We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Happy Hour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TRIO Restaurant

TRIO Restaurant
98 San Jacinto Blvd, Austin, TX 78701
+1 512-685-8300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
TRIO Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 3,231 Restaurants in Austin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $100
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cesar Chavez
Description: Downtown Austin's neighborhood steakhouse, TRIO at Four Seasons offers a contemporary menu - centered around steak, seafood and carefully chosen wines - in a stylish setting that's both scenic and sophisticated. Sit down in our sleek dining room for a prime dry-aged steak dinner and one of 250 wines by the bottle, or relax and enjoy the view from our outdoor terrace overlooking the natural beauty of Austin's Lady Bird Lake. No matter where you sit, expertly prepared entrees, side dishes, appetizers and desserts ensure a fresh, delicious dining experience that incorporates the best local and seasonal ingredients. Daily from 5-7 pm, pull up a chair at TRIO's wine bar for "Austin's Best Happy Hour" (according to the Austin Chronicle and Austin Monthly), featuring $5 appetizers and half-off wines by the glass. On Sundays, TRIO's Brunch buffet is renowned for its quality and variety with more than 80 items and bottomless mimosas and champagne.
Aledo, TX
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

With wonderful wines by the glass and half-price appetizers, this is a great happy hour! The friendliness and personal touch make it exceptional.

The restaurant itself has a great menu. If the weather permits, the veranda for breakfast, lunch or dinner is superb!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    47
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading UK
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast and great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

The waiting staff are very friendly and very efficient. Food quality is good - I recommend the Texas Omelet for breakfast.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Father's Day Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Verry good brunch at Trio today. Great aasortment of food and nicely displayed. The service was fantastic. The only complaints are 1. Shrimp, they were water logged, obviouly previously frozen, 2. Sushi not the best. For the price I would expect better seafood or sushi. But if you cannot have it perfectly executed, don't have it at all. I would have never missed it, you had so many other wonderful dishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't order the lamb chops”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Had a business dinner mid-week. Service was excellent & very attentive, and enough not to interrupt our meeting. Perfect.

Food for the price was just ok. Table mate had the fish. Two tiny pieces. I had the lamb chops. While excellent flavor & cooked perfectly, they were a half fatty leaving little meat to be desired. Chef just needs to source better food when purchasing.

Will probably be back b/c convenient & service is great. Just need to find a better dish to order. :/

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fsaustin, Manager at TRIO Restaurant, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear CandCTx,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent business dinner in TRIO. I appreciate your comments about the service and will be sure to share the kudos with my team.

I also appreciate your feedback regarding your lamb chops and apologize that they were too fatty. I've mentioned this to our chef and he has promised to look into the quality with our current supplier.

Thank you again for choosing TRIO for your business meeting, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Mike Mooney
TRIO Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a wonderful Brunch. All the crab claws, shrimp, salmon, sushi, caviar, salads, fruit, eggs Benedict (salmon, mushroom and canadian bacon),many other usual brunch specialities, and desserts. Very fresh. Best brunch I've enjoyed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TRIO Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRIO Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.