We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty drinks, fun place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Highball

The Highball
1142 S Lamar Blvd, Austin, TX 78704
(512) 383-8309
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,427 of 3,160 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Tasty drinks, fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I went here a Friday night with some Friends. It was 80s night, not really my dancing music, but still fun. The place is very large with one side as a bowling area and the other a dancing area. The place has some creative and expensive drinks and then the normal drinks. I would definitely go back to this place.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I love the karaoke, the bowling and the service. These are the old bowling lanes from rock and bowl from new orleans pre-katrina.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Fun Times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We had our company Christmas party here. We had drinks and appitizers. Everything was really great. We got to have 4 bowling lanes and 1 karoke room. Everyone let loose and had fun. Great experience!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cool and Vintage Restaurant & Bar with 8 bowling alleys. Thought the Rat Pack would walk in any moment!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Went there for a vintage flea market and was pleasantly surprised walking inside to this beautiful blast from the past. Enjoyed the brunch quiche and mimosa. Both tasty and satisfying. Heard they have many fun unique events and much more.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Great Location to Host a Party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I hosted my husband's birthday party at The Highball renting 2 lanes for bowling. The atmosphere is unique and trendy. The seating area for bowling can't be beat. It's a lounge area with a horseshoe shaped booth with tables in the middle. The arrangement allowed for everyone to socialize and have a great time. Appetizers (ribs, cheese plate, wings, french fries, onion rings and hummus) were all excellent. The only downside was the portion size were smaller than I would have liked. The reason I didn't give a 5 star is due to service. It was adequate. I think service and attentiveness could have been better and should be considering the atmosphere and cuisine offered at this restaurant.

It's a very fun place and I'd recommend for a night out with friends or a party.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Highball also viewed

 

Been to The Highball? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Highball, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.