We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Austin - Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Austin - Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin - Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7712 E Riverside Dr, Austin, TX 78744 (South Austin)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park, Stay & Go
Ranked #68 of 187 Hotels in Austin
League City, TX
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Stayed here for a week while my son attended the Camp Half-Blood at McKinney Falls State Park. Hotel was very clean. I had a room on the 5th floor with a small kitchenette (microwave, small fridge, sink) which was perfect for our stay. We stayed from a Sunday until the following Saturday -- and on Monday - Thursday evenings the hotel provided a light supper in the lobby (always provided a salad, entree changed each night -- stew & rice, spaghetti and meatballs, ...). In addition to the free breakfast in the mornings, there weren't many meals we had to pay for. The room we had was very spacious with a king bed, sitting area with small sleeper sofa, desk, and small kitchen area. This hotel was across Highway 183 from the airport, so while I was working all day in the hotel room I could watch the planes land and takeoff. It was VERY close to McKinney Falls SP -- only about a 15 minute drive down 183, and no traffic. We didn't use the pool, but it looked clean. Guests also had access to a basketball court and tennis court. Will definitely stay here again next year for the camp!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    57
    16
    18
    3
See reviews for
38
33
12
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

It's nice to frequent hotel chain where one can depend on the quality of the accommodations. This Hampton met our expectations on almost all accounts. The one glitch was the clock in our room that we didn't realize was set to the wrong time. As a result we missed breakfast. However when we told the front desk and asked if they could provide an alternative, they provided a brown bag with their breakfast on the go snacks.

This Hampton is close to the airport but with a car, it isn't that far of a drive into downtown Austin. And if one doesn't need to stay in the downtown location, the costs are less.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

My husband, 2 year old son and I had a great stay at the Hampton Inn and Suites. We had a king room over looking the pool (which was entertaining to my son). The room was spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel looked new or newly updated. The breakfast had a large selection (fried eggs, biscuits, canadian bacon, fruit, cereal, yogurt, etc.). My only complaint is that the canadian bacon was very tough and overdone. For dinner, the night before, we took a short drive back to I-35 and went south where we soon found several restaurants. My son was also thrilled to see an occassional airplane when looking out our hotel window. We definitely plan to stay there again.

  • Liked — They were clean and modern.
  • Disliked — The canadian bacon was over cooked.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, MA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

I was in town to visit friends and see a concert. Austin is a nice place, very clean and the people are friendly. When I checked in, my room was not ready and it appeared at first that maybe no room was available for me though I had a reservation. I am also a Hilton rewards member and Hampton Inn is part of this. When you stay at a Garden Inn, you usually get some freebies for being a member but I received nothing at this place. The people working the counter were friendly but that was not the issue here. Why make an effort to stay at the place if you're not going to get rewarded especially when you can stay somewhere else that's nice and less expensive? I was disappointed with that. Well, I did get my room but I had to wait. The manager couldn't tell on their computer system if my room was ready or not so she went upstairs to check. Getting to my room was delayed but eventually I got there. For a while, I thought I might be out of luck. The room was fine and comfortable. The free breakfast was nice also, the usual continental type with cereal, fruits, waffles and so forth.

  • Liked — close to airport
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2008

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for one night. The night before we were flying home so we wanted to be near the airport. Honestly, I would have no qualms about staying here for our whole Austin vacation next time. We had a car so we could drive to downtown and it was only around 15 minutes to get there. They had free internet in the rooms, a full, hot, good breakfast, fruit and drinks (coffee, tea, hot cocoa) available all of the time, comfortable beds. It was very clean. It is in a nice area. Our room had a view of downtown. The front desk people were very nice and helpful. The wake up call feature on our phone wasn't working so we called and they set it and made sure it was correct (and it was). There are basketball courts and a nice pool there as well. We stayed at the Austin Omni (see review) and it was nice but a LOT more money so if you are looking to stay at a really nice place for a good price, this is it.

  • Liked — Free internet, clean, nice rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, wi
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2008

We spent the winter in Austin but the house we rented was already rented out for the SXSW festival. Somehow we got our dates mixed up and came home to find the festival renters still in our house! Luckily it was the last day of the festival and we were able to get a room at this Hampton Inn, not far from the house. The room was clean and quiet. They were doing some maintenance in the front so the main door was inaccessible, but it was not a problem. We spent a very comfortable night there.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

The hotel is 5 year old but is kept very well and feels new. We were given a handicapped room next to the elevator and were initially concerned that it would be noisy but it turned out to be unfound. The room is quite large, I don't konw if it is because it is a handicapped room. The hotel is a little bit of a drive into downtown Austin but not too bad at all. We liked it so much we decided to stay an extra night. There was a bit of a confusion with the rate of our last night's stay but it was utimately resolved to our satisfaction in a timely manner. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Austin - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Austin - Airport

Address: 7712 E Riverside Dr, Austin, TX 78744
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in Austin
#56 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Austin - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only one mile from the Austin Bergstrom International Airport, our Hampton Inn hotel is located off Highway 71 and provides you with a convenient while comfortable and clean stay. We offer free breakfast and complimentary WiFi to make you feel right at home. Want to visit Austin attractions? We are only a short drive away from the University of Texas Austin and the State Capitol. Visit the Hampton Inn and Suites Austin Airport hotel today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Austin - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Austin - Airport Hotel Austin
Austin Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Austin - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.