We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect mother-daughter getaway spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Gateway Guesthouse to your Saves list
Gateway Guesthouse
1001 E Riverside Dr, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Chef-created Breakfast!
Ranked #2 of 40 Austin B&B and Inns
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Perfect mother-daughter getaway spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had a great (but too short!) stay at the Gateway. Comfortable lodging, welcoming hosts, a pool to dangle our tired feet from walking, delicious breakfast. I would highly recommend this B&B. Walking distance from SoCo and beautiful parks, great location for short drives to the capital, Zilker park, and more. Perfect overnight with my mom! would also be a romantic place - I may be back with my husband next time :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
It was great fun to have you and your Mom stay with us but you are correct, it was way too short! Hopefully we'll see you both back soon. B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
46
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Perfect B and B- our stay here could not have been more enjoyable...the owners Blaise and Bess are the most lovely hosts- making you feel welcome like family returning home! Our room was like a little haven- quiet, cool with simply the most comfortable bed on earth. We stayed in the studio. The pool is gorgeous and spa elegant. The house itself is a spectacular historic place that has been lovingly restored. As if all this were not enough- the absolute best part is the breakfast. Let me be totally clear on this: DO NOT MISS BREAKFAST! Even if you are up all night (like we were to see Paul McCartney), set your alarm- stuff yourself with the gourmet, award winning freshest food imaginable and then go back to bed! Or if you are ambitious, walk it off by exploring the lovely neighborhood. I could go on and on, but you must experience this for yourself!

Room Tip: Only know the studio, but the rooms in the house looked very sweet also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for writing. We are so pleased you enjoyed our Inn and Austin (especially seeing Sir Paul!). It was a joy to have you both here with us and we can't wait to see you again soon. B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Our stay at Gateway Guesthouse far exceeded my expectations. After several frustrating days of searching for way overpriced and full hotels in Austin I stumbled on to a link for Gateway Guesthouse. There just so happened to be a room available and I grabbed it without any further research at all. Upon arrival I realized very quickly what a gem we had found. The room was spotless and all the extra special touches like slippers, soft fluffy robes, body shop products, and more were the icing on the cake. Best of all though was the breakfast each morning on our private deck far beyond what you'd ever get at any hotel. Two foodies like ourselves never expected to be served by a trained professional chef a full elaborate breakfast that you'd pay a mint for in the finer hotels. It was a culinary experience beyond description. We will definitely opt for more meals prepared by Bess onsite the next visit simply because they rival any of Austin's finest eateries. I will never stay another night at the W or Hotel San Jose when heading to Austin for a weekend getaway. Do not plan a lot of activities if you are going to stay at Gateway. Just plan to relax by the gorgeous pool, sip your cocktails or wine in the huge spa in the evenings, and take advantage of the food preparations beyond the included breakfasts. Bess and Blaise you are awesome and we'll be back with a big crew soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We were thrilled that you stumbled upon us, enjoyed having you here immensely and look very forward to seeing you again soon. Have a great summer. All the best, B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Lovely little place. Very friendly inn-keepers who are more than happy to help with advice on restaurants etc. Excellent home-cooked breakfast.

Within walking distance to South Congress. Nice stroll through a residential area.

Note: they do have (very friendly) dogs in the house, in case you happen to have an allergy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
It was a pleasure to have you stop by and stay with us. We hope you continued travels were enjoyable. Just so everyone is aware, both of our dogs are hypoallergenic, as I too am allergic. The Standard Poodle Louie and the Soft Coated Wheaten Leo are both groomed dogs. So there are no worries about allergies. Thanks again and take care.
B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

If you're looking for a calm and genuinely welcoming place to stay yet close proximity to the city center of Austin, the Gateway is your best pick. Add to it the outstanding home cooked breakfast and the innkeepers willingness to go above and beyond to make their guests feel at home, you will not even want to leave at the end of your stay. We had such a great experience and could not thank Bess and Blaise enough for contributing to making our special weekend even more special (the delicious bacon still in fresh memory). A millions thanks yet again! Darrin & Helene

Room Tip: All rooms are extremely nicely decorated and no matter which one you pick you're guaranteed a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
We were thrilled to have you here with us for such a special weekend. It was a pure pleasure. We hope we'll see you again very soon!
B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewey, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

What a great place and what a great city. I have never had such good food in my life!!! Its just a very lovely place!!! The city was awesome the location was just prefect access to thing very close to the bat bridge

Room Tip: They are all good and very clean and unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We adored having you stay with us and enjoy the wonderful town of Austin. We hope to see you again very soon.
B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Wow! I have stayed in a lot of B&Bs over the years, and the Gateway Guesthouse is definitely one of my favorites. Everything is just perfect--the accommodations are lovely (and uber clean), the inn keepers are warm and welcoming, and well, I can't tell you how wonderful breakfasts are--you just have to experience them for yourself. Do yourself a favor and stay here if your travels take you to Austin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It was great to have you two here with us and enjoy some quiet after your busy weekend! We look forward to seeing you again!
Blaise & Bess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Guesthouse

Address: 1001 E Riverside Dr, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Guesthouse is a luxury bed and breakfast, dedicated to excellence in accommodations, amenities, service and cuisine. Join us at this historic 1917 property, in our world class accommodations and for our chef-prepared, critically acclaimed and award winning breakfasts. When you are ready to venture out, we are located at the intersection of downtown, SOCO and the East Side; near everything that makes Austin so special. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Gateway Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.