We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must if you love history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum

Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum
1800 N Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78701 (Downtown)
512-936-8746
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 181 attractions in Austin
Type: History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Museum that chronicles the history of Texas with three themed exhibits: Land, Identity and Opportunity.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Corinth, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A must if you love history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was the favorite place we visited in Austin. Even our teenagers liked it. A definite must visit for any history or Texas lover!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    480
    195
    49
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Trip with the Grandkids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My greandsons not only loved the I-Max theatre but their favorite was the Spirit of Texas Threatre. The novie about the weather is excellent and the Spirit of Texas movie is a source of pride for all Texans!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best museum in Texas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great displays of all relevant historical periods of Texas: good movies, and interactive venue. I could have stayed all day, but had to see the LBJ pres museum, which is equally fascinating.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great if you like history...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went with family and saw the "all about texas film" in the interactive theatre - which was very cool. I didn't expect to have as much fun as we did in. The walk through exhibits were pretty cool and the IMAX movie we saw on trains was awesome! Check out the gift shop for some neat Texas/Austin souveniers if you aren't from here.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Learn about how Texas was created as a state”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you like history, you will love this museum. It tells the story of how the Spanish, Mexican, Native Indian and European settlers, fought for and negotiated a state from this vast territory. Famous battles, and lesser know fighting is told in a very interesting way. My wife and I went there for 2 hours and could not see it all. My future son-in-law, who lives in Austin, loves going there. He has been there at least 4 times, and finds something new each time. Well worth the visit, and it is just a few blocks north of the Capitol, and just south of the University campus.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum to your Saves list