We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bullock Texas State History Museum

Bullock Texas State History Museum
1800 N Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78701 (Downtown)
+1 512-936-8746
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$42*
and up
Austin Sightseeing Segway Tour
Ranked #4 of 272 things to do in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum that chronicles the history of Texas with three themed exhibits: Land, Identity and Opportunity.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Tuscaloosa AL
Level Contributor
107 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Most of what we saw was re-creations, other than some papers and weapons, It's a nice building, and helpful people working there, but the exhibits were disappointing.

Next day I saw a separate buillding a few blocks away, the state Archives. I wondered if they had exhibits, but didn't go in.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ankfray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bishop, CA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Interesting Review of Texas History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Now I know why Texans resist any government influence - it goes further back than the Alamo! Austin and Santa Anna, even Davy Crockett are included.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pammft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
262 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Very Well Done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We loved it. Very well organized and the historical flow of information is displayed in an informative and entertaining fashion. Excellent artifacts from each era with concise informative explanations. We had not planned visiting, but when a local friend urged us to check it out, we added it to our day and really enjoyed it. PS go to the IMAX and see whatever is playing, you'll love it too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
181 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A nice way to learn Texas history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Friends from Austin took us here. It is a lovely museum and does a great job of conveying Texas history. The movie Star of Destiny is well worth the extra fee!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Love2travelVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Totally Texas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Even if you aren't enthusiastic about museums, you will LOVE this place. Everything Texas kitsch is in there from Cadillacs to NASA artifacts. The exhibits change so even on a second visit, I saw new things. The store is awesome for souvenirs, including the Homesick Texan Cookbook. And don't miss the chocolate bars wrapped as tamales! They were favorites with my crew.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KangaTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bullock Texas State History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bullock Texas State History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing