We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B I've ever stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gateway Guesthouse
1001 E Riverside Dr, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Austin B&B and Inns
Petersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best B&B I've ever stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Gateway Guesthouse is the best B&B I've ever stayed in for a number of reasons. Bess and Blaise who run it, are two of the nicest, friendliest and loveliest people I've ever had the pleasure in meeting. The room was amazing and cleaned every day. The whole house is beautiful and the garden is great too. There's two gorgeous dogs there as well! I only have one complaint - and that's having to have a normal breakfast after 10 days of Bess' breakfasts is somewhat upsetting! The breakfast is the best thing ever and I didn't miss a single one, even if I'd only had 3 hours sleep. To sum it up, it felt like I was home even though my actual home is thousands of miles away. STAY HERE!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Jhon, thank you so much for the review. It was a joy to have you here with us and we can't wait to see you again in a year. And thank you for trying, very hard, to get us into this decade with twittering, or is it tweettering, and instagraming......
Yow!
Be well and have a super year!
B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
36
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a genuinely wonderful experience at Gateway Guesthouse... Such a beautiful property. Very zen and serene and perfectly located to downtown and SoCo areas.

Bess and Blaise were the perfect hosts and made sure all our needs were met. And, breakfasts were absolutely the best part of the day. You can tell breakfasts were made daily with love.

I can't wait to return and enjoy the property without any SXSW obligations and just relax with the dogs and enjoy more of the pool and sunshine.

Thank you Bess and Blaise for making me feel at home. You're both so very gracious and sweet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks so much. It was a pleasure to have you here with us and we'll look forward to seeing you again for some R&R.
All the best,
B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our first trip to Austin which we loved and a key component to why we loved the trip so much was our stay at this gem of a B&B. Blaise (Innkeeper) and Bess (Chef) are wonderful hosts with phenomenal recommendations where the locals go! It helps to like dogs when visiting this establishment because they (Louie and Leo) will probably like you and aren't afraid to show it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Loft and the stairs are as steep as is warned on the Gateway web page; very nice ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We always try to let folks know the Loft is a 'climb'. We are super glad you have enjoyed both your stays with us and can't wait to see you again!
B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My sister, her BFF and I met from opposite ends of the country in Austin to enjoy a weekend in warm weather mid January. We had great rooms, everything we could have wanted was provided. We enjoyed 2 cooking classes with Bess: Knife Skills and Boning Basics, with opportunities for hands-on practice as well as good information. Bess' motto is "Love People - Feed Them Tasty Food" - and she does! Her breakfasts are legendary. Blaise believes "if you're a Bed and Breakfast, you'd better do at least 2 things well!" All the thoughtful touches in the rooms and throughout the house demonstrate Blaise's idea of relaxed comfort. And both of them believe in quality in all they do. Coffee on the covered porch in the morning, lounging by the pool, or a dip in the hot tub before bed, wrapped in luxurious robes - delicious. And easy public transport into town for dining, shopping, music, sightseeing, etc. Can't miss with this spot in Austin.

Room Tip: I'll stay in the Master Suite next time - like a private apartment! Or perhaps the loft, with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed both your stay and cooking class with us. It was a true pleasure to have you here. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Gateway Guesthouse is our current go-to B&B in Austin. Very high quality and delicious breakfast. And the Beds are super comfortable. Our favorite room is the Master Retreat because its huge and nicely furnished. We have also stayed in the loft and found it very cozy and warm. But beware the stairs are steep. For those who are interested in experiencing downtown, on our last visit we took the 7 bus, which picks up across the street, into downtown and spent the evening on 6th street. After a night of drinking we took a very short taxi ride back to the Guesthouse and were very pleased that we did not have to drive our car into downtown traffic, or drink and drive. Also, my husband enjoys swimming in Big Stacy in the mornings, it is a natural spring fed swimming pool, only a 5 minute walk away. We will continue to come back to the Guesthouse and fully recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Master retreat is huge and lovely. Loft is smaller but very cozy. Beware the steep steps in the loft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thanks so much for joining us again and for your kind words. We'll look forward to seeing you again!
B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have travelled all over the world and this is by far B&B I have ever stayed in. Everything thing was clean and fresh, the beds super comfortable. We were going to stay in a hotel and were steered towards the Gateway Guesthouse. I highly recommend that you have a dinner by Bess. We had friends come for dinner, sat outside and had a fantastic gourmet meal, that was low key, fun and relaxing.

Room Tip: Got the little cottage very roomy and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
It was great to have you here for a lovely holiday and we're very glad you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon!
Blaise & Bess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A wonderful B&B. Rooms a beautifully appointed and spacious. Bess and Blaize, the owners, can not be more accommodating. Bess is a professional chef and can cook up really memorable breakfasts. We had a large group there and she cooked up a first class BBQ. Blaize insures all your needs are met and is a perfect hostess. Strongly suggest this as a very comfortable alternative to the usual subjects.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Master Retreat and was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We will always remember our first F1. Was most enjoyable. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words,
Blaise & Bess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gateway Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Guesthouse

Address: 1001 E Riverside Dr, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Guesthouse is a luxury bed and breakfast, dedicated to excellence in accommodations, amenities, service and cuisine. Join us at this historic 1917 property, in our world class accommodations and for our chef-prepared, critically acclaimed and award winning breakfasts. When you are ready to venture out, we are located at the intersection of downtown, SOCO and the East Side; near everything that makes Austin so special. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gateway Guesthouse to your Saves list