We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible & Scenic Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travaasa Austin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travaasa Austin to your Saves list
Travaasa Austin
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   13500 Farm to Market Road 2769, Austin, TX 78726   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 187 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Incredible & Scenic Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Travaasa is a gorgeous resort. We LOVED the bedrooms. The beds were dreamy. The grounds were amazing. The staff very friendly and accommodating. We stayed 2 nights in the Canyon room. We had facials, pedicure, yoga, pilates then headed downtown in the evenings. Nice getaway. Great place for couples or a girls weekend.

Room Tip: We loved the canyon room :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
LydiaNinjaLin
We greatly appreciate your very kind words and glad to hear you enjoyed the resort. Our staff truly loves interacting with our guests and it is nice to hear that you had the opportunity to partake in some of our spa and activity offerings. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Warm Regards,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    65
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
52
191
50
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

My wife and I needed to get away for a night to unwind. This was our first getaway since having our son 15 months ago. We live in Austin and were looking for something close by but far from the chaos of our lives. The moment you get pass through the gates you know you are entering a special place and we felt that way the entire 36 hours we were there. Everyone was warm and engaging and the food was the best we had in all of Austin (and that says a lot since our city is full of foodies). We had a great time in all the activities and enjoyed the amenities so much we were not thinking/worrying about our son (my biggest fear). We decided to make this a regular getaway and would suggest you do as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
nathanbgreen
Thank you very much for the glowing review. We are so happy you chose us as your first getaway in 15 months and enjoyed the food, activities and amenities. We look forward to seeing you again.
Best Wishes
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I had a two night stay from a silent auction event. I invited a friend, and in two days we managed to take advantage of several of the many activities that were offered. We had facials and manicures at the spa. We did yoga, weight training, the equestrian encounter, and the nature hike. We had dinner both nights and the food was properly portioned for a spa, mostly locally sourced and nicely prepared. The spa services were excellent and the facility was beautiful and relaxing. The entire grounds are casual but very beautiful, I encourage everyone to check out all of the buildings even if you don't use them. The understated hill country decor is very nicely executed in the rooms and in the common area buildings. The infinity edge pool is heated and gorgeous but it was cold during our visit so we didn't take advantage, but I'll make sure to bring my suit on the next trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
claudia b,
Thanks so much for the wonderful review! I am so glad that you and your friend enjoyed many of our activities. We love to support good causes and always love it when the folks who buy our donated stays have a great time here. We can't wait to have you back again,
Happy Holidays,
Kristine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I had the opportunity to stay 1 night in September with my husband & was really looking forward to trying in the beautiful hill country & trying out many of their activities.

GREAT: food was mostly local & clean- very creative dishes & great presentation, fabulous property with great views & a relaxing atmosphere, tons of activities & a variety of things to try, excellent service by friendly staff, beautifully appointed rooms

NOT GREAT: queen size beds, activities & spa fill up quickly (book ahead of time), very expensive

We really enjoyed the foam rolling class, the afternoon cooking class was fabulous (but we'd just eating lunch & were pretty full for dinner), and the wine tasting class was fun but not awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor for best views & high ceilings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
zoegrlTX,
Thanks so much for your wonderful review of Travaasa. I am glad that you enjoyed the food, activities and views. I hope that you and your husband come back again very soon for another visit.
Warm regards,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I and two friends stayed at Travaasa for 2 nights / 3 days. We had a fantastic time and tried most of the activities (Spa, giant swing, bike pump, challenge course, yoga, hikes and meditation) and found the staff to be fun, informative and concerned about everyone's safety. The room was very nice and the beds are outstanding! We went with the Total Travaasa package where everything was included. While it is expensive on the surface, we felt it was a very good value for all the things we did and the great food!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Denise G,
We are so glad that you found your Total Travaasa stay to be such a great value. I also think it is the way to go to keep it simple and less expensive if you plan to enjoy the spa and all the meals. Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed the activities, food, room, but most of all that our staff were so much fun. We hope that you and your friends return to us again for another stay soon,
Best,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We chose Travaasa so that we could explore Austin and its great foodie/music scene, and then relax for the weekend - it didn't disappoint! We were looking for a resort/spa that was luxurious and yet not too over the top - a place you would be comfortable walking around in flipflops and athletic clothes. The activities and classes were a hit - bull riding, archery, challenge course, bike pump track, belly dancing. Novel, fun and we could definitely feel it in our muscles the day after. If you are looking for an array of non-stop cardio classes and options, this place might not be for you. The food was great (and you might want to bring some snacks for between meals because there is nothing available outside of meal times). Would definitely recommend for a friends' get away.

Room Tip: Canyon view rooms with balconies are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
eeppfox,
Thank you for your wonderful review of your girl's getaway here at Travaasa. I am so glad that you and your friends enjoyed so many of our activities and could relax and enjoy yourselves. I'll look into the snack issue as there should always be something available to nibble on.
I hope we see you all back again for another getaway.
Best,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My wife and I met two other couples here to enjoy the serenity and each other's company. We were active with the spa, yoga, hiking trails, and horses. But especially liked the food and great wine. The tequila tasting experience started a great night. The people and service couldn't have been better. We will go back. My wife is already planning a girls trip.

Room Tip: We liked staying down close to the pool and spa, which is also close to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
jeff m,
Thank you so much for your kind words about Travaasa. We are happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay and are planning on coming back. Make sure your wife lets me know about her girl's group and we'll do something special to welcome them.
Best,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travaasa Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Austin

Address: 13500 Farm to Market Road 2769, Austin, TX 78726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Austin
#1 Spa Hotel in Austin
#1 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#2 Family Hotel in Austin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#14 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Austin Hill Country only 30 minutes from eclectic downtown Austin, Traavasa Austin is nestled into 210 acres of the Balcones Canyonlands Preserve overlooking beautiful Lake Travis. Travaasa Austin boasts 70 guestrooms located within seven lodges interspersed along meandering paths allowing resort guests to soak in the natural habitat of the local Hill Country in a resort campus setting. The resort includes a movement studio, infinity-edge pool, beautifully appointed dining area with outdoor patio and exhibition kitchen, a tranquil spa and gracious accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Travaasa Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travaasa Austin Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travaasa Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.