We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum

Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum
1800 N Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78701 (Downtown)
512-936-8746
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 183 Attractions in Austin
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Museum that chronicles the history of Texas with three themed exhibits: Land, Identity and Opportunity.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Tuscaloosa AL
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Most of what we saw was re-creations, other than some papers and weapons, It's a nice building, and helpful people working there, but the exhibits were disappointing.

Next day I saw a separate buillding a few blocks away, the state Archives. I wondered if they had exhibits, but didn't go in.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    201
    51
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Interesting Review of Texas History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Now I know why Texans resist any government influence - it goes further back than the Alamo! Austin and Santa Anna, even Davy Crockett are included.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Very Well Done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We loved it. Very well organized and the historical flow of information is displayed in an informative and entertaining fashion. Excellent artifacts from each era with concise informative explanations. We had not planned visiting, but when a local friend urged us to check it out, we added it to our day and really enjoyed it. PS go to the IMAX and see whatever is playing, you'll love it too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A nice way to learn Texas history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Friends from Austin took us here. It is a lovely museum and does a great job of conveying Texas history. The movie Star of Destiny is well worth the extra fee!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Totally Texas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Even if you aren't enthusiastic about museums, you will LOVE this place. Everything Texas kitsch is in there from Cadillacs to NASA artifacts. The exhibits change so even on a second visit, I saw new things. The store is awesome for souvenirs, including the Homesick Texan Cookbook. And don't miss the chocolate bars wrapped as tamales! They were favorites with my crew.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.