We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bully for the Bullock Museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bullock Texas State History Museum

Bullock Texas State History Museum
1800 N Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78701 (Downtown)
+1 512-936-8746
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 143 Attractions in Austin
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum that chronicles the history of Texas with three themed exhibits: Land, Identity and Opportunity.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Coastal Carolinas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Bully for the Bullock Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great place as a jumping off point for a visit to Austin. Great for kids, families and adults wanting to get a brief idea about the State of Texas and its history. We purchased 2 adult tickets which allowed us to see the current video( Star of Destiny) in the theater and the exhibits for $22. We spent approx 1.5 hours touring and might have stayed longer, but it was elementary school field day and the crowds of kids was a bit overwhelming. Still a good 1st stop for a Capital visit. It gives the history starting in Mexico and moving into independence and statehood. One is also able to hear about the pioneers for the above and those that lived in very harsh conditions and indured.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    215
    55
    18
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa AL
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Most of what we saw was re-creations, other than some papers and weapons, It's a nice building, and helpful people working there, but the exhibits were disappointing.

Next day I saw a separate buillding a few blocks away, the state Archives. I wondered if they had exhibits, but didn't go in.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interesting Review of Texas History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Now I know why Texans resist any government influence - it goes further back than the Alamo! Austin and Santa Anna, even Davy Crockett are included.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Very Well Done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We loved it. Very well organized and the historical flow of information is displayed in an informative and entertaining fashion. Excellent artifacts from each era with concise informative explanations. We had not planned visiting, but when a local friend urged us to check it out, we added it to our day and really enjoyed it. PS go to the IMAX and see whatever is playing, you'll love it too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A nice way to learn Texas history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Friends from Austin took us here. It is a lovely museum and does a great job of conveying Texas history. The movie Star of Destiny is well worth the extra fee!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bullock Texas State History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bullock Texas State History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bullock Texas State History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.