We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Spacious Historic Hyde Park Bungalow (780 sq ft)

Saved Save
You added Spacious Historic Hyde Park Bungalow (780 sq ft) to your Saves list.
Austin
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mom1-2-3V...
Valley View
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“For this retired couple's needs, this rental was perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Great location, clean, updated, and comfortable. Access to washer and dryer was a plus. Parking on street was always available. Landlord readily available to answer questions. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Austin!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Angie
WI
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Florida
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ambertia
HI
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 for a stay in March 2011
4
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Seattle
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
8837Mom
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We loved the location of this property. Hyde Park has tree lined street and interested homes, and it would have been the perpect walking neighborhood if not for the triple digit heat that hit us for the almost 2 weeks we were there. There is a free city swimming pool about 4 blocks away, which provided a needed respite during a couple of especially hot afternoons. The property is within walking distance to UT Austin and a few interesting eating places. There are also quite a few Zip Cars parked around the campus, so if you don't want to rent a car for the duration of your stay, public transportation or even Cars2Go might offer good alternatives. Just be aware that the bathtub might be a challenge for some people, and those with balancing issues might need special care when stepping in and out.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
indigomoo...
Midland, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charming place right where you want to be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

My friends and I stayed in this charming rental on a girls weekend trip to Austin and we were all very impressed. Pete, the owner, was very accomodating and very prompt with communications and made renting a vacation rental for the first time a very plesant experience.

The location of this rental is excellent. We were close to downtown and all the attractions we planned on seeing while we were there, so we got to spend more time doing the fun things we wanted to do instead of driving around trying to get to them. The house is very comfortable, it really feels more like you are staying with a local friend instead of a rental. The place has been very nicely updated while keeping up the charm with hardwood floors, huge windows that let in lots of natural light and a clawfoot tub in the bathroom.

Everyone was very pleased with our stay in this adorable vacation rental and all agree that it would be the first place we pick for our next trip to Austin.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and price
Liked least: lack of mirrors and early check out time
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$99
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Pete Gilcrease
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2011
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 2 days ago
$10,000 Peace of Mind Guarantee
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing