We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Segway Tour of Austin was a Blast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gliding Revolution

Gliding Revolution
30 North IH-35, Austin, TX 78701
+1 512-495-9250
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$79*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We provide Segway tours of Austin with a focus on fun! Our highly sought after historical guided tours are conducted with Segways after you are comfortable. Each tours begin with a group orientation followed by one-on-one hands on training with the Segway. We were the first Segway tour company to set up shop in Austin back in 2004 and remain the only local Segway tour with a single market focus. Our desire is to conduct safe yet educational experiences for every group no matter how big or small. Our local Austin guides average 5 years experience and truly enjoy showing guests around the city on the Segways. We may not be the least expensive yet our customers seem to think a tour with us is worth the money.! Come experience a memorable tour for yourself!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Segway Tour of Austin was a Blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

My friend and my daughter joined me for a late afternoon segway tour in late July at Gliding Revolutions in Austin Texas. Hugo was our guide and instructor. He did a fabulous job and we had a real blast touring the State Capital and stopping to see the bats on the Congress Street Bridge after dusk. Hugo was very knowledgable about the capital and all the sights we saw along the way in Austin. The Segway was easy to learn and a fun way to see the city. None of us had every been on a Segway before, but we became pros on riding it in 10 minutes. I highly recommend this tour for anyone who has a few hours to spare and wants to do something different and fun and educational. Great time for all ages especially late teens and adults that are kids at heart.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    4
    1
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Our family had SUCH a FUN time with Jason and the whole Gliding Revolution team when we visited Austin in June, that we doing th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Awesome!!! If you're in Austin with friends and/or family, this segway tour is a MUST!! My son (14),daughter (12), and I had a great time with our tour guide Jason. We took the Capital Pavement tour which took us by many historical sites through downtown Austin, including The Driskol Hotel, Rainy and 6th street. The Mexican American Cultural Center, the Governor's Mansion and finally the Capital of Texas. Jason was very knowledgable and took great care of my kids, as I was a bit nervous when we started. He kept my daughter up front with him, making sure she was doing well and keeping us all hydrated along the way with complementary bottled water. My husband was not able to join us, but we are back in Austin with him this time, and are doing the tour again with him!! Looking forward to it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Professional Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We came to Austin to visit UT and with teenagers we wanted to have a fun tour of the city. This was an awesome way to do it! Our bat tour was rained out but the staff was very professional and accommondating and fit us in around our schedule the next day. Jason was our guide. He and Juan taught us how to ride the segway first and Jason was always concerned about our safety during the ride which made us feel more comfortable. He was patient, friendly and very knowledgeable about the city. He took lots of pictures of us and we learned so much about Austin. We would definitely recommend this tour and company to anyone! We LOVED it!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Top notch organization!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We took the late evening tour through downtown Austin, and as luck would have it, we were the only couple on the tour. Hugo, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable about the city and sites, and he didn't mind taking photos of us on the Segways. If you've never been on a Segway, the learning process is short and sweet. My wife doesn't usually take well to new things, and she had no trouble at all. The tour took us through the different nightlife areas to include 6th Street and Rainey Street, then on to Congress Ave, the Driskill Hotel, Capitol and then to the bat viewing on the Congress Ave bridge. We decided not to stay to see the bats - we visited Austin two years ago, waited for over an hour, smelled lots of bat poop and saw very few bats flying out. The tour was great! Watch the You Tube video online to save $15 per rental.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Gliding Revolution, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you for taking to the time to give us a review of Gliding Revolution and Hugo's performance. We appreciate you choosing Gliding Revolution. Keep in mind we offer a variety of Segway tours, Kayak/Bicycle rentals and tours everyday starting as early as 7am. Hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Yogyakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Time!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very reasonable price. Every member of the staff was very friendly. The tour was fun, informative and exciting. Will definitely do this again!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gliding Revolution also viewed

 

Been to Gliding Revolution? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gliding Revolution, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.