We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burgers to die for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hopdoddy

Hopdoddy
1400 South Congress Avenue, Ste A190, Austin, TX 78704 (Formerly HopDoddy)
5122437505
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 3,160 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $5 - $12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Burgers to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Visited with a colleague in June 2012 - Thursday night ~7pm, already bustling. Seated by friendly waitress almost immediately after we wandered up to the counter to order food. Outdoor seating available, but inside is recommended for those who like to enjoy burgers in a relatively cool environment.

Had the Kobe beef burger - hands down of of the best burgers I've had - it almost melts in your mouth, cutting a fine line between that, good texture and plenty of flavour. Around $10 for the burger itself. Fries were pretty good, thin and dressed with just enough seaweed (I think) to make it stand out from the more traditional fare. Iced margherita was nice too on a hot summer night.

Definitely worth a visit - particularly at this price point!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    146
    31
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“By far my top 3 spots in Austin on this visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

OMG! The burgers were absolutely delicious! I loved that they have an Ahi Tuna burger! The atmosphere is perfect. We stood in line for about 10 minutues and was then given the option of ordering drinks at the bar before we stood in line to order the food (great concept! Everything is better with a drink in hand!). After we ordered our food we were assigned a table and our food was brought to us. Each of us had different burgers and we all loved them.

We were a group of 4 adults and a baby. They were extremely baby friendly even at 10 p.m! We had a high chair and the bathroom has a clean metal change table. Also.. they have milkshakes. MMM! Pricing was also quite reasonable.. burgers are $8 on average and the tuna burger was $12.

This is one spot I'm dreaming about going back to!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“FUN in So.Congress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Loved this place!! Hamburgers are outstanding and drinks are delish! Definitely a must if your are visiting Austin!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Great Concept; Excellent Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Standing in line waiting to order a burger is improved significantly with a craft pilsner (or beverage of choice) in hand, which is how things are done at Hopdoddy. There are elbow height tables to put you beer on, and time to thoroughly read the limited but interesting menu of burgers and salads.

This is a burger place. If you want something other than a burger and/or salad, go elsewhere.

As you reach the front of the line a table is assigned by number. You then order and find your table. Your order comes to you when it is ready. Several reviews mentioned indifferent service. From the time I sat down until I left, a relaxed stream of attractive young people with warm smiles filed by my table to be sure I had everything I needed. One took my stub to validate my parking; another hustled the extra onions I’d ordered but did not come with my burger, another smile was right there when I was ready for a second beer. Aside from not getting the onions right the first time, the service could not have been better.

I persist in the notion a burger place worth it’s salt ought to offer relish at least as a option, but even without it, once the extra onions showed up, this was an excellent burger. I ordered medium, and it was perhaps on the rare side of that, the standard for ground beef being different, in my opinion, than for solid meats, but it was still terrific. Like nearly any good burger it is impossible put it down once you’re half way through without reassembly being required, but with a roll of paper towels at each table, this presents no problem. The skin-on fries were as good as fries get.

A $5 draft in a burger place seems a bit high, particularly since I doubt the chilled, stemmed, margarita style beer glass held a full pint… then again it went down very smoothly so I can’t be sure. Food prices seemed good value.

The style; the loud, lively, happy atmosphere; the food; all of it made this as good a burger place as I can recall. As a burger lover, Hopdoddy will an early stop, when I make it back to Austin.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Best Burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

I don't eat meat often, but when I do I go to HopDoddy's! Burgers are quality meat and fresh baked buns. It gets crowded at meal times so go early. Definitely an Austin "must".

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hopdoddy also viewed

 

Been to Hopdoddy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hopdoddy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.