We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gateway Guesthouse to your Saves list
Gateway Guesthouse
1001 E Riverside Dr, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Chef-created Breakfast!
Ranked #2 of 40 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grapevine, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Weekend treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great, comfortable, hospitable place to just hang out and relax or use as home base to explore all the nearby locales that keep Austin weird and wonderful! On our anniversary weekend we enjoyed the amazing breakfasts, the pool & spa, our room & balcony, town lake, nearby restaurants & music venues and our lovely hosts!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so much for writing. Happy Anniversary!! We really enjoyed you being here with us and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon! B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
50
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Given that the Gateway was rated number two for B&B's in Austin, we had pretty high expectations. Those expectations were exceeded by far! You will not be disappointed. Bess and Blaise are very kind and do a great job of providing an excellent atmosphere for you to relax. My wife and I cant wait to return for another getaway weekend. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are thrilled we exceeded expectations! That's great. Thank you for writing and your kind words. We very much enjoyed having you here with us and hope to see you again very soon. B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights in the loft this past weekend. We both needed to get away and relax, and the Gateway was PERFECT and exactly what we needed. The room was great. I'm scared of heights a little bit but I got used to the stairs up to the bed pretty quickly. Bess and Blaise are the nicest people and Bess made some of the best food we've ever had. The pool area is so relaxing and the location to South Congress is great. It was my first trip to Austin and I have to say I'm smitten with the city. We are going to try to make it a yearly trip and we'll for sure be staying at the Gateway Guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
So great of you to write, thank you. We enjoyed having your here with us and are so happy you liked the Loft. It is a wonderfully private space, even if you do have to be part billy-goat to get up to the Loft bed! We can't wait to see you again! B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Gateway Guesthouse for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute. My husband is cycling cross country and I flew to Austin for a long weekend to visit. I was looking for a small boutique hotel with attractive grounds and well appointed rooms. We most certainly found it! Bess and Blaise are the most amazing innkeepers and have created an incredibly inviting oasis in Austin. Breakfast was Michelin starred, the pool and grounds were lovely, our room was comfortable and attractive. We also found the location to be very good - adjacent to town lake trails, easy access to downtown, easy access to freeways (for airport and visit to San Antonio). We would highly recommend to friends and family and hope to have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We had a great l time with you here at our Inn and were so glad we were able to provide a good 'landing spot' for you two to meet. It was our pleasure and we hope to see you again soon! Blaise & Bess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I spent two days here at Gateway and it was an awesome two days. We came here for peace and quiet and that is exactly what we got. We stayed in the studio and it was wonderful. The room was very clean and had a beautiful decor and the bed was very comfortable. What can I say about breakfast? It was awesome! Bess and Blaise were wonderful as were Leo and Louie. We will be definately be going back and this time I will take advantage of the cooking lessons they offer!!! Thanks Bess and Blaise for giving us the peace and quiet we needed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We enjoyed having you here with us and are so glad the Gateway was exactly what you needed/wanted. That is lovely. We look very forward to seeing you again, B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Gateway for one evening in June. Although we had purchased concert tickets months in advance, somehow things are always more complicated when you have to make arrangements for a kid, two bulldogs, and a cat. Calling the day-of for reservations doesn't generally win you brownie points at a B&B, but Bess and Blaise were wonderfully accommodating. The room was spotless, the house is beautiful, and breakfast was fantastic. Best of all were our amazing hosts--Bess, Blaise, Louie, and Leo, who did everything to make sure that we were well taken care of during our short stay. We love Austin and will definitely be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We were so glad we had an opening to have you here with us. Thank you for this wonderful review. We can't wait to see you again very soon! B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I loved every minute of our stay. & miss it already.
This was such great, much needed time away & very much needed. I'm thankful for Blaise & Bess that our stay so welcoming & delicious!
Breakfast was delicious both days.
Our room was clean and the bed was so comfy. Smack in the middle of all the action of this amazing city.
Its an oasis, a jewel in the middle of a bz city!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
It was a great pleasure to have you stay here with us. Thank you for your review and we look very forward to welcoming you again.
B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Guesthouse

Address: 1001 E Riverside Dr, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Guesthouse is a luxury bed and breakfast, dedicated to excellence in accommodations, amenities, service and cuisine. Join us at this historic 1917 property, in our world class accommodations and for our chef-prepared, critically acclaimed and award winning breakfasts. When you are ready to venture out, we are located at the intersection of downtown, SOCO and the East Side; near everything that makes Austin so special. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Gateway Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.