We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quaint, & relaxing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gateway Guesthouse
1001 E Riverside Dr, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Chef-created Breakfast!
Ranked #2 of 39 Austin B&B and Inns
1 review
“Beautiful, quaint, & relaxing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I loved every minute of our stay. & miss it already.
This was such great, much needed time away & very much needed. I'm thankful for Blaise & Bess that our stay so welcoming & delicious!
Breakfast was delicious both days.
Our room was clean and the bed was so comfy. Smack in the middle of all the action of this amazing city.
Its an oasis, a jewel in the middle of a bz city!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
It was a great pleasure to have you stay here with us. Thank you for your review and we look very forward to welcoming you again.
B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
39
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aspley Guise, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Gateway for whole week in June as some R & R before I attended a convention on cacti and succulents at which I was presenting. Gateway lived up to our expectations and more besides. This was our first visit to Texas and we wouldn't have chosen to go in June, because of the heat, but that's when the conference was. One the great attractions of Gateway was the swimming pool and jacuzzi and with the heat it was a wonderful place to cool off and just chill after a day's sightseeing. The garden was such a lovely place to relax in. We had the Coachhouse and so had a four roomed apartment with a fully equiped kitchen, not that we made the most of that. Breakfasts were amazing and very substantial, with a different hot dish each day. We had pre-ordered a bottle of wine and food platter waiting for us on arrival from the airport consisting of excellent cheeses, cold meats, relish and breads, which saved having to find a restaurant after the long haul from England. We'd thoroughly recommend this for anyone else visiting and travelling from afar. One evening Bess made us a home smoked chicken pizza that was delicious. Bess and Blaise made us really welcome, provided advice on restaurants, transport arrangements and general info on Austin. The heat did restrict the places we visited, but we loved The Zilker Botanical Garden and the Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center. Eating out in SoCo was good for us because that area was just a 15 min walk away. Buses also got us downtown where obviously restaurant choices are far more extensive. We loved the Capitol Building, which even has a metal sculpture of a cactus! Gateway provided us with a brilliant base for all of this. So a huge thankyou to Bess and Blaise for making our first week's stay in Austin such a great experience. Our second week at the conference hotel was very much downmarket in terms of quality of accommodation and food compared to Gateway, but we had expected this. Colin & Marjorie

Room Tip: We loved the Coachhouse because it's a self contained apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Colin and Marjorie, we were so pleased to have you here with us and are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and your visit to Austin. Thank you for inviting us to your presentation, we enjoyed it immensely and I posted photos of both the presentation and the wonderful plants we brought home on our Facebook page. Thank you so much for the lovely review and we hope to see you again: here or in England! All the best, B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I flew to Austin for one night. We rarely get time away from our two little boys and this place was the spot. The ambiance, the sound of the water from the pool fountain, the relaxing and inviting courtyard (where we ate our gourmet breakfast in the am), the decor in our studio room all added up to make this a truly memorable one night stay. I wish we could have made a weekend of it. I would go back in a heartbeat. The beds were extremely comfortable too! Enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Austin. All the best, B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I, along with my two best friends, stayed here for our birthday weekend in February 2013. We had only read reviews before we booked it. Boy., were we glad we choose the Gateway Guesthouse! Bess and Blaise are by far the best hosts ever and the food is mouthwatering! We stayed in the small apartment that sleeps three. Wonderful!!! We are going back next year. The location of the B &B in Austin is also fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
You three! We still refer to you as 'the troublemakers'! (All in the best way, of course.) So glad you enjoyed your time in Austin and at the Gateway and thank you for taking the time to write. It was a wonderful pleasure to have you here with us and we can't wait to see you next year. B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a great (but too short!) stay at the Gateway. Comfortable lodging, welcoming hosts, a pool to dangle our tired feet from walking, delicious breakfast. I would highly recommend this B&B. Walking distance from SoCo and beautiful parks, great location for short drives to the capital, Zilker park, and more. Perfect overnight with my mom! would also be a romantic place - I may be back with my husband next time :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
It was great fun to have you and your Mom stay with us but you are correct, it was way too short! Hopefully we'll see you both back soon. B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Perfect B and B- our stay here could not have been more enjoyable...the owners Blaise and Bess are the most lovely hosts- making you feel welcome like family returning home! Our room was like a little haven- quiet, cool with simply the most comfortable bed on earth. We stayed in the studio. The pool is gorgeous and spa elegant. The house itself is a spectacular historic place that has been lovingly restored. As if all this were not enough- the absolute best part is the breakfast. Let me be totally clear on this: DO NOT MISS BREAKFAST! Even if you are up all night (like we were to see Paul McCartney), set your alarm- stuff yourself with the gourmet, award winning freshest food imaginable and then go back to bed! Or if you are ambitious, walk it off by exploring the lovely neighborhood. I could go on and on, but you must experience this for yourself!

Room Tip: Only know the studio, but the rooms in the house looked very sweet also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for writing. We are so pleased you enjoyed our Inn and Austin (especially seeing Sir Paul!). It was a joy to have you both here with us and we can't wait to see you again soon. B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our stay at Gateway Guesthouse far exceeded my expectations. After several frustrating days of searching for way overpriced and full hotels in Austin I stumbled on to a link for Gateway Guesthouse. There just so happened to be a room available and I grabbed it without any further research at all. Upon arrival I realized very quickly what a gem we had found. The room was spotless and all the extra special touches like slippers, soft fluffy robes, body shop products, and more were the icing on the cake. Best of all though was the breakfast each morning on our private deck far beyond what you'd ever get at any hotel. Two foodies like ourselves never expected to be served by a trained professional chef a full elaborate breakfast that you'd pay a mint for in the finer hotels. It was a culinary experience beyond description. We will definitely opt for more meals prepared by Bess onsite the next visit simply because they rival any of Austin's finest eateries. I will never stay another night at the W or Hotel San Jose when heading to Austin for a weekend getaway. Do not plan a lot of activities if you are going to stay at Gateway. Just plan to relax by the gorgeous pool, sip your cocktails or wine in the huge spa in the evenings, and take advantage of the food preparations beyond the included breakfasts. Bess and Blaise you are awesome and we'll be back with a big crew soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We were thrilled that you stumbled upon us, enjoyed having you here immensely and look very forward to seeing you again soon. Have a great summer. All the best, B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gateway Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Guesthouse

Address: 1001 E Riverside Dr, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Guesthouse is a luxury bed and breakfast, dedicated to excellence in accommodations, amenities, service and cuisine. Join us at this historic 1917 property, in our world class accommodations and for our chef-prepared, critically acclaimed and award winning breakfasts. When you are ready to venture out, we are located at the intersection of downtown, SOCO and the East Side; near everything that makes Austin so special. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gateway Guesthouse to your Saves list