We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ummm. . . Donuts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gourdough's

Gourdough's
1503 S 1st St, Austin, TX
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 3,153 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: Dessert
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Ummm. . . Donuts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Homer Simpson would be in heaven at this place!!!

Great donuts - sweet, fun combinations of flavors. The the portions are generous, you can split with other folks. The last time we went we got a donut covered in cinnamon sugar and cream cheese for our little one; she just gobbled it up.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    63
    14
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Yumilicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Shared a portion of dirty berry with DH. The freshly made donut was covered with chocolate fudge and strawberry and it tasted fabulous. We waited in the line for almost 30 minutes before savoring our fare. Love every bite of it.
They have many other flavors to choose from or you can make your own topping. :-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Donuts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stopped by here for dessert after one of my relatives texted me about it. I had always wanted to try a Maple Bacon Donut which was called a "Flying Pig" here and I LOVED it! The donut is huge and it was crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. The maple glaze and the bacon complemented each other perfectly. Just make sure you are not calorie counting when you come. Service was also the best!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Yummy Gourmet Dougnuts!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had an excellent experience at this food truck row. We ordered many unique flavor gourmet doughnuts to share with family including "Funky Monkey" and "Baby Rattler". Would recommend to everyone without diabetes!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Gourdough's is out of this world! Every donut I've had is unbelievably delicious. I especially love the Miss Shortcake. The frosting is beyond description - honestly one of the best things I've ever tasted. I'd caution you, though: SPLIT WITH A FRIEND! The first time I went with the hubs we each got our own... ooh, boy. I felt absolutely disgusting all day, over-full with guilt and lots and lots o' sugar. But it's definitely not to be missed on a trip to Austin!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourdough's also viewed

 

Been to Gourdough's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gourdough's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.