restaurants and entertainment hot-spots. Guest rooms feature separate living/sitting areas, microwaves and mini-fridges, and Marriott luxury bedding. Guests will delight in the complimentary new breakfast buffet, complimentary WiFi and on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Austin South Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Austin South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.