We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ultimate in Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travaasa Austin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Travaasa Austin to your Saves list
Travaasa Austin
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   13500 Farm to Market Road 2769, Austin, TX 78726   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 187 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The Ultimate in Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We recently returned from a much needed long weekend at Travaasa and thoroughly enjoyed the relaxing environment. It's nothing like most spa resorts that we've been to - that is obvious even during check-in. We weren't sure what to expect of the onsite restaurant, but the food was incredible every night and the menu was fresh. My only recommendation regarding food, is to avoid the buffet during breakfast and order of the menu. My wife and I had a couple of spa appointments and they were incredibly relaxing and well worth the price. Be sure to ask for a room on the 3rd floor as the views are amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room and avoid the breakfast buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
CSHouston80,
So glad you joined us for The Ultimate in Relaxation here at Travaasa. We strive to create a unique experience for our guests and it sounds like we were successful in your case. I am particularly pleased that you found our restaurant to be incredible. We are proud of our fresh farm-to-table menu. We hope that you will return to us again soon,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    65
    22
    11
    4
See reviews for
52
191
50
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our recent stay at Travaasa was just wonderful. Beautiful serene, zen-like setting amid the rolling Hill country and Cedar ones, extremely pleasant staff, very service oriented, fabulous selection of activities from mind body wellness, yoga, meditation to unique Equine experience and Ziplining! and all sorts of other fabulous activities for all interests, deliciously fresh organic foods, top 10 US-rated Spa, zenlike calming rooms ... what else could one ask for? will definitely be back as much as we can ...

Room Tip: The newer recently renovated buildings 5,6,7 .... but all our good rooms with varying views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
GPVTX,
We are so glad you had a wonderful stay at Travaasa. It sounds like you enjoyed our vistas, experiences and food. We hope to see you again soon,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I live about 40 minutes away and never knew this was here. It's a great little slice of Texas Hill Country with native plantings and just a good natural Texas vibe. Buildings are set along the edge of a canyon and you walk to dining, spa, fitness, meditation/yoga rooms which are beautifully designed so you can look out into the gardens or pool while taking non-competitive classes. The place has a harmonious blend of zen and luxury. Cars are separated from living and walking space so you and your luggage are transported by golf cart when you arrive. In exact contrast to the last review, I booked Sunday for Monday thru Friday with no problems. Tuesday morning I walked into the spa and booked a massage for that afternoon. My experience mid April has been "Wow, this place is quiet". Dining is as good as it gets with delicious fresh food. Every night I sit solo and watch the chefs cook and chat with them as I eat. They have twice prepared a modified dish for me personally. My complaint would be that as a solo guest, I have been the only person at the community table and although I feel this is perfect for a solo retreat, it would be nice if steps could be taken to bring folks like me together for dining, maybe even a cocktail meet up. My other complaint is the wifi in my bldg has been lame but that may have something to do with the Apple contingency staying here sucking it dry. I have thoroughly enjoyed the yoga, pilates, meditation, archery, equine encounter and watercolor. My massage by Lonie was perfect. I came to heal an injury and it has been an outstanding experience. I will come back when I again need a physical/spiritual retreat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
pskballet,
Thanks for your wonderful comments about your stay with us at Travaasa. We're so glad that you came to us to help you heal your injury and had an outstanding time. I like your suggestions about helping solo travelers get to know others. We'll look into adding more meet-ups into the schedule. I hope you'll come back again soon for another physical/spiritual retreat soon,
Best
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We reserved a trip to travaasa back in March for a May visit. We were super excited to try this new destination spa! Unfortunately, we learned the spa was completely full and despite speaking to several people and having paid thousands, we were repeatedly told that they could not accomodate us. Extremely disappointing. The management actually suggested we visited without going to the spa. Why would I vacation at a spa that I can not get treatments?

If you are looking for a beautiful Texas spa that holds customer service a priority, look to Lake Austin Spa! It is amazing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Kasi S,
I am so sorry that we weren't able to schedule the spa appointments that you desired. We do strive to provide excellent service, but it sounds like we missed the mark with you. I understand that we did fully refund your deposit, and hope that you had a great time at Lake Austin. I do hope you give us another try. If so, please contact me directly so that I can help ensure that you get the spa appointments that you want at the times you desire.

All the best to you ,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Travaasa Austin is exactly what I needed. The spa: do not miss having a treatment with Amber, Amalie and Tracie. They each provide world class service and are each wonderful people. The grounds are beautiful. I will be back soon. The food at Jean's kitchen is amazing.

Notes: it would be nice if the resort Would provide more convenient room service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
cv59,
We're so glad that Travaasa was just what you needed. Amber, Amalie and Tracie will be delighted that you loved your treatments and chef will be pleased that you loved his food. We hope that you'll come for another stay soon,
All the best,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was looking for an in-state getaway for a long weekend, and Travaasa more than fit the bill. I felt a million miles away in this beautiful, peaceful resort. You can choose from a multitude of classes, or simply kick-back and relax. The best part of my stay were the Yoga Classes! The instructor was kind, personable and very patient with a yoga 'newbie'. Just listening to her brought my blood-pressure down to a perfect level. I would recommend Travaasa Austin to anyone looking for a tranquil experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Kathy R,
Thanks for your Awesome review of Travaasa. We really appreciate hearing how much you enjoyed your visit, in particular the yoga classes. Hopefully the results of your visit will help keep your blood pressure lower, just by remembering us. And, we hope you return to us again soon,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our first time at an "experiential resort" so we didn't know what to expect. We had a great time though - it was kind of like Summer Camp for adults. There is a very peaceful vibe throughout the entire place (don't expect groups of loud people partying it up). The property is well laid-out and stays true to local Texas landscapes (don't expect hibiscus and lush lawns) and the buildings blend in very well with the scenery. They have many classes throughout the day that you can sign up for. **Sign up as early as possible because the popular classes (Archery, Equine Experience, Challenge Course) will fill up**. We did the Archery and Challenge Course and both were a lot of fun. My husband is a little afraid of heights so he declined the Challenge Course - but the instructors were great and you're completely harnessed to safety cables so I felt very secure the entire time. They also have a couple of hiking trails around the property that were neat and a great way to start the day.
We had a Canyon View room and it was wonderful - a great size, good views, very comfortable and nicely decorated.
Dinner at Jean's Kitchen was a surprise. We expected decent food but were blown away by the Wild Boar Short Ribs with sweet potatoes. So much flavor- they were incredible - I'd highly recommend them! The menu was cool because they try to do farm-to-table with local farmers as much as possible. And I really appreciated that nutrition and calorie counts were listed for each item. The chefs obviously go to a lot of trouble to create nutritious, flavorful, and low-calorie dishes. The sommelier (Edward) had really good wine recommendations.
My only negative about the experience is that it is very expensive. For the time of year that we visited Canyon View Rooms were $450-500night (which includes most of the classes but no meals). I got a 50% off deal for the night we stayed and thought it was good value at $250/night....but I won't be staying at Travaasa again until I find another discount package (but I'm actively looking for discounts because we had a great time there!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travaasa_GM_Austin, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Lara M,
Thanks very much for your great review of Travaasa! I am so glad you enjoyed our food, classes and the hiking trails. We do try to keep the hill country here peaceful and quiet for our guests, so I'm glad you found it to be like an adult summer camp.
We do hope that you do return to us soon,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travaasa Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Austin

Address: 13500 Farm to Market Road 2769, Austin, TX 78726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#1 Spa Hotel in Austin
#1 Green Hotel in Austin
#2 Family Hotel in Austin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#14 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Austin Hill Country only 30 minutes from eclectic downtown Austin, Traavasa Austin is nestled into 210 acres of the Balcones Canyonlands Preserve overlooking beautiful Lake Travis. Travaasa Austin boasts 70 guestrooms located within seven lodges interspersed along meandering paths allowing resort guests to soak in the natural habitat of the local Hill Country in a resort campus setting. The resort includes a movement studio, infinity-edge pool, beautifully appointed dining area with outdoor patio and exhibition kitchen, a tranquil spa and gracious accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Travaasa Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travaasa Austin Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travaasa Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.