We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG!! How is this place still open!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn North Austin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn North Austin to your Saves list
Quality Inn North Austin
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6911 N Interstate Hwy 35, Austin, TX 78752 (Formerly North Austin Plaza Hotel and Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #153 of 187 Hotels in Austin
1 review
“OMG!! How is this place still open!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place is ran like a bad circus!! I felt like I had walked into the set of "A nightmare on Elm Street". Never again will I stay in this place. The room was nasty with a musty smell and I had unwanted visitors (Cockroaches). The carpet was old and run down and the room looked like there had been a fight from all the bad patching jobs in the drywall. To say in today's time where flat screens are the norm, in my room I had a TV from 1982 with very poor reception.

Room Tip: Do not pick any rooms here, especially 158
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, General Manager at Quality Inn North Austin, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I noticed you participated in our survey after you checked out and it seems as though you were very disappointed with your stay. I would like to sincerely apologize for the bad experience you encountered while staying here.
In your comment you mention that you thought the room was nasty and had a musty smell, bad patching jobs in the dry wall. I will definitely get with my housekeeping and maintenance department. I want them to make sure that our rooms are perfect; I want all my guests to feel safe and comfortable when staying at the Quality Inn North Austin Texas.
I will review all your comments with our staff, pest control company and address these issues immediately because of your feedback. We appreciate you and your business at our hotel. I hope to see you in the future and again, thank you for choosing us.

Best Regards,
Collin Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    40
    45
    35
    71
See reviews for
40
62
41
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Potosi, Mexico
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

a dirty place and neglected. Very disappointing, they only made the room one of the four days we spent there, they only went into the room to steal some meaningless things. We had problems with the door to the room, the toilets, water and cleaning. Not recommended.

Room Tip: Do not stay there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

My work crew and I stayed here for 4 days. They got a room on the south side of the motel that was recently remodeled and not bad. Just a basic no frills motel room. My room was on the north side and it was horrible. Dirty carpets, mold in the shower, paint peeling off the walls. The door had been kicked in so many times it would just barely close. Every night there was a line of cars going to several of the rooms on this side and things didn't quiet down until around 3 am. I complained after the first night and the clerk told me that because of the remodel, there were no other rooms available. After the 3rd night I went back to the desk to complain and the manager was there. He was very helpful and put me in a room on the south side that had just been remodeled and had been empty all along. I know because it was right above my crew's room.

Room Tip: Stay on the south side. If they put you on the north side, LEAVE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

Definitely nothing to write home about. It's a Quality Inn, basically it's what you think it'll be. Rooms were average, not extremely clean, but not offensive. It's pretty far from downtown, so unless you have a car, I'd avoid it. Didn't get to swim in the pool cause they were working on it... it looked decent though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry G, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn North Austin, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Dear CurtisTalls,

We really do appreciate the time you took to write a review.

A majority of our rooms have been renovated and we still have quite a few to go. I suspect you may have stayed in an older room, but regardless of new or old, cleanliness is most important. I always send reviews to the other managers when it's department specific, and we'll be emphasizing the final inspection of a room before it returns to our inventory.


Thank you again for the feedback and I hope you might consider staying with us again should you return to Austin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

The online pictures of this hotel are very misleading. The rooms are really old and dark. The mini fridge didn't work. The pool lights didn't work at night. The staff didn't refresh our toiletries or towels during our stay. The only positive part about this hotel was its location, a quick 5 minute drive downtown. To add to our bad experience, the hotel didn't have our reservation on arrival and blamed it on booking.com; however, I've booked hotels even overseas via that site and never had a similar issue. I'll never stay there again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Manager at Quality Inn North Austin, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Argelia A,

Thank you for posting up a review on TripAdvisor.

I'm sorry if you thought our pictures online were misleading. We would never choose to deceive a guest and the pictures were taken by one of our own staff members quite recently. Currently, most of our rooms are in the middle of renovations, and I'm sorry if you weren't able to book one of our newer rooms. I understand how important the appearance of a guest's room is.

Third party reservation websites (including Booking.com and Expedia/Hotels.com) send us reservations after they've been booked. Unfortunately, sometimes a reservation does not get sent to us properly and it can cause some distress. I'm very sorry my staff couldn't locate the reservation but I'm certainly glad we were able to accommodate you.

Hopefully you might consider staying with us again (in one of our new rooms!) in the future. Once again, thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

In the morning after the first night, I noticed I got these insect bites. I don't know if they were bed bugs. It's pretty swollen and has pus blisters. Bathroom floor had paint. It was really bad for $80 a night. The second night I woke up because the bites were itching.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Manager at Quality Inn North Austin, responded to this review, September 9, 2014
Dear Swim B,

First off, I'm very sorry you didn't have a good experience at our hotel and any part we played in it. I read TripAdvisor reviews to all of my staff members and they serve as huge opportunities where we can improve our service. With that being said, bed bugs are a very serious issue for hotels. We act immediately when we hear a guest voice concerns about their possible presence and we also have regular inspections. So far the inspections from the pest professionals have shown no rooms with any current bed bug activity. Be that as it may, I'm still concerned about your stay and I want to prevent any guest from ever having a poor experience.

On a brighter note, we've renovated quite a few rooms now and our renovations are still ongoing. Perhaps in the future you might consider us, and I promise you we'll use your review to better our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craponne, Rhone-Alpes, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I spent here 2 nights...unfortunately i didn't check room before booking...it was a disaster. Room is noisy, very dirty. Carpets are very dirty also. In fact since I travel in united states (more than 25 years every summer)...it is the worth room I slept in ...The price is cheap...but i'd rather go anywhere else...even in a motel. The bathroom was absolutely terrible .

Room Tip: please check the room before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry G, Manager at Quality Inn North Austin, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Dear Regis V,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

You mentioned the room was dirty and noisy. If we caused any inconvenience during your travels I'm very sorry. I shared your review with my housekeeping department. If you wish to speak to me about your stay, please call or email me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn North Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn North Austin

Address: 6911 N Interstate Hwy 35, Austin, TX 78752 (Formerly North Austin Plaza Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn North Austin 2*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn North Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Austin Plaza Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn North Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.