We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cru Wine Bar

Cru Wine Bar
238 W 2nd St, Austin, TX 78701-4160
512-472-9463
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #299 of 3,231 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Wine Bar, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Located in Austin, Tx in Warehouse District. 512.472.9463 Fantastic wine options, incredible food flavors, sophisticated.
No
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

With great atmosphere the staff are good but not when it gets really busy like the gp weekend the food is typical Burger chips steak and any thing that will go in a microwave. Don´t go to eat but go for a drink and enjoy.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Beignets & Flights of Wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Cru came highly recommended by the concierge at our hotel and they were right on. Located in a hip part of downtown Austin on 2nd Street, Cru is one of the better places that we have eaten. We ordered a bunch osf the small plates and three flights of wine which were absolutely delicious. Especially the goat cheese beignets!

One of the highlights of our meal last night was the fabulous server that we had. She was personable and her recommendations were terrific. The chef even made a great vegetable plate for us , as we had just come off the barbecue trail and couldn't look at meat again!

Thank you Cru! We will be back on our next visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“BEST SALMON IN YEARS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Visited this restaurant as I always do when visiting Austin. Love the atmosphere, friendly service, wine and food. We had a couple of appetizers which were as exceptional as ever. I had a couple of wine flights which is a good alternative when not sharing a wine bottle. Then we asked for the Fig Glazed Salmon on top of Pesto Whipped Potatoes - Oh my! that was food from Heaven. Even better? They are pet friendly so you can bring your 4 legged kid when sitting on their outdoor patio overlooking 2nd street. It is truly one of my favorites. I always try to go to it when in town. Will surely return. As a matter of fact, I did, one month later when visiting Austin again, and last year and as soon as I can again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

This place seemed to offer an escape from the prevalent options available in these parts. Ambience was good and the wine options were generous with the selections made by my colleague quite acceptable. We were looking for a simple lighter meal tonight and hence most of us chose from the varied range of pizza. However, these turned out to be average at best with my mushroom choice particularly overcooked. My colleague though was more than happy with his fish special.

Overall, somewhat disappointing with mediocre service and not particularly good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

There were 10 people in our group and we sat outside. This venue is very nice and in a good part of Austin. The staff was nice and the food/wine were great. No complaints. Def. try this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cru Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Cru Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cru Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.