We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“State History Museum a must-see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum

Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum
1800 N Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78701 (Downtown)
512-936-8746
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 181 attractions in Austin
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Museum that chronicles the history of Texas with three themed exhibits: Land, Identity and Opportunity.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
San Francisco CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“State History Museum a must-see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Texas State History Museum is a model for combining a wide variety of exhibition techniques with historical facts. There were wonderful videos, re-creations,recordings--such as from of those who faced the problems of making a living on a ranch in West Texas--short movies, etc. It was both fun and easy to learn something. You didn't feel overwhelmed by a ton of boring old dates and facts. The building is huge, as befits Texas; there are a nice cafe and a gift shop on the first floor.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    195
    49
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corinth, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must if you love history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was the favorite place we visited in Austin. Even our teenagers liked it. A definite must visit for any history or Texas lover!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trip with the Grandkids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My greandsons not only loved the I-Max theatre but their favorite was the Spirit of Texas Threatre. The novie about the weather is excellent and the Spirit of Texas movie is a source of pride for all Texans!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best museum in Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great displays of all relevant historical periods of Texas: good movies, and interactive venue. I could have stayed all day, but had to see the LBJ pres museum, which is equally fascinating.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great if you like history...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went with family and saw the "all about texas film" in the interactive theatre - which was very cool. I didn't expect to have as much fun as we did in. The walk through exhibits were pretty cool and the IMAX movie we saw on trains was awesome! Check out the gift shop for some neat Texas/Austin souveniers if you aren't from here.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum to your Saves list