We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gateway Guesthouse to your Saves list
Gateway Guesthouse
1001 E Riverside Dr, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Chef Prepared Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 39 Austin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grapevine, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great, comfortable, hospitable place to just hang out and relax or use as home base to explore all the nearby locales that keep Austin weird and wonderful! On our anniversary weekend we enjoyed the amazing breakfasts, the pool & spa, our room & balcony, town lake, nearby restaurants & music venues and our lovely hosts!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you so much for writing. Happy Anniversary!! We really enjoyed you being here with us and are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon! B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
McKinney, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Given that the Gateway was rated number two for B&B's in Austin, we had pretty high expectations. Those expectations were exceeded by far! You will not be disappointed. Bess and Blaise are very kind and do a great job of providing an excellent atmosphere for you to relax. My wife and I cant wait to return for another getaway weekend. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are thrilled we exceeded expectations! That's great. Thank you for writing and your kind words. We very much enjoyed having you here with us and hope to see you again very soon. B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights in the loft this past weekend. We both needed to get away and relax, and the Gateway was PERFECT and exactly what we needed. The room was great. I'm scared of heights a little bit but I got used to the stairs up to the bed pretty quickly. Bess and Blaise are the nicest people and Bess made some of the best food we've ever had. The pool area is so relaxing and the location to South Congress is great. It was my first trip to Austin and I have to say I'm smitten with the city. We are going to try to make it a yearly trip and we'll for sure be staying at the Gateway Guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolo925311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
So great of you to write, thank you. We enjoyed having your here with us and are so happy you liked the Loft. It is a wonderfully private space, even if you do have to be part billy-goat to get up to the Loft bed! We can't wait to see you again! B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Gateway Guesthouse for 4 nights and enjoyed every minute. My husband is cycling cross country and I flew to Austin for a long weekend to visit. I was looking for a small boutique hotel with attractive grounds and well appointed rooms. We most certainly found it! Bess and Blaise are the most amazing innkeepers and have created an incredibly inviting oasis in Austin. Breakfast was Michelin starred, the pool and grounds were lovely, our room was comfortable and attractive. We also found the location to be very good - adjacent to town lake trails, easy access to downtown, easy access to freeways (for airport and visit to San Antonio). We would highly recommend to friends and family and hope to have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyLayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. We had a great l time with you here at our Inn and were so glad we were able to provide a good 'landing spot' for you two to meet. It was our pleasure and we hope to see you again soon! Blaise & Bess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband and I spent two days here at Gateway and it was an awesome two days. We came here for peace and quiet and that is exactly what we got. We stayed in the studio and it was wonderful. The room was very clean and had a beautiful decor and the bed was very comfortable. What can I say about breakfast? It was awesome! Bess and Blaise were wonderful as were Leo and Louie. We will be definately be going back and this time I will take advantage of the cooking lessons they offer!!! Thanks Bess and Blaise for giving us the peace and quiet we needed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adela O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review. We enjoyed having you here with us and are so glad the Gateway was exactly what you needed/wanted. That is lovely. We look very forward to seeing you again, B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Gateway for one evening in June. Although we had purchased concert tickets months in advance, somehow things are always more complicated when you have to make arrangements for a kid, two bulldogs, and a cat. Calling the day-of for reservations doesn't generally win you brownie points at a B&B, but Bess and Blaise were wonderfully accommodating. The room was spotless, the house is beautiful, and breakfast was fantastic. Best of all were our amazing hosts--Bess, Blaise, Louie, and Leo, who did everything to make sure that we were well taken care of during our short stay. We love Austin and will definitely be back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank monicamoriah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
We were so glad we had an opening to have you here with us. Thank you for this wonderful review. We can't wait to see you again very soon! B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I loved every minute of our stay. & miss it already.
This was such great, much needed time away & very much needed. I'm thankful for Blaise & Bess that our stay so welcoming & delicious!
Breakfast was delicious both days.
Our room was clean and the bed was so comfy. Smack in the middle of all the action of this amazing city.
Its an oasis, a jewel in the middle of a bz city!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amaldo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
It was a great pleasure to have you stay here with us. Thank you for your review and we look very forward to welcoming you again.
B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Austin hotels
West Campus
Hotel Ella
Hotel Ella
#20 of 193 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Austin
#19 of 193 in Austin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
The Driskill
#25 of 193 in Austin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Guesthouse

Address: 1001 E Riverside Dr, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Guesthouse is a luxury bed and breakfast, dedicated to excellence in accommodations, amenities, service and cuisine. Join us at this historic 1917 property, in our world class accommodations and for our chef-prepared, critically acclaimed and award winning breakfasts. When you are ready to venture out, we are located at the intersection of downtown, SOCO and the East Side; near everything that makes Austin so special. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing