We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Austin Marriott South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Austin Marriott South to your Saves list
Austin Marriott South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4415 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #53 of 191 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Decent but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed for two days. The service was excellent. The room on the 5th floor was fairly quiet although we could hear some traffic from the interstate at night. The room was boring and needs an update. I think the entire hotel is dated and could use a facelift. The price of the room was rather high compared to other Marriott brands and everything seemed to be an extra charge. There is no free breakfast here. The gym room, indoor pool, hot tub and parking garage was a nice feature. The room had a really small coffee maker, refrigerator, safe and flat screen TV that was probably original to the construction of the hotel. The bottle of water in the room was "provided for my convenience, but if consumed it was $3.50" Nice! There was no complimentary coffee in the lobby. I brought in coffee from a nearby restaurant in the morning because I wasn't sure if they were going to charge me if I used the coffee in the room. The one thing that was not good was a q-tip on the floor that was sticking out from under the closet door. It was still there when we returned to the room this afternoon - and the room was cleaned while we were out. Nasty, but not worth complaining to management about. it's still there at checkout time. Again, a good rating for service but flaws that can be typical of any hotel.dropped the score. I wouldn't stay here again because there are other Marriott brands that are a better value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahMAustin, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. In an effort to provide 100% guest satisfaction we welcome your feedback. We are delighted to hear that our service was excellent, but apologize for any inconvenience or confusion that our guest room setup may have caused .We do provide complimentary coffee and tea in all the sleeping rooms. We are a full-service property that was completely renovated in 2009 and are equipped with a full restaraunt and bar that includes a daily breakfast buffet at a charge. We strive to provide the cleanest and friendliest hotel possible. We welcome the opportunity to show you our genuine desire to improve on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    103
    33
    11
    10
See reviews for
59
55
10
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
167 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

When we are traveling and need to catch a plane early we stay here. Since we live at the north end of Austin this hotel is convienent to the airport and they will give you a ride to the airport. The hotel is very nice and the staff is friendly. They have an excellent restaurant so you don't even have to leave for dinner unless you want to.

On another occassion after my husband's surgery, we stayed there for a couple of days so he could use the elevator instead of climbing stairs at home. Again, they couldn't have been nicer or more helpful.

Room Tip: the sign is a little hard to see when you are coming north on the frontage road to I35. However, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahMAustin, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to send us a review and are happy to be your "home away from home!" We would like to thank you for being a loyal guest to our property. It is great to hear our staff has been friendly and accomodating to you and your husband. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next mini retreat in Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
225 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed here one night last week for business. Everyone was very friendly and accomodating. The room was nice and comfortable, nothing special. The front desk clerk originally had me facing the interstate but moved me to a "better view" which was of a construction site.

The concierge lounge was also a nice treat for elite members, and the staff working there were also very friendly.

My only issue (besides the view) was it is not the easiest hotel to find and get to, which you may think is surprising considering it's right off the interstate. It's also an "older" property and some of the decor is a bit outdated, and there are no restaurants within walking distance of this property.

Overall however and nice stay, and I would definitely stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahMAustin, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to send us a review! We are happy to hear our staff was friendly and accomodating. We are located right off the highway and apologize if there was difficulty in locating us. We are very happy you found us and would love the chance to welcome you back on your next visit to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel is south of downtown and if you're planning to visit Austin, make sure you understand where you need to be and when, because the traffic is a bear. If you're wanting an attractively-priced Marriott and are going to be downtown or south, then this is an excellent choice.

It's an older property, but it's quite comfortable. The beds were just fine and I appreciated the fact that you could crank the room temperature down to 64 degrees (which my wife would never let me do).

The work area was quite good, with a table on wheels that rolled out, allowing you to position it however you like. It was roomy enough to hold my laptop and my room service tray.

Speaking of room service, I'd say it was better than average, but not stellar. I had a nice chicken in orange-chipotle glaze that was tasty, but found the rice uninteresting.

The concierge lounge was one of the better ones I've seen, with a full breakfast for Elite members and a good selection of teas and soft drinks.

The workout area is smallish, but serviceable, and the hotel has an indoor pool if you're there with kids (who always love indoor pools).

When I find myself downtown or south, I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahMAustin, Sarah M at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to send us a review and are thrilled to hear you had a pleasant experience. We are happy you experienced much that our hotel has to offer from services to amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Austin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This is my fourth stay here for a yearly November conference. It is an outstanding venue that meets Marriott's usual standards for comfort. The location off of IH 35 is among a cluster of other hotels. The bar and restaurant offer a wide selection which is good, as there is NOTHING around the hotel for eating within walking distance. This is a great place for an in-hotel meeting; meet, sleep, eat and drink here as the Austin traffic is attrocious for venturing out! I'm a big Marriott fan for a good night's sleep. Free parking in the garage or parking lot. Excellent service at the front desk. Breakfast here was surprisingly reasonable in price and very good in quality. As this is our meeting venue of choice, I'll be back.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahMAustin, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and great review! We are glad you took advantage of our full-service amenities. We are a great location for meetings, equipped with approximately 10,000 sq. feet of meeting space, a full restaurant and bar and plenty of free parking. I will be sure to share your great experience with our staff. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back again in November!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houstonburbs
Level Contributor
279 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

It is always a pleasure to stay at this Marriott Hotel when we come for business. There is a very helpful and friendly staff employed there. We always enjoy staying there, and shall stay again when we come again! We highly recommend this location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahMAustin, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would like to thank you for being a loyal guest. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have stayed at many Marriott properties in the past and this one night stay at Marriott South was just a little bit below average for a full-service Marriott hotel. I expect the rooms to be just a little nicer than a Marriott Courtyard and I expect the jacquzzi to be better at full-service Marriott's. The room had dirty furniture (spots, stains, etc). The jacuzzi was not very good - the jets were placed too low and low volume of output. There was a nasty looking tray of food from room service left out in the hallway overnight and I asked staff three times to have someone go pick it up before they finally did.

The complimentary breakfast was mediocre. On the other hand, the staff was very polite and accomodating - they were originally only going to give me one complimentary pass for breakfast but I was able to get two (for the both of us). There was no free coffe in the lobby like one would find at a Marriott Courtyard but the staff at the bar gave me some free coffee.

Even though staff was nice, the amenities, furniture in the room, pool & jacuzzi area were below par in my opinion, based on my previous stays at other Marriott properties.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the Interstate - the front of the hotel is facing the service road f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahMAustin, Sales Coordinator at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay. While we are happy to hear our staff was friendly, we apologize for not exceeding your expecations. I have shared your feedback with our team to make improvements. We hope to have the opportunity to impress you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
South Austin
Residence Inn Austin South
South Austin
Homewood Suites by Hilton Austin South
Courtyard Austin South
#82 of 191 in Austin
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
South Austin
Omni Austin at South Park
Omni Austin at South Park
#33 of 191 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austin Marriott South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Marriott South

Address: 4415 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Austin
#42 Family Hotel in Austin
#53 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austin Marriott South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Austin Marriott South is just a short drive from the State Capitol, Austin’s exciting live music scene on 6th Street, or any downtown attraction. Guest rooms feature a refrigerator, high-speed Internet Access, flat screen TVs, and luxury bedding. The property offers complimentary parking and features an on-site restaurant, the Limestone Lounge & Kitchen, as well as an indoor pool and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Austin Marriott South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Marriott South Hotel Austin
Marriott Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin Marriott South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.