We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Austin South

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Austin South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Austin South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4501 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #88 of 184 Hotels in Austin
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Front Staff is wonderful and sweet but the room cleanliness is not what they should be. Housekeeping half does their job most of the time. I wasn't expecting an over the moon experience but the cleanliness was inconsistent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we value your opinon highly. I am very glad that our staff was attentive to your during your stay. Our goal at the Springhill Suites is to be the friendliest and cleanest hotel. I am so sorry to hear that your experience was less than perfect. Cleanliness is one of our main goals, and I want to let you know that this issue will be brought up to the housekeeping staff immediately. Thank you again for your time, we hope you will consider us the next time you visit Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    50
    27
    14
    9
See reviews for
41
26
8
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for South Austin activities, but it is sadly lacking in a variety of areas. Examples...our complimentary shampoo, etc. had been opened and used by a previous guest...there was no decaf coffee left after 5:00 pm...ran out of regular coffee at breakfast...only 2 salt and pepper shakers were available to be shared by over 40 guests at breakfast. The hotel was full while we were there, and there was only one breakfast worker. She really did a good job, but she needed help.
We have been impressed with other Springhill Suites, but will avoid this one in the future.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry to see that you did not enjoy your breakfast, however, I am glad to hear you enjoyed our location and city. We will definitely touch base with our housekeeping team on the shampoo to ensure this does not happen again. Regarding breakfast, we are the only hotel in the area that offers a hot continental breakfast, which is why our hotel stays busy. We make sure to have a manager on duty in the breakfast and lobby area each morning to assist wiht breakfast duties. Sometimes guests are not aware as our management team wears suites instead of the breakfast attendant polo. Lastly, coffee is always available hot in the lobby and breakfast area 24 hours a day. Our team makes it fresh and can always make decaf in about 5 minutes upon request, as it is rarely requested we do not make it in the afternoons. We also have an abundance of salt and pepper shakers on the buffet line for guests and can always bring more upon request.
I really hope that you will consider using us in the future and appreciate your feedback, we will address all concerns with our team to strive to provide the best service possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hotel is dated and overall not very clean. I was disappointed as a Marriott Gold Member, I will NOT stay at this hotel again. The location was also a little difficult to get to.....it is a very congested area and traffic at any given time of the day in that area is bad. I was NOT impressed.

Room Tip: I would not stay here again
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to see your stay was anything less than perfect. Although we are an older hotel we do our best to exceed expectations in cleanliness and service. We are anticipating a renovation in 2014 and hope that you will give us another shot. We take our reviews seriously and would love athe opportunity to speak with you directly on specifics of your experience.
Thank you again for writing your review and we look forward to having you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is within 5 miles of the Austin Airport but also located close to I-35 for access to other locations. The breakfast was quite good and the room clean and well appointed. We only stayed on night so did not use the kitchen space but it was quite convenient. Ask for a room away from the elevators which are noisy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ball Ground, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed for the weekend attending the MotoGp race at Circuit of the Americas. The hotel location is perfect for getting to the airport, the track and downtown Austin quickly. We had a king suite, which we thought would be more spacious. The room was not spacious. For two people in the room, we were regularly on top of each other. There was not a good place to put our luggage, so we were stepping over bags. There was a small amount of room to get around the bed to the sofa area. If we had additional people in the room, it would have been very uncomfortable. The room itself was fairly clean and the rooms were quiet, we didn't hear people in the halls and we know the hotel was full. Breakfast was good. It was crowded for breakfast, again the hotel was full, but the food was available consistently when people came in. The flow of the breakfast set up should be looked at, you walk in and you can't just start getting fruit or any food because the plates are in the middle. Overall, we would consider staying here again for races.

Room Tip: We stayed in a king suite on the 2nd floor, it did not flow well for 2 people, it was hard to get ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel. We are very sorry for any inconveniences that you experienced while staying with us. We are glad to see you liked our location and the convience of getting to your multiple destinations. We are so sorry to hear your experience was less than perfect. I want to let you know that our rooms are due for a rennovation early 2014 and are 25% larger than the standard guest rooms. We appreciate any and all feedback and will take it into concideration. We hope that next time you visit Austin you will give us a second chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

absolutely fantastic hotel from top to bottom. Customer service Guest Relations top notch. Rooms spacious updated great breakfast clean stocked with plenty of towels blankets and pillows. Excellent experience will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Austin. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your time to let us know how your stay was. We are so happy to hear about your exellent experience! We are so glad we can provide you with a spacious room and our wonderful breakfast. Thank you again for letting us know how your stay was. We hope to see you soon the next time you are in Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The main reason I picked this hotel because I thought I know what to expect from Marriott properties and so far I never get disappointed till I stay here at the SpringHill Suites Austin South.

The room was outdated! The breakfast was very standard but not bad at all...the girl at the front desk when we checked in was nice and friendly... but just can't really stand with the room..it could've been much better... just shown some aging and outdated!! the carpet, the wall, the bathroom...the furniture.. just dull and didn't look so clean to me! sorry..!

Good thing we only stayed for 1 night...it would be nice if they pay attention more details to the updated room design within reasonable company budget... there's no bath gel in the shower (just the bar soap so for us who stayed with friends not really comfortable to share the soap..the bath gel would be more make sense to us)..no trash bean in the bathroom (there's one outside the bathroom under the sink) but would be nice to have one inside the bathroom too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad that you found our front desk associates friendly.
We are due for a renovation, which I think will solve nearly each concern you mentioned in your review. We are anticipating a full renovation in early 2014 so we do hope that you will give us another try at that time.
When Springhill Suites South was built in 2000 the highway was not developed like it is today in 2013, therefore we do our best to accomodate for those that are not used to the city. We have a few options to offer, most popular, moving to a room on the other side of the hotel.
We do have maps and addresses on ou website that show the distance from downtown and the airport. We also offer complimentary shuttles to the downtown area nightly for your pleasure.
We thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel, we will definitely have that 'new' hotel look in early 2014 so we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Austin South

Address: 4501 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 184 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Austin South is located just off IH-35 and is convenient to the airport, Barton Creek Square Mall, and University of Texas, San Marcos Premium Outlets and much more. It is 4 miles from downtown Austin and its many restaurants and entertainment hot-spots. Guest rooms feature separate living/sitting areas, microwaves and mini-fridges, and Marriott luxury bedding. Guests will delight in the complimentary new breakfast buffet, complimentary WiFi and on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your SpringHill Suites Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Austin South Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Austin South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.