We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is good, staff is AWESOME” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Austin South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Austin South to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Austin South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4501 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night's a Charm
Ranked #90 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Conroe, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel is good, staff is AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Convenient location, nice clean rooms, sofa beds, Paul Mitchell hair care products, indoor pool, breakfast is good, price is right. Here's the great part: The staff here is amazing. My daughters both had birthdays this week so I brought them with me on business so I wouldn't miss their big days. The staff went to the store and bought them a birthday card, and baked them cookies!! What a great tough to an already terrific visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you so much for letting us know about your stay. We wanted to thank you for pointing out our staff service and courtesy that we show each and every guest. We thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel, we hope to see you the next time you visit Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    55
    29
    15
    9
See reviews for
44
28
8
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

The hotel room is hot! We had to move to three different rooms and all three rooms were still hot! We ended up buying a fan. The bed was very uncomfortable. Before I booked the room, I read that the beds were pillowtop. YEAH RIGHT!!!! When I go back home, we're going to have to see a chriopractor! If I could have got my money back, I would have, and found another hotel. The front desk clerks were nice. The hotel cleaniness was ok. The restroom could've been cleaned better in all three restrooms. The pool was good. The whirlpool didn't work and was infested with bugs. The business center was ok. I was able to print tickets after going and asking for help three times.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKLewis, Manager at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we always appreciate our guests feedback. I certainly apologize concerning the temperature during your stay. We installed brand new A/C units in our rooms only a month ago, so I absolutely want to ensure they are in proper working order. Also, concerning our spa, with the location of the spa being outdoors, we will occasionally have bugs that will find their way into the spa, as with any body of water. We will work harder to check this more often. I certainly hope that you will give us another opportunity to make your next visit to Austin more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salado, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My colleagues and I stayed at this hotel for four days while attending a conference downtown. When we arrived the front desk staff welcomed us as if we were family arriving for a visit. Each day they greeted us and wished us a good day. When we returned, they spoke to us and asked about our day. They did this every time! They made suggestions regarding local restaurants and checked traffic for us (without us asking)! The room was comfortable, clean, and spacious. The breakfast was delicious...hot, fresh and a wide variety of items to choose from. Our conference was downtown, and while I-35 tends to back up during commute time, you can get to the Convention Center by going west from the hotel to S. Congress. Very quick and convenient!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you so much for your time to review our hotel. We are so glad that our staff went above and beyond to meet your needs. We want to make our guests feel welcomed everytime they stay at our hotel. Our goal at the Springhill Suites is to be the cleanest and friendliest. We are so sorry to hear about the traffic. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you soon the next time you visit Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This hotel was very clean, the staff very accommodating and the room was plenty big with very nice sitting area, larger bathrooms with seperate vanity area and then a seperate desk and bar area. It was the perfect spot and I will definetly look for SpringHill Suites locations for every trip we take in the future.

Room Tip: 3rd floor or higher to avoid the the 1st floor area as it is always busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Nuevo Leon, Mexico
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I went to this hotel for business and had good time. The room is not quite large but has everything you need, microwave, fridge, desk, fridge, etc. The pool and gym closes until 11 pm in case you want to work out late.

Room Tip: I did not try spa neither restaurant, actually the spa was out of service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your time at the Springhill Suites Austin South. We apologize of the inconvinence of the workout and pool area closing early. We hope to host you again one day, thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I just stayed there this weekend and the day after I left my body broke out with 12+ bedbug bites. I called the hotel and they basically blew me off. They told me they couldn't check the room because it was currently occupied. So that means the current guests are also getting chewed up by bedbugs.

DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the Bedbug Suite 610
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JKLewis, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a comment about our hotel. We are very sorry for any inconvenience that you experienced while staying with us. Please know that we took this matter very seriously and immediately called our national pest control company, Ecolab, to investigate this matter. Ecolab is trained to conduct a very thorough search and are unbiased in their findings with each call they receive. We have on record, documentation that shows no evidence of bed bugs for this, or any other room in our hotel.
We hope you will give us another try on your next trip to Austin. Thank you again for your comments.
Sincerely,
Kevin Lewis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmond, oklahoma
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Spent 3 nights here and enjoyed our stay- got one of the rooms with the whirlpool tub in the room and that was relaxing after a long day. Comfortable beds! Like the separated couch and work area with kitchen counter and refrigerator/microwave as well. Small but works well for 2 on a short stay. Standard breakfast - nothing special here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a whirlpool bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mara D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Austin South, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Our breakfast is one of the main reasons our guests choose to stay with us, we are the only hotel in the area that offers an extensive breakfast including: scrambled and boiled eggs, deli meats, cheese tray, pastries, Texas shaped waffles, fresh fruits, cereals, yogurts and much more. We are so sorry to hear that the room was small, our rooms are about 25% larger than the standard guest room. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you come to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Austin South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Austin South

Address: 4501 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Austin South 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Austin South is located just off IH-35 and is convenient to the airport, Barton Creek Square Mall, and University of Texas, San Marcos Premium Outlets and much more. It is 4 miles from downtown Austin and its many restaurants and entertainment hot-spots. Guest rooms feature separate living/sitting areas, microwaves and mini-fridges, and Marriott luxury bedding. Guests will delight in the complimentary new breakfast buffet, complimentary WiFi and on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Austin South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Austin South Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Austin South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.