We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always consistent for us” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Austin South

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Austin South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
SpringHill Suites Austin South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4501 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #92 of 182 hotels in Austin
Allen, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Always consistent for us”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stay here a couple times a year since it is close when we stay to visit our son in college. Although it is not in downtown, it is only a mile from his campus so it is very convenient. They always have things in order. Nothing over the top but a great value and it is consistently well run. On our last visit I found a nice chiprock sidewalk path to jog on. Breakfast is always busy but has a good variety that helps get the day started without having to pay extra at a restaurant. My wife only likes new or recently remodeled hotels and this one has met her requirements. SpringHill has been a good place for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are looking to receive a full renovation within the upcoming 12 months so I hope that you will give us a visit. Our breakfast is one of the main reasons our guests choose to stay with us, we are the only hotel in the area that offers an extensive breakfast including: scrambled and boiled eggs, deli meats, cheese tray, pastries, Texas shaped waffles, fresh fruits, cereals, yogurts and much more. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you the next time you visit Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    45
    21
    13
    8
See reviews for
35
20
7
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a well run Marriott property just off of I-10 North. The room was spacious and clean with a convenient mini kitchen and comfortable bed. The front desk staff was very friendly and recommended things to do and places to eat. They offer a free shuttle service to 6th Street in the evening, which we did not use but I thought it was a nice amenity. Overall it was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koekelberg, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

No wow factor but amore than decent hotel that gets a serious lift thanks to the nice and helpful staff including management. The staff was always hepful and management came by over breakfast to say 'hi' and talk to guests staying for longer. We were there for 6 days and had chosen the hotel for the location close to friends, the included breakfast and internet.
The breakfast was more than OK and included waffles, eggs, 2nd hot entree, yogurts, bagels, cereals etc.
The rooms are a bit old fashioned but not really dated - just do not expect a modern Springhill suites. Also the rooms are rather small in this context
The location is quite good for most people: halfway between downtown and the airport close to Hi-35.
Remarks: too few cupboards, hanging space etc; noisy AC and noise from freeway; ants in room problem (on the 6th floor)
Pro's: staff, breakfast, location, price, and inclusiveness of rate

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We recognize that it takes time to go back and write a review so we appreciate your attentiveness to our hotel. We have addressed the ants and have taken extra steps with our room inspections to assure this unique situation will not happen again. We have also completed some preventative maintenance to ensure the air conditioner is less noisy. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and the hospitality team as customer satisfaction is our #1 goal here at Springhill Suites Austin South. We look forward to having you stay again in the near future and thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I travelled to Austin to help my daughter out of a jam. After spending the day trying to get a key for her car, get it started, and get her settled in her new home. We were all exhausted. The jacuzzi helped ease our sore muscles, the pool was a great place to do a few laps to stretch those same muscles out, and the beds were an extremely comfortable place to finally get the rest we so sorely needed.

Breakfast is another story. The coffee tasted like cardboard and the "fried" eggs were an atrocious imitation. The waffles were good, but the line was long to make one. I settled for an english muffin with butter and honey.

Everyone we encountered at the front desk were friendly and helpful. One young lady even helped me find a bookstore. Kudos for that!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad that you found our front desk associates friendly. I see that overall you had a positive experience, however our goal is to exceed your expectations. We have many options in our breakfast such as Texas shaped waffles, boiled/scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, pastries, cheese platter, yogurt and much more. Thank you again for reviewing our hotel, we hope you will give us another try next time you're visiting Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is very dated Marriott property located near the Austin airport (@ 7 miles) and a quick run into downtown Austin. It sits amongst a cluster of other Marriott properties and is showings its age when compared to similar SpringHill Suites or competitive brands. The are modestly furnished and have not been updated to the new Marriott motif. The desk/work space is crowded and there was a single TV in the room. The bathrooms are very small when compared to competitive properties.

The bright spot is the professionalism of the front desk staff who greet you like a long lost cousin and their sunny disposition can almost block out the deficiencies of this property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKLewis, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay with us. While some would see this as a negative review for our hotel, I wanted to thank you for pointing out our staff service and courtesy that we show each and every guest. Our renovation is coming soon!--but I certainly did want to mention that in the meantime, we will absolutely be the cleanest and friendliest hotel around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed a couple nights (Thursday and Friday) for a job interview. The hotel's location to the job interview was close by. Easy access to the interstate. We had a room with a king size bed and a sleeper sofa. Enjoyed the breakfast buffet, which had eggs, waffles, sausage/bacon, cereal, pastries, toast, oatmeal, yogurt, milk, juice, coffee. The pool was nice. The spa (hot tub) was closed. Only problem we encountered was noise from kids on a swimming team who were staying at the hotel. You could hear noise coming from the room next door. The problem was resolved after contacting the hotel front desk. Will stay again if we are in Austin.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. Our goal is for your stay to exceed your expectations and are so sorry to hear about the noise. I am so glad that our staff could assist you in solving that issue. We are so glad that you enjoyed the size and variety of our breakfast as well. Thank you again for your time and we hope to see you the next time you come to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had a good stay! When we arrived, they gave us water bottles and a bag of snacks which was a nice touch. The room was very clean. The air conditioning worked well but when we got cold we couldn't turn it off. They did have extra blankets in the closet though. The beds were comfortable but small for two teenagers sharing a bed. The breakfast was better than many we've had at other hotels with a large variety to choose from. It wasn't too far from UT or downtown which we were touring. Love having the suite style room and have always enjoyed Springhill suites in other cities as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are so glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel, the cleanliness, and the breakfast we offer. Our breakfast is the largest in the area. Also, our hotel rooms are about 25% larger than the standard suite. Our goal is to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel around! Thank you again for your review. We hope that you will be back to visit very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Austin South

Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Austin South Hotel Austin
Springhill Suites Austin South Hotel
Springhill Suites Austin
Address: 4501 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Austin South 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Austin South is located just off IH-35 and is convenient to the airport, Barton Creek Square Mall, and University of Texas, San Marcos Premium Outlets and much more. It is 4 miles from downtown Austin and its many restaurants and entertainment hot-spots. Guest rooms feature separate living/sitting areas, microwaves and mini-fridges, and Marriott luxury bedding. Guests will delight in the complimentary new breakfast buffet, complimentary WiFi and on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your SpringHill Suites Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Austin South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.