We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W Austin girl trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Austin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W Austin to your Saves list
W Austin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #18 of 187 Hotels in Austin
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
“W Austin girl trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Can't give a higher recommendation- 11 out of ten! Went down for a girls weekend and couldn't have had better service or recommendations for things to do. Our welcome ambassador, Jeff, was fabulous- friendly and helpful. Will go back!
Only fault of the hotel design, no drawers in rooms!! Women need drawers!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAustinMgr, General Manager at W Austin, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Hello Kim, and thank you for your review of the W Austin. We are so glad to hear that your girls weekend was so fun, and that Jeff was able to assist during your stay. We look forward to seeing you and your girlfriends back again soon!

Warm Regards,
Drew McQuade
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    174
    61
    21
    24
See reviews for
68
250
33
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

overall it was great. complication with room resulted with free valet. grabbed drinks downstairs in super cool lounge. the atmosphere was mellow. music from dj was loud, but you didnt have to scream to carry on a conversation. if your looking for a upper scale location for drinks with a date; its here. would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I love staying at W Hotels, but the Austin W was very dissapointing for three main reasons:
1. The Lobby, which is always impressive, failed to impress, there was just nothing special about it at all. For the room price, we always look forward to having drinks in the lobby. No live music, no view of the street, nada.
2. Our room had only a IPhone dock for music. We have Android phones, so guess what we could not listen to any music. We called the desk thinking they must have an adapter or CD player or something, they did not, we were offered nothing. Guess if you don't own an Apple device your out of luck.
3. There was absolutely no extra toiletries in our room, I mean there were no Qtips, no mouthwash, no shower cap. Just shampoo and conditioner, that was all.

Overall, the W in Austin is not worth the price, other W Hotels are so much better and way more fun. Stay at the Driskell, its very traditional but we went there for drinks, and its lobby is impressive, there was live music and a hopping fun bar.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our first stay at a W hotel and we were very impressed. The staff was very helpful and the room was perfect. The location in Austin is ideal, a short walk to almost everything. The W is attached to Austin City Limits and we saw two great shows there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the W Austin after our wedding and it was a perfect night as expected. The service was spot on, the room was absolutely AMAZING and the view from the room was even better. Good job W Austin!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I completely enjoyed my stay at the W. There were several parking options which was helpful. The hotel staff was helpful and friendly. And you cannot beat the location. Close enough to 6th street to walk but far enough away that the crowd isn't on top of you. Thank you Hayley at W Austin for a great weekend. Can't wait to come back for a longer stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We recently had the honor of trying the first civil case in the new Federal Courthouse, so we were looking for a hotel close to that courthouse which could provide comfort and logistical support. The service was great, the room quiet, fast internet, and full support. I inadvertently left a suitcoat in the closet upon departure, and the hotel sent it to me with no problem. I strongly recommend this hotel for anyone needing quality and efficiency.

Room Tip: The only negative was that the elevators require a security card which slows down travel a bit, so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Austin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Austin

Address: 200 Lavaca Street, Austin, TX 78701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Austin
#3 Spa Hotel in Austin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#22 Business Hotel in Austin
#28 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Austin 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, located in downtown Austin, is next door to the famed Austin City Limits music venue. Our boutique hotel rooms are stylish and comfortable, we also offer over 10,000 sqft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your W Austin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Austin Hotel Austin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Austin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.