We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Nice Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of fabi and rosi european kitchen

fabi and rosi european kitchen
509 Hearn St, Austin, TX 78703-4515
512-236-0642
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 3,160 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Austin, Texas, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, Nice Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Spent New Year's Eve here and enjoyed the prix fixe meal. It was outstanding. Great service and nicely priced wine. We will definitely return for another visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Continental gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Fabi and Rosi is in an old house tucked away in a neighborhood west of downtown, but it's well worth traveling the extra couple of blocks. I'd visited this location earlier when it housed two different restaurants, and neither ever quite clicked for me. But Fabi and Rosi gets everything right--sophisticated decor, delicious cuisine (as adventurous as you want), reasonable prices, and ambiance that makes conversation easy, even for a larger group. Happy hour is amazing, with great deals on appetizers and drinks, and the meals are a great value--not huge portions, but scrumptious, fresh food from local suppliers prepared lovingly. Service is attentive without being overly solicitous as well. The menu features German, Italian and French touches without being dominated by one particular cuisine, and selection varies with the seasons.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Varied Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

On our final night in Austin we decided to treat ourselves and go here. We were a party of four and luckily despite not booking in advance a table was immediately available (Tuesday night).

The food is certainly different from other Texan restaurants we had been frequenting, and having returned from a holiday in Germany and Austria only a few weeks ago it was nice to eat food and drink wine from these countries.

This is quite a small restaurant which has a nice atmosphere and very knowledgeable staff. The only downside is that the portions are quite small. They are perfectly cooked however.

All in all it is worth a visit if only to try some of our European cuisine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and amazing happy hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Been wanting to try this little hidden gem for a while and it didn't disappoint. We just went for happy hour, but there were great deals on both food and drinks and the atmosphere is very upscale and attractive. Can't wait to go back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Delightful just off Lake Austin Blvd”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Quite good food and wine in the house on Hearn where Zoot
started. We were a party of five with excellent and attentive
service. We sat in the front window nook which meant not only
a nice view outside but also fairly quiet. I had the evening
special which was ravioli in a rabbit sauce -- quite nice but not
a regular item on the menu. Also recommended is the cheese
board starter, and for dessert I thought the chevre tart was
exceptional. The dry white Greek wine from Santorini was
surprisingly good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed fabi and rosi european kitchen also viewed

 

Been to fabi and rosi european kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage fabi and rosi european kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.