We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even good for a non-Texan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bullock Texas State History Museum

Bullock Texas State History Museum
1800 N Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78701 (Downtown)
+1 512-936-8746
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 143 Attractions in Austin
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum that chronicles the history of Texas with three themed exhibits: Land, Identity and Opportunity.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Verdi
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Even good for a non-Texan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This museum is laid out really well and there is much to see. Don't miss the movie with sound and movement effects. I startled at the rattle snakes which moved my seat! I still remember taking Texas History in high school and there was so much more here (even my "Yankee" husband enjoyed it!).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    569
    213
    55
    18
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas Tx
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Make Sure and See an IMAX Movie!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Not the first time I have been to this museum and it will not be my last! Love that the exhibits change and so do the IMAX movies. I have seen several movies and I learn something new every time. Walking through the museum is relaxing and educational.

They do have special events here. This time was the Austin Rodeo's auction. It was also very busy with school groups and visitors.

The gift shop has lots of fun and educational items and the cafeteria is very good with a variety of options!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Awesome IMAX”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We only had a chance to visit the IMAX, so we need to return. We found street parking right at the back of the building and the area is well kept. Wish we had more time, very friendly staff.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Texas education”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Easy to get to, parking available, and very educational. My wife, grandkids and I have been a couple of times and have enjoyed the visits.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Awesome tribute to Texas.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Absolutley love this museum. I walked through it and received a phenomenal understanding of the history of this grand state. WOW!!! Being a country before a state...something to be so proud of for all Texans.

The IMAX movie is good, but not am absolute necessity from a history perspective.

They recommend you have 4 hours to walk through it, but I was there from 9 am to 4 pm. They have a cafe for lunch.

Excellent!!!!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bullock Texas State History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bullock Texas State History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bullock Texas State History Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.