We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And cooking classes too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Gateway Guesthouse to your Saves list
Gateway Guesthouse
1001 E Riverside Dr, Austin, TX 78704 (South Austin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Chef-created Breakfast!
Ranked #2 of 40 Austin B&B and Inns
Nelson, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“And cooking classes too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My sister, her BFF and I met from opposite ends of the country in Austin to enjoy a weekend in warm weather mid January. We had great rooms, everything we could have wanted was provided. We enjoyed 2 cooking classes with Bess: Knife Skills and Boning Basics, with opportunities for hands-on practice as well as good information. Bess' motto is "Love People - Feed Them Tasty Food" - and she does! Her breakfasts are legendary. Blaise believes "if you're a Bed and Breakfast, you'd better do at least 2 things well!" All the thoughtful touches in the rooms and throughout the house demonstrate Blaise's idea of relaxed comfort. And both of them believe in quality in all they do. Coffee on the covered porch in the morning, lounging by the pool, or a dip in the hot tub before bed, wrapped in luxurious robes - delicious. And easy public transport into town for dining, shopping, music, sightseeing, etc. Can't miss with this spot in Austin.

Room Tip: I'll stay in the Master Suite next time - like a private apartment! Or perhaps the loft, with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed both your stay and cooking class with us. It was a true pleasure to have you here. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
42
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Gateway Guesthouse is our current go-to B&B in Austin. Very high quality and delicious breakfast. And the Beds are super comfortable. Our favorite room is the Master Retreat because its huge and nicely furnished. We have also stayed in the loft and found it very cozy and warm. But beware the stairs are steep. For those who are interested in experiencing downtown, on our last visit we took the 7 bus, which picks up across the street, into downtown and spent the evening on 6th street. After a night of drinking we took a very short taxi ride back to the Guesthouse and were very pleased that we did not have to drive our car into downtown traffic, or drink and drive. Also, my husband enjoys swimming in Big Stacy in the mornings, it is a natural spring fed swimming pool, only a 5 minute walk away. We will continue to come back to the Guesthouse and fully recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Master retreat is huge and lovely. Loft is smaller but very cozy. Beware the steep steps in the loft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thanks so much for joining us again and for your kind words. We'll look forward to seeing you again!
B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have travelled all over the world and this is by far B&B I have ever stayed in. Everything thing was clean and fresh, the beds super comfortable. We were going to stay in a hotel and were steered towards the Gateway Guesthouse. I highly recommend that you have a dinner by Bess. We had friends come for dinner, sat outside and had a fantastic gourmet meal, that was low key, fun and relaxing.

Room Tip: Got the little cottage very roomy and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
It was great to have you here for a lovely holiday and we're very glad you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon!
Blaise & Bess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A wonderful B&B. Rooms a beautifully appointed and spacious. Bess and Blaize, the owners, can not be more accommodating. Bess is a professional chef and can cook up really memorable breakfasts. We had a large group there and she cooked up a first class BBQ. Blaize insures all your needs are met and is a perfect hostess. Strongly suggest this as a very comfortable alternative to the usual subjects.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Master Retreat and was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We will always remember our first F1. Was most enjoyable. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words,
Blaise & Bess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Not much to add to the other reviews -it was as promised! My husband and i stayed for 5 nights while he attended a conference downtown. We especially liked the new covered porch and highly recommend having dinner by Bess.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
The weekend you were here was super fun. Bess so enjoys it when guests are super pleased with the food. We look forward to welcoming you again!
Blaise & Bess
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I am late to write this review, but couldn't neglect to give Bess and Blaise our compliments...what a great stay my mother and I had!

We flew down from Massachusetts at the end of September to visit my brother who relocated to Austin in July. We arrived late on Friday, and had no trouble getting into the house and finding our way to our room thanks to the instructions emailed to us with our room confirmation.

We stayed in the Master Retreat, and it was very well appointed. The bed was extremely comfy, the bathroom was large and private and the balcony was a nice addition (although we wish we had more time to enjoy it!). Breakfasts were, as everybody has mentioned, absolutely delicious! We were lucky enough to have Bess' famous flappers one morning, and a potato encrusted egg dish the next. After hearing our rave reviews of our first breakfast, my brother joined us for breakfast the next day, and he was happy he did!!

While the accommodations and food were outstanding, the innkeepers, Bess and Blaise, are the reason we will return. They made us extremely comfortable from the moment they introduced themselves; fulfilling any requests we had and helping us decide on a place for dinner (If you have the opportunity, check out El Alma! Their food was amazing!!).

We were fortunate enough to have found Gateway Guesthouse after hours of research, and we are so glad we did. They made our stay in Austin a great one. We look forward to our return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We truly enjoyed having you two ladies stay with us and are glad you enjoyed your space and the breakfasts. You know what we say "If you are going to have a bed and breakfast, you'd better do at least two things really well!". Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Had a girl's weekend at the Gateway House and participated in the shop/cook/dine experience. Everything was wonderful from the moment we arrived. Blaise and Bess greeted us at the door (along with their well behaved dogs) with smiles. The location is easy to get to and easy to get around town. The accommodations are extremely comfortable. The breakfasts were to die for! I highly recommend the" shop,cook, and dine" option. I learned so much from Bess and Blaise and had so much fun in a real chef's kitchen. I can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GatewayGuesthouse, Owner at Gateway Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
You ladies where just a joy! Every moment. The class was super fun because of such a great group, we enjoyed laughing with you and we hope you'll return super soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Guesthouse

Address: 1001 E Riverside Dr, Austin, TX 78704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin > South Austin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gateway Guesthouse is a luxury bed and breakfast, dedicated to excellence in accommodations, amenities, service and cuisine. Join us at this historic 1917 property, in our world class accommodations and for our chef-prepared, critically acclaimed and award winning breakfasts. When you are ready to venture out, we are located at the intersection of downtown, SOCO and the East Side; near everything that makes Austin so special. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and T4B so you can book your Gateway Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;