We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic spa resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travaasa Austin

Save Saved
You added Travaasa Austin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travaasa Austin
4.0 of 5 Spa   |   13500 Farm to Market Road 2769, Austin, TX 78726   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 183 hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Houston, TX
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic spa resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My spa visit was a gift from my company for many extra hours worked during evenings and weekends. I thoroughly enjoyed every precious moment at Travaasa. The grounds were beautiful and serene, the food was delicious and the spa treatments were wonderful. I will definately return for another visit! Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravaasaMNGR, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
CJZHouston_TX,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Travaasa! We're honored that your company picked us to reward you for all your hard work and we're thrilled that we fulfilled their hope to make you feel that your time here was precious. I hope that we see you back here again soon. Happy Holidays,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    317
    58
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
46
166
46
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Went for a long weekend with my husband in August 2012. Got an upgraded room which gave us a beautiful view from the balcony! The room was large & the bathroom was very nice. The pool was very relaxing & the food was great! This is a place for quiet relaxation. Hope we can return soon!

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room so you can enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravaasaMNGR, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
txuszq,
I'm so glad you joined us for a long weekend with your husband for a little quiet relaxation. We also hope you can return soon. Happy holidays,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was searching for a place that was convenient to access, as I live in Houston. No airport to deal with, relatively short drive (three hours) and I was in another world. Was totally at home there, felt safe, as I had travelled alone. Beautiful grounds, excellent staff and service, and lovely spa treatments. All but one of the meals were excellent; one of the salads was boring. The fitness and wellness facilities were perfect for what I wanted; there is a lot to choose from.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravaasaMNGR, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Anne56003,
Thanks so much for your wonderful review of Travaasa. We're so glad that you found our staff, services and grounds helped you have a "perfect getaway" and that you felt totally at home. We look forward to welcoming you back home for your next visit.
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Recently went to Travaasa Austin for a meeting. This was a welcome break and the perfect place to reconnect with people and enjoy some downtime. Rooms were well-appointed, with balconies overlooking the Texas Hill Country, comfortable beds. Meals were deliciously prepared, and I loved the variety of freshly-made salad dressings at each meal. Lots of places to escape the hustle of every day life, including random hammocks in the trees. Overall, our group seemed to really enjoy the time at Travaasa.

Room Tip: Rooms are in smaller buildings, none are too far from restaurant or meeting spaces. Some may be fart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravaasaMNGR, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Flomostayc,
Glad you enjoyed your meeting here at Travaasa. We're so pleased you enjoyed our fresh, farm-to-table food and that you took the opportunity to relax and enjoy some down time. I hope that you and your group come back to see us soon.
Best wishes,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I'd been looking at staying at Travaasa Austin for our anniversary for MONTHS and luckily travelzoo ran a promotion that we could not pass up. :) From the moment you pull up to the gate, you feel like you have entered an oasis. You drive up this huge winding hill to the welcome center and are greeted by a very warm staff. We were shown to our room that was situated all the way at the back of the property. It was so peaceful. We had a canyon view room, and I believe it is smaller than the trail view, but we didn't really mind. The view from the balcony was breathtaking. We arrived late in the afternoon so most of the activities were over for the day but we decided to head out to the hiking trail. It's 2.5 miles if you do the whole thing, and not only a great workout, but very pretty as well. Such a peaceful way to start the trip! We opted to eat dinner on the property that evening and were amazed at how incredible it was! I loved how the nutrition information was listed on the menu as well. We had been told to make a reservation so we did, and there were only maybe 3 other tables in use. The next morning we had another incredible meal, this time out on the terrace. I took a Pilates class with Heather. What a workout!!! I think often times people think of Pilates as just a lot of stretching, but it really challenged me. It was great. Lunch was again fabulous and so fresh. I also spent some time at the spa, and opted to get the honey massage treatment with Amalie (sp?). It was beyond relaxing, and a great combo for someone looking for a massage and not necessarily a full facial, but something that incorporates it. The mask left my skin so clean and healthy feeling. She even sent me with the leftover and told me how to use it! Another great thing about this resort is that yes, it is 4 stars, but you see people mainly dressed in workout clothes and even spa robes. There is no expectation of needing to be dressed up. This part was especially appealing to my husband. Ladies, especially those with a "Texas boy" type like mine, will appreciate this. :) The second night, they once again recommended reservations, but we didn't take them too seriously, as the night before there were so few people. Well, we should have listened that night! There was a farm to table dinner with several chefs fom the area coming to prepare meals. We really wish we would have listened as I'm sure it would have been incredible! We wound up going into downtown Austin that evening, as it was not too far (maybe 30 minutes). The next morning we had to leave and we were so sad to go. We both agree we can't wait to return! The ONLY negative was that the first night the wind was so bad that because of my husband's allergies we were forced to use the AC and it was beyond loud (like something I'd expect in a 2-3 star hotel) that we woke up every time it kicked on. Luckily the 2nd night we were able to open the windows and get some sleep. If you go during the summer, bring earplugs. In the winter, hopefully you will be fine. All in all, can't wait to return. We left feeling sore from the workouts (love this!) relaxed, and like we'd had a true vacation! You won't regret going!

Room Tip: If you want a bigger room go with the trail view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravaasaMNGR, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
MarissaKC,
Thanks so much for your wonderful review! I'm glad you enjoyed so many of the activities, food and services here. I'm sorry that you had such a bad experience with your air conditioner. You'll be happy to hear that we're upgrading many of our rooms here - including putting in central air, so that it will be much quieter for your next visit.
All the best,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a group of 12 stay at Travaasa and it was truly amazing. The staff was extremely attentive and friendly. The unique activities gave a fun camp-like environment, and the dining was out of this world! Overall, there is an atmosphere of tranquility, with a undercurrent of high energy! I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravaasaMNGR, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Karen W,
I'm so glad that your group had a great time here at Travaasa. We try to offer great programming, so I'm glad that you found us amazing. I hope y'all return again soon. Please contact me personally so that I can do something special for your group to help you celebrate during your next get-away.
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Found this spot by pure chance. Much needed getaway and looking for a place to relax and this was the perfect place for a few days to recharge. Weather was perfect in November. Had a wonderful view from our room, excellent spa services, and the reflection pool looking out over Lake Travers and the Canyons was quite lovely for lunch and a swim. We enjoyed guided meditation in a peaceful environment, relaxing in a hammock and some great hikes in the 200 acre grounds.

Room Tip: We were in Canyon View, second floor, Brazos - beautiful view of canyons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravaasaMNGR, General Manager at Travaasa Austin, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
LMK7,
We're so glad you enjoyed our peaceful place in the Texas hills. I'm glad that you found us and took the chance to take your much-needed getaway here. We hope that you return again soon,
Kristine Huffman, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travaasa Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Austin

Address: 13500 Farm to Market Road 2769, Austin, TX 78726
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Austin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#2 Spa Hotel in Austin
#4 Family Hotel in Austin
#4 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#30 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Austin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Austin Hill Country only 30 minutes from eclectic downtown Austin, Traavasa Austin is nestled into 210 acres of the Balcones Canyonlands Preserve overlooking beautiful Lake Travis. Travaasa Austin boasts 70 guestrooms located within seven lodges interspersed along meandering paths allowing resort guests to soak in the natural habitat of the local Hill Country in a resort campus setting. The resort includes a movement studio, infinity-edge pool, beautifully appointed dining area with outdoor patio and exhibition kitchen, a tranquil spa and gracious accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Travaasa Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travaasa Austin Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travaasa Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.