We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in Austin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uchiko

Uchiko
4200 N. Lamar Blvd, Suite 140, Austin, TX 78756
512-916-4808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3,115 Restaurants in Austin
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 43rd
Description: We are proud to announce... Chef Tyson Cole, winner of the 2011 James Beard Foundation Award for Best Chef Southwest--Thank you Uchi and Uchiko family and friends for your support! -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Uchiko, translated as "child of Uchi" from Japanese, is the next restaurant venture for renowned executive chef and sushi master Tyson Cole. Located in central Austin, this second location of Cole’s highly-praised Uchi presents the same excellence and energetic atmosphere of the original with some noteworthy additions. Uchiko will feature a new menu with Uchi’s same style of innovative, fresh cuisine, a main dining room that accepts reservations throughout the evening and an eat-in bar/café area.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food in Austin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My husband and I went here for his birthday dinner and it was excellent. The staff was warm and knowledgable. The dessert was some of the best we have ever tasted. Great ambiance.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    32
    20
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Five of us shared a great array of pretty exotic and interesting dishes. All well prepared and served by experienced and knowledgeable wait staff. Always a pleasure to return to Uchiko's.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good but no Uchi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We eat at Uchi all the time but live right near Uchiko. I want to love this place, I really do, but if you'r used to going to Uchi I just don't think the quality is the same. Still, if you'd like to try it out I definitely advise going for their happy hour!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern california
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“wow, fastastic asian fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was perhaps the best meal I have had in a while as far as meals go where someone else is entertaining me. My host took me there and I was surprised by the tapas style menu but quickly impressed by the amazing range of food we were served.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Delicious, Great Service, Inventive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I are big Top Chef fans and we finally made it to Uchiko in Austin (former winner Paul Qui worked at Uchiko). While Paul has moved on to new projects, we had a wonderful meal and night out at Uchiko. Our waiter was very helpful in guiding us through the menu and helping to order the dishes into the most delicious progression. Some of our favorite things included a tuna-goat cheese-fuji apple cold dish, tempura eggplant, and the P-38 roll will yellow tail. My favorite thing was the madai sushi - a bite of sea bream with meyer lemon and olive oil -- it was clean and the citrus was incredible. I liked it so much I ordered another piece. Can't wait to go back. It's a hip place filled with beautiful people and what seemed like a million waitstaff filling glasses, removing plates, and serving dishes. We were glad to have a reservation -- the crowds were piling up in the bar and outdoor patio.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uchiko also viewed

 

Been to Uchiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uchiko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.