We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So accomodating!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Austin Marriott South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Austin Marriott South to your Saves list
Austin Marriott South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4415 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #52 of 188 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersBronze level
houstonburbs
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“So accomodating!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

A yearly business trip brings us to Austin TX, and we have the priviledge of staying at the Marriott location. The staff works so hard to be sure that their guests are well taken care of and we wante for nothing. Thanks to all of you!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhaas, General Manager at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
"Service Excellence" is our #1 priortity here at the Marriott and am glad to hear it was clearly demonstrated during your recent stay with us. Your feedback is important and I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. I will be sure to recognize the team for a job well done and will look forward to welcoming you back to the Marriott on your next visit to Austin.
Sincerely,
Brad Haas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    83
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
52
45
9
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Stayed at the Austin Marriott South during a friend's wedding weekend. The visit was easy, and the front desk was helpful, delivering gift baskets immediately upon request.

The room (2 Q beds) was tight, and the bathroom a bit small with no extras to make you feel like you were really escaping somewhere special. No fan in the bathroom made multiple showers and getting ready a little difficult.
The beds were noisy, sounded like there were pads under the sheets that made any movement during the night sound extra loud. The beds themselves comfortable, though the pillows a bit hard.

Restaurant in the lobby was good, and the bar was just turning on the football when we had to leave - but it looked like a good time!

The hotel is directly off the Interstate-35 Frontage Rd, which made for quite a bit of highway noise through the night. The only easily accessible entrance is off this frontage road also, which happens to get highly congested at unexplained times of day/night, so plan some extra time!

The hotel mentioned they provided a free shuttle to downtown Austin, about a 10 min drive, which would have been an extraordinary benefit had we managed to take advantage of it. This is a GREAT way to explore the city of Austin and enjoy it to the fullest!

All together the room was very nice and the hotel accommodating, with a few kinks to be worked out to merit the price of the rooms.

Room Tip: Away from the frontage road, save yourself from the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhaas, General Manager at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and congratulations to your friend on their wedding day! I hope you have another chance to visit us in the future and take advantage of our shuttle service downtown in the evening. Thank you for your business and for your comments.
Sincerely,
Brad Haas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Warm, comfortable, all the best of Marriott, including a lively bar / restaurant.

However, if you're like me and want to escape the day with a movie or tv - it's an exhausting experience. Snowy screens, unresponsive remotes, many blank channels to move through just to get something to watch. movies that don't load, programming directed toward every possible sports station available, yet lacking some of the network and all of the women's preferences.

After 2 years of staying at this hotel, no action. Why?

Room Tip: Rooms appear to be the same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhaas, General Manager at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, November 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to send in your feedback. As a frequent guest with us over the past 2 years we certainly value your opinion. I am happy to hear you find our facility warm and confortable. I am also happy to report that we have been working on upgrading our technology in the rooms. Last month we added WiFi access in all rooms and this month he have a new HD system and channel line up being added to the hotel. We hope you enjoy this added feature on your next trip to Austin.
All the best,
Brad Haas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Pros: Very pretty property, very well maintained, and appointed. The staff is amongst the most friendly I've ever encountered and the overall condition is top-notch. The rooms are spacious w/o being huge, the amenities are well above average, and I found the service to be speedy and polite. The restaurant and bar are very nice, they serve great products, and the staff (again) are very accommodating. The best part is the value - for the money, I don't think you can find a better property in Austin, Texas!

Cons: About the only 'cons' I have with the place is that it's hard to if you're traveling down from north of Austin and that the "concierge" level rooms aren't worth the money. You have to pass the property, go down a service road for quite a while, then U-turn and head back north. In-and-of itself, that's not a huge issue, but the Marriott corporation has at least 4 other properties that you must pass before you get to this 'flagship' location and it's confusing! Twice on this last trip, I stopped at the 'wrong' Marriott! Also, the "concierge level" rooms are a rip-off....all you get is access to a 'lounge' that has soft drinks, coffee, some cheap snacks, and a newspaper. Yes, it's all free, but it's certainly not worth any additional expense, in my opinion.

Other than that, I cannot recommend this location highly enough. GREAT value!

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother upgrading to the "concierge floor" - all you get is a fairly stocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhaas, General Manager at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to share with the staff such a wonderful review. This feedback will most certainly be the highlight of their day! I hope to welcome you back to the Marriott on your next trip to Austin. I appreciate your Marriott loyalty.
Sincerely,
Brad Haas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. When we checked in, the AC had been leaking water and the floor was soggy and gross. Called the front desk to be asked to be moved to another room, and within 5 minutes they delivered new keys to us for a room 2 doors down. Great service!

Apart from that, it was clean and quiet, though a bit far from downtown (10 minute drive). Definitely nothing within walking distance.

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhaas, General Manager at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you for writing in with your comments. I sincerely apologize for the issue you experienced with the AC but am very glad we were able to resolve it quickly. Our goal is to provide you with A+ service and I am happy to see we accomplished that in your case. I was also happy to hear you found all to be clean and quiet. Overall sounds like a pleasant stay. I appreciate your business and hope you you stay again with us on future visits to Austin.
Respectfully,
Brad Haas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I'm not saying this hotel is a 5 star, it's a regular Marriott. But the great value is it's defining quality. We only stayed one night but we would definitely use this hotel again anytime we need to stay in Austin. It was quiet which is a huge plus for me since I can't fall asleep with ANY noise. The bedding was also great. The shuttle that goes until 11pm was an awesome (and free) way to get downtown on a Saturday night. Make sure to tip the driver for the service though!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhaas, General Manager at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
So happy to hear your brief trip to Austin was positive. I value your feedback and sincerely hope you will stay again with us during future visits to Austin. Your marriott loyalty is appreciated and on behalf of the entire team here... Thank you for choosing Marriott!
Sincerely,
Brad Haas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, TX
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I have often stayed at this Marriott Austin South. Easy access to Austin and everywhere beyond, nice hotel, always spotlessly clean and inviting. Check-in was a bit iffy this time, asked my name and pulled up another reservation with a similar name. Got that straightened out, then was given a room key and went on my merry way. Key did not work, so trip back down to front desk, had to wait then was given a replacement key without even an I'm sorry for the inconvenience. Hmmm.

Room was spotless as always, bed super comfy as well. I did notice, however, that there was no vanity kit in the bathroom (not that I needed one, just noticed that there wasn't one). Upon check-out, I did ask the front desk who let me know that they have them for the asking, but you do have to ask.

Small things that can make a difference. Would I stay there again? Yes, and am sure that I will. Could front desk personnel be a bit more customer service oriented? Maybe so.

Room Tip: Have stayed on both sides of hotel - either facing interstate or not, and all rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhaas, General Manager at Austin Marriott South, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Very happy to hear you considered your stay to be clean and inviting. We pride ourselves on cleanliness and I am glad it impacted your stay. I did acknowledge your concerns about your checkin experience with the staff and will be sure they brush up on those details. We want every portion of your stay to be plsant and will be ready for your next stay. Thank you for your feedback and for your continued Marriott loyalty.
Brad Haas
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Austin Marriott South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austin Marriott South

Address: 4415 South IH-35, Austin, TX 78744
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Austin
#30 Family Hotel in Austin
#52 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Austin Marriott South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Austin Marriott South is just a short drive from the State Capitol, Austin’s exciting live music scene on 6th Street, or any downtown attraction. Guest rooms feature a refrigerator, high-speed Internet Access, flat screen TVs, and luxury bedding. The property offers complimentary parking and features an on-site restaurant, the Limestone Lounge & Kitchen, as well as an indoor pool and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Austin Marriott South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austin Marriott South Hotel Austin
Marriott Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Austin Marriott South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.