We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible-avoid at all costs!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn North Austin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn North Austin to your Saves list
Quality Inn North Austin
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6911 N Interstate Hwy 35, Austin, TX 78752 (Formerly North Austin Plaza Hotel and Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #153 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Terrible-avoid at all costs!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I had hot water issues (no hot water) for four out of the five days I stayed here. I was suppose to stay seven nights but left as soon as I could and rebooked at another hotel. There were multiple other issues (faucet leaked, bathroom vent didn't work, etc.) and the whole property is just generally very run down. A colleague of mine was staying in another room at the same time and his door handle broke off and he cut his leg on the underside of a desk that was broken. The *only* positive is that the staff is friendly and tries to be helpful...and I feel sorry for them, because they get the brunt of the angry guests' complaints when clearly the management at this property is severely lacking. Seriously, this property is a nightmare. You'd be better off camping in the parking lot.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn North Austin, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. I want to apologize for the experience you had at our hotel. I am very happy to inform you that we are about to start a renovation of our property and this should fix all of the issues on our older property. Thanks again for the comments. It always helps us solve these issues so future guests do not have the same problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    40
    45
    35
    71
See reviews for
40
62
41
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Slow check in process. Room was not ready when they said it would be. The bathroom was dirty. After leaving for the day and returning we discovered there were bugs crawling all over our bags and computers. Also smells bad. Do not stay here. Sleep in your vehicle if you have to.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn North Austin, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. You stayed during a very busy time in Austin and I do apologize that the check in process was slow for you. Please accept my apology that you were dissatisfied with our housekeeping efforts. I really appreciate your feedback and have discussed every issue with our Housekeeping Manager. She will be addressing these matters with her staff and is committed to ensuring that these problems do not occur again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The girl who checked us in was very polite and got us checked in very quickly. The room was what you would expect from the cheapest motel in town. There were bugs in the bathroom and on the walls in the bedroom. I don't mind critters when I'm camping, but when I pay to sleep in a motel, I do NOT want to see insects, especially in the bathroom.

Also, the fitness room is the most depressing one I have ever seen. Do not count that among this hotel's amenities.

If you ABSOLUTELY have to cut your costs and want to save a dollar anywhere possible, AND you can tolerate sharing your room with bugs, you might be satisfied with this hotel. Otherwise, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Hood, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was a very inexpensive room and the bed was comfortable. Those were the most enjoyable attributes of this hotel. The bathroom rug had hair on it. The water in the bathroom was barely luke warm. There was plenty of lighting which helped as the upkeep of the motel exterior gave the impression that this might not be the safest place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed for 1 night at the Quality inn in Austin during a weekend trip with friends. There's nothing much about this place, the rooms are quite small, the beds were clean though. We have specifically requested a non-smoking room however we were given a non-smoking room among a corridor of smoking rooms. The room smelled like someone was already smoking in it while we were there. We went back and asked to change it and we got another one that smelled almost as bad with stale air odor. I guess the quality is fine for thevprice you pay, $50 for a room with 2 queen beds

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here two nights on 1/22 and 1/23 the bed was very comfortable, it was quiet and the room was very clean. The property is older, but the value is good. There is a microwave and fridge in the rooms, flat screen tv. I didn't get to eat the complimentary breakfast. I felt safe at the hotle. It is right off I35 N and 183 a lot of places to eat and have a drink close by.

Room Tip: I had a room on inside facing the pool downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

First, from what I've seen the nightly posted rate for this motel (a true motel - all units go outside) is about $48/night. But, if you use the Priceline "express" tab the hotel is regularly posted for $32/night. Just look for the 1 star in Austin with all the amenities. Throw in 15% tax and you're still looking at just under $40 out of pocket per night. I booked a king size room, but the first unit I had the door wouldn't open so they put me in a double claiming there were no more king sizes, but that seemed iffy given there were a number of open rooms.

The motel has seen better days. Decor is a bit outdated. On the weekends lots of people in their early 20's, The bathroom was a bit beat up, and not as clean as ideally you'd like. The fridge had some broken shelves and the place in general has a slight air of neglect. Microwave works fine.

But, no bugs (that I've seen) and while the motel isn't the Ritz it is hard to beat the price -- especially when breakfast is included. One word of warning about breakfast -- I've stayed at other Quality Inns and the breakfast here is sup-par. No eggs, no breakfast meat -- a waffle maker with a line, cereal and cold bagels/danish - toaster provided, but no microwave to warm anything. Juice was very watery and poorly mixed. They do have a large room where people can sit and why they don't move the beverages there so they can serve a better breakfast escapes me.

In short, if you're looking for cheap place to stay this could be it, but don't expect much for your money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn North Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn North Austin

Address: 6911 N Interstate Hwy 35, Austin, TX 78752 (Formerly North Austin Plaza Hotel and Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 187 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn North Austin 2*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn North Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Austin Plaza Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn North Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.