We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. What you would expect from Marriott” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Austin Marriott South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Austin Marriott South to your Saves list
Austin Marriott South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4415 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #50 of 187 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. What you would expect from Marriott”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This was a nice hotel. Clean lobby rooms and dining area. The food was also very good.
This hotel is a category 5, the hotels next door are 4's and you can see why.
Staff were ALL courteous. "Can I help you" at every turn, actually say hello in the hall instead of putting their heads down. I felt very welcome.
We brought a 1 yr old, the basic King had space for the packnplay. Fridge was perfect for milk and leftovers.
Very happy with pick if this hotel. Would recommend to any other fellow traveler.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah P, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us with such positive feedback on our hotel. We are delighted to know that you had an exceptional experience and that are staff was able to accommodate your needs. We thank you for choosing to stay at the Austin Marriott South and look forward to you staying with us next time you visit Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    80
    25
    11
    9
See reviews for
51
45
9
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My son was getting married in Austin and had arranged for all attendees to stay at this hotel. We were pleasantly surprised by the friendly and helpful staff who treated us like we were VIPs. The lobby was very well done with comfortable couches and a huge fireplace, which we had no need of in 96 degree temperatures, and a wonderful bar and lounge for those after dinner drinks.
Our room was a good size, the bed was extremely comfortable and we even got our own small refrigerator. When we requested a roll-away for my grandson they quickly brought one to the room. And it wasn't just a cot with a thin mattress but a twin-sized comfortable bed!
One of the nicest amenities has to be their shuttle service. They brought us into town and back several times and were even going to drive us to the airport on departure but they couldn't make it back on time. And they did it all with a smile and friendly inquiries into how our day was and, of course, how the wedding went.
I would give the staff there 5 stars and would have rated the hotel 4.5 stars if their only pool hadn't been situated indoors.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the noise of the highway. Ours was on the third floor towards the back and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah P, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
We are glad to hear that you and your wedding party enjoyed your stay at the Austin Marriott South. We are pleased to receive the positive feedback on our friendly and accommodating staff. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This hotel had highs and lows. The lows were extremely slow service in lobby restaurant & bar, housekeeping only came to clean room once out of 4 days, pool closed during 1/2 our stay, and no vending in the ice/vending room on each floor. Pros-there were 2 really nice front desk staff members who helped us when our son got his hand stuck in the elevator door and we had one great banquet server for our rehearsal dinner. The team here far outweighs the hotel itself.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah P, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your honest and constructive review. We really appreciate your comments, because it is through these reviews that we can meet our challenges head on. We will look into the issues that you have outlined, meet with our department managers and reinforce our company policies that center on 'positive guest satisfaction.' We apologize for the problem you encountered throughout your stay but hope that we can welcome you again to Austin Marriott South.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Like all the Marriott Hotels I have stayed at they have a great level of quality that I know that I can depend on. It was right off the Highway and we were able to get to everything we needed to quickly. The beds and rooms were clean and comfortable. I can not rate them any higher because they have not updated the Hotel like a lot of others have done in the Marriott chain. It was good for the price that we paid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah P, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write an elaborate review and we are delighted to hear that you had an overall great stay. We love that our location was very convenient for you throughout your stay and found our beds to be super comfortable. We take pride in our mission statement, to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel. Please come back and see us again soon and thank you again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Right off of the main highway, it has an excellent location just south of downtown Austin. The hotel was very nice and very clean. If you are looking to lay by the pool, this is not the place. They only have an indoor pool/hot tub, though it was very nice. The exercise room was also very updated...they offered complimentary fruit and granola bars for guests working out. The breakfast buffet was great. But the staff was exceptional! Very friendly!! Would definitely recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah P, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
We appreciate your great review and are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be happy to pass on your note regarding our friendly staff here at Austin Marriott South. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property on your next visit to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossett
Top Contributor
376 reviews 376 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

If your business or pleasure takes you to south Austin, this is a great location. It is well staffed with good amenities. We stayed here for several nights and were very pleased with the cleanliness and !comfort

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah P, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We would like to thank you for being a loyal guest to our property. It is great to hear our staff has been friendly and accommodating throughout your entire stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice place if U don't need 2 B rt in the heart of everything. Not far from downtown or the south Austin attractions. They have a free shuttle that will drop U off downtown. The only downfall was the pool was inside. I guess a perk 4 the business traveler who likes 2 swim but we like a pool 2 hang @. I would totally stay again. Also didn't have 2 pay 2 park car so that was a bargain & convenient. Service was much more accommodating than a much more expensive place we stayed downtown! Rooms are light & bright & clean. I would def stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah P, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback and review. Your feedback is important and I will be sure to recognize our team for a job well done. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and found our location to be convenient, as well as the complimentary parking. On behalf of the staff, we would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments, and we look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Austin Marriott South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Marriott South

Address: 4415 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Austin
#31 Family Hotel in Austin
#49 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austin Marriott South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Austin Marriott South is just a short drive from the State Capitol, Austin’s exciting live music scene on 6th Street, or any downtown attraction. Guest rooms feature a refrigerator, high-speed Internet Access, flat screen TVs, and luxury bedding. The property offers complimentary parking and features an on-site restaurant, the Limestone Lounge & Kitchen, as well as an indoor pool and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Austin Marriott South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Marriott South Hotel Austin
Marriott Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin Marriott South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.