We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insanely Good!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hopdoddy

Hopdoddy
1400 South Congress Avenue, Ste A190, Austin, TX 78704 (Formerly HopDoddy)
5122437505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 2,938 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Insanely Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

So, I search for great burgers all the time. Because of my employment I travel around the country and I am always looking for the best burgers. I can say without hesitation, the burger I ate here was easily one of the best I have had. It was cooked and seasoned perfectly. The bun was dense but soft. The toppings were explosive but not overpowering. Burger nirvana. The queso fries were pretty good but not exceptional. I also had a tres leches shake that was ridiculously good. I went during lunch time and waited in line almost 20 minutes to order, but it was well worth the wait. The place was kind of loud, filled with trendy hipsters mostly in their 20's. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    165
    36
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Be ready for this experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

What you have to know about this place is that you'll most probably have to wait for quite a long time - depending on when you go - before being assigned a table and then served. I went with two friends on a Thursday around 12 and we had to wait for about 30 minutes. But it's totally worth it!!! The prices are above average but the quality is here. Love their shakes and their parmesan truffle fries! Haven't tried their burgers yet, but they look delicious - they bake their own buns!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best burgers ever and gluten-free buns”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The food here is amazing. These are the best burgers anywhere, with a real home-made quality. They also offer gluten-free buns which is great to see, and my coeliac son declared these the best burgers he's ever had. The process of lining up and ordering is a bit tedious, but it is worth it in the end.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best burgers that I've tasted and the atmosphere was amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I found this place while looking for places to eat with a group of friends while in Austin! I saw this on tripadvisor and saw the reviews were great so we chose this place. The moment we walked in we recievied excellent customer service!
Overall, I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND this to anyone. Although the prices may be a little pricy, it is TOTALLY worth it for the quality of the burgers!
I would suggest the poblano burger and chili con queso with fries!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands Tx
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great eats and so much fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our daughter will be attending UT in the fall and we decided this was a good choice to get a feel for local food. The two greeters at the door were so helpful. They gave us their suggestions and they were spot on! We waited about 10 min. to actually get in the main door. We then had to get on a line to order our food (that was about another 10 min.) We gave our order and a waitress got us our table while we got our drinks. The burgers were fantastic. The turkey burger was my favorite and the queso was to die for, especially dipping the fries in that stuff...heaven! Oh yeah we topped it of with an oreo shake. Everyone was so friendly at this place. The atmosphere was fun but be warned, crowded and you could feel a little claustrophobic at some of the tables. I will definitely be back!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopdoddy also viewed

 

Been to Hopdoddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopdoddy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.