We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Well Done” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum

Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum
1800 N Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78701 (Downtown)
512-936-8746
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 183 Attractions in Austin
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Museum that chronicles the history of Texas with three themed exhibits: Land, Identity and Opportunity.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Very Well Done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We loved it. Very well organized and the historical flow of information is displayed in an informative and entertaining fashion. Excellent artifacts from each era with concise informative explanations. We had not planned visiting, but when a local friend urged us to check it out, we added it to our day and really enjoyed it. PS go to the IMAX and see whatever is playing, you'll love it too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    496
    201
    51
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A nice way to learn Texas history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Friends from Austin took us here. It is a lovely museum and does a great job of conveying Texas history. The movie Star of Destiny is well worth the extra fee!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Totally Texas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Even if you aren't enthusiastic about museums, you will LOVE this place. Everything Texas kitsch is in there from Cadillacs to NASA artifacts. The exhibits change so even on a second visit, I saw new things. The store is awesome for souvenirs, including the Homesick Texan Cookbook. And don't miss the chocolate bars wrapped as tamales! They were favorites with my crew.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“State History Museum a must-see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Texas State History Museum is a model for combining a wide variety of exhibition techniques with historical facts. There were wonderful videos, re-creations,recordings--such as from of those who faced the problems of making a living on a ranch in West Texas--short movies, etc. It was both fun and easy to learn something. You didn't feel overwhelmed by a ton of boring old dates and facts. The building is huge, as befits Texas; there are a nice cafe and a gift shop on the first floor.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinth, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must if you love history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was the favorite place we visited in Austin. Even our teenagers liked it. A definite must visit for any history or Texas lover!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;