We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved everything about this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Second Bar + Kitchen

Second Bar + Kitchen
200 Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78701
(512) 827-2750
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Second Bar + Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 3,154 Restaurants in Austin
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Second Street
Description: Second Bar + Kitchen serves lunch and dinner seven days a week and offers a new downtown option for late night food, wine, and cocktails. Executive Chef David Bull and Chef de Cuisine Jason Stude offer an array of dishes from pizza and pasta to vertical rotisserie options. Lead Barman William Hankey and team feature regional drinks and interpretations of classic cocktails.
Clarkston, Georgia, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Loved everything about this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We needed a place to eat at 10pm in a Sunday. They were welcoming and into of their game. Delicious drinks and amazing food. I recommend the burger and truffle pomme frites. Yum!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    55
    16
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is an easy review!
Food and wine was wonderful! Highly recommend the Buffalo Fried Pickles and the Peppers (snack menu).

Service was good- our server wasn't super friendly but was attentive.

We sat outside on the covered patio which worked out well since it was gorgeous outside.

All in all a great meal!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Late Night Bites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We arrived after a long day of traveling. The food was great. It was a nice night so we sat outside and ordered several different plates in order to share and try everything. The pizza was fantastic.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Average downtown big city restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We were there late, after 10pm. Very glad they were open as food choices at that hour are limited. It is surprising that there are not more food places that stay open that late since it is downtown Austin and near Sixth Street. I had the cheese block. It was very tasty with 5 varieties of cheese with olives and bread. Waiter was friendly. Atmosphere was upscale and the prices reflected that. Probably would not eat there again. It wasn't bad, just not my kind of place to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Healthy menu choices prepared un unique ways, very fresh, indoor or outdoor seating, great service, overall a great dining experience

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Second Bar + Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Second Bar + Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Second Bar + Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.