We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South

Save Saved
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4701 South I-35, Austin, TX 78744 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Austin - University of Texas) (South Austin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 184 hotels in Austin
Austin, Texas
1 review
“Friendly & clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I recently stayed in the Red Roof Inn south for an entire week. The front desk staff was wonderful and rooms were very clean and comfortable. I was greeted with smiling faces every time I went to the front desk and when checking out. Sabrina was very helpful in the morning and Tammi was excellent as well. The security was on site 24 hours and made their presence know but watching everyone.
I will return to this hotel again.

cons: Hotel walls are thin and I could hear other people when walking by the front door. Weekends were busy but never a problem with any hotel amenities.

Room Tip: pool is very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for leaving your comments. We truly appreciate your feedback and happy that you enjoyed staying at our newly renovated property. Our staff will be thrilled that you mentioned them in your review and I will ensure they are aware of your compliments. Best Regards and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    40
    20
    17
    18
See reviews for
31
25
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We arrived to the inn late at night. The staff were friendly even at the time. When we opened the door to our room, it didn't smell bad, but it didn't smell that great either. Turned on the lights, one of the beds weren't made completely (suspicious... Good thing we bring our own sheets). The beds were comfortable though. The renovations made the room clean. The air conditioning was loud; on and off every 10/15 minutes. The toilets made that loud leaky warning sound all night. Overall, for the price, the inn was great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us see what our guests experience. We will be addressing the issues you mentioned to prevent another incident like this from occurring again. We strive to ensure our guests are satisfied and comfortable in our brand new rooms and hope that you will return again and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

It has been completely remodeled, with finished floors, which makes the room feel 10 times cleaner, than nicer hotels with carpet. It is very up to date & beautiful. Sharieff was very friendly & professional! Anytime we needed anything, they gave it to us right away. The overall stay was great, i would most definetly recommend staying here, it feels just as nice, if not nicer than most expensive hotels. I plan on coming to austin more often & staying here every time!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Greetings and thank you for your very nice comments about our newly renovated inn. We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your review online and look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We drove all night from California and arrived at the Red Roof Inn Austin South at 6 am. I asked if we could check in early even if we had to pay for the room. Sherief said that the earliest a room would be open was @9 am but he would have to clear it with management. We came back at 9 and Sabrina was working the desk, they had a room ready with a key and my name on it. I was so glad to get to check in early at no cost and the customer service was some of the best customer service that I have ever had at a hotel. Ill definitely stay at a RRI again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to post your review online. I am ecstatic to hear of how well our staff took care of your needs. We strive to provide the best service and accommodations at an affordable price and our newly renovated rooms add extra value to the mix. We hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you very soon. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had a Sunday noon meeting with my association and was just going to drive up that morning but a the weekend approached decided I'd see if I could get a decent rate/room via Priceline. I got the Red Roof Inn Austin South and was happy as I had stayed there a couple times in the past. I got a deluxe king room, newly remodeled with laminate floor, Euro-style fixtures, spacious with desk area also.
I think the RRI is much nicer than its star rating implies, and folks that don't like it need to spend more if they're not happy. For a very reasonable rate, I got a nice room, good wifi, free parking right outside the door, and courteous and helpful service from the front desk.
My only negatives are that my room on the highway side is a bit noisy, but I'm a sound sleeper so no biggie. It's also right on the feeder street of I-35 but the exits/intersections are far apart on that stretch, so getting to the hotel requires some backtracking.
I would stay there again and suggest to anyone looking for budget accomodations.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway side if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Good:
The air conditioning. That is all.

Bad:
Ants in the room.
Worst internet I've ever seen.
Room service doesn't work unless you complain.
Next to 5 other hotels that you should gladly look at first.


I guess if you plan on going on a family trip and only care to sleep then stay. If it is a business trip and you need internet (like most people now on business trips) then don't bother. It takes a good 5 minutes to load a page and that is if it doesn't timeout first.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Newly remodeled, still a slight whiff of clean paint. very nice room, reasonable price. Loved hosts Sharif and Elias...they were so welcoming, recommended a great place for a Texas steak. would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South

Address: 4701 South I-35, Austin, TX 78744 (Formerly Red Roof Inn Austin - University of Texas)
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Austin
#97 Spa Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Red Roof PLUS+. Adding more WOW to your stay! Discover an enhanced experience with all new rooms and our most requested higher-end amenities. A completely remodeled and upgraded stay. The Red Roof PLUS+ Austin South, TX is a pet friendly, family friendly hotel. This hotel is close to I-35, SR-71 and South Congress Ave (SoCo) shopping district. The Red Roof Inn Austin is conveniently located near Austin Bergstrom International Airport (AUS), University of Texas-Austin, Southwest Texas State University and St. Edward's University. This hotel is also near the Texas State Capitol, Lyndon B. Johnson Memorial Library, Texas Memorial Stadium, Krieg Field and Palmer Auditorium.When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our NextGen ® design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. This Red Roof PLUS+ hotel also features Premium Rooms with breakfast and a snack ready in your room! Now offering Red Roof's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. The Red Roof PLUS+ Austin South with free WiFi, suites, an outdoor heated pool, in-room safes, elevators, interior corridors, and more. This location offers “On Command Video” with a selection of free TV channels, pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. Experience our complimentary coffeehouse-style coffee and tea in the lobby. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, Otel, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Austin - University Of Texas Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ Austin - South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.