We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, trendy hotel. Not for everybody.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Austin

Save Saved
You added W Austin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
W Austin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #19 of 184 hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great, trendy hotel. Not for everybody.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

While we really enjoyed our nights at the W, it is definitely a social hot spot. So if you're not into lot's of beautiful people getting a little tipsy and a little loud then you might be in the wrong spot. Please don't misunderstand me, the room was well appointed in typical "W" contemporary style and it was nice and quiet, but the lobby/bar is hopping. We were there to spend some time on 6th street so it was perfect for us. Not where I would go for a romantic weekend for two, though. If you're going to see Austin City Limits you can't find a more convenient location.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor if you want to go to bed before 2am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    456
    165
    55
    20
    23
See reviews for
64
244
33
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Really nice experience. I have enjoyed staying there each time I visit my daughter at UT.. Nothing negative with the hotel, but not quite as convenient to UT as some of the other Austin hotels. Very convenient to the river and the nicer restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello and thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. We’re so glad to hear that we’re your home away from home when visiting your daughter. We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and was less than impressed. Although location is pretty good and staff had 1 good recommendation for food (breakfast at Joe's around the corner), overall staff, particularly Emily, had a snooty attitude and sounded bored when they spoke to you. There were conflicting answers given about the shuttle to the UT game and concierge was not very helpful with getting reservations at popular restaurants (landmark, Stubbs BBQ). Decor was dark and cold and room (which was 1 up from cheapest room) did not have bathtub or dresser/space for clothes other than closet. We will not be returning, at this price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello and thank you for your recent review of the W Austin. We strive for a superior customer service experience in all facets of the hotel, so I am disappointed that you did not experience this. I would very much like to learn more about your stay so that I may address these issues with my team. Should you be open to discussing your stay further, I can be reached at 512-542-3633 or drew.mcquade@whotels.com. Thank you again for your feedback, I look forward to connecting.

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Best part of this hotel were the spacious rooms. They were very clean and relaxing. The bathroom was also roomy. The public areas are a little meandering and broken up...it feels like you're going from room to room in a meandering and somewhat confusing way. But overall, I like the location and the ambiance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I loved this hotel.

The area is wonderful, and you can walk to a lot of great restaurants and shops very easily.

The restaurant in the hotel is fantastic for any meal of the day, with exceptional service and delicious food (seriously, try the orange juice -- best I've ever had!).

My room was clean and spacious, and had a great view. I love the Bliss products! The staff is quick to help with any needs you may have, and the concierge is knowledgeable and friendly.

The best part of the hotel might be the "living room" areas, which are very spacious. They're nice and quiet during the day, and you can sit with a cappuccino and a snack and work or read. In the evening, they're much more lively, with good crowds.

The only complaint I have is the business center -- it's quiet and convenient, but expensive. You pay quite a bit for only 15 minutes and printing is pricey as well. Good to keep in mind if you're traveling for business.

All in all, a great trip -- the W Austin is one of the best hotels I've visited recently.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Lauren,
Thank you for your review of the W Austin. I am so glad to hear that you enoyed your time here and dining at Trace. Thank you also for your feedback regarding our pricing in WIRED, our business center. We do offer complimentary internet in our Living Room space for future visits, but appreciate you sharing your feedback. Thank you again for the review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Very pleasant stay, but what made it memorable was how Steven went above and beyond with his customer service, he is definitely giving the hotel a great face in exceeding guest needs. Great hotel overall and most importantly a great environment. I will definitely be returning and recommending it as the hotel to stay at when in Austin.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review of the W Austin. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Steven was able to provide you with great customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed here with some friends over the weekend and was extremely impressed by their customer service... I've stayed at some of the swankiest spots in Austin/Houston but very few can even come close to this place. Rooms are very contemporary & chic. Absolutely love the lighting and style throughout the hotel. (Reminds me of Vegas). The valet attendant David was polite & courteous. Katie at the front desk was also a gem, made sure I was happy and recommended one of the best sushi rolls I've had in a long time @ Maiko. This is what every high end luxury hotel should be like.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review of the W Austin. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that David and Katie were able to make your stay more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Austin

Address: 200 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Austin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#6 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#18 Business Hotel in Austin
#19 Spa Hotel in Austin
#21 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Austin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, located in downtown Austin, is next door to the famed Austin City Limits music venue. Our boutique hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable, we also offer over 10,000 sqft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your W Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Austin Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;